We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

was so looking forward to our stay having booked on line and lead to believe would be staying in a room over looking the ocean but instead got a room next door to the laundry mat and the pool which meant people in and out at all times asked about a change of room but not interested and meet a honeymoon couple who had plenty of complaints with the service - also when checking in there was a line of at least 15 people but only two on the desk so the wait was long - would be looking elsewhere to stay if ever I was in Perth again.

Room Tip: try and book in later in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Judi43,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience. The management team and I were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in check-in time and the inconvenience experienced. We are addressing these issues with our front office team.

From your description it like you stayed in one of our Superior Rooms on the Pool level. Please note that ocean and coastal views are not guaranteed for these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,321
    626
    253
    180
See reviews for
538
1,622
190
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I ended up getting this stay on a Wotif Mystery deal and could not have been happier. The location is second to none right across the path from the Ocean. Great for early morning walks. Looks like the renovations are nearly complete and the standard of rooms was very impressive. Definitely recommend to stay there when visiting Perth.

Room Tip: I guess you could ask for a direct Ocean View, I think they all have a balcony as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear REM999

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our newly refurbished rooms and facilities.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was not overly impressed with our visit this weekend. The food is no where near anything to rave about, in fact, subway did a better job. It was flavorless and lacked life.
The elevators were iffy, and we weren't given much info about the place when we arrived. If we wanted to know some thing we had to pry it out of them.
There is hardly anything around the hotel to do and go too besides the beach, and they could've made the club lounge look and feel nicer than just relying on the view of the ocean.

I for one was glad to get out of there, i wouldn't go back if you paid me. Oh, and the fact that you HAVE TO HAVE a credit card is complete bull twaddle!!! What a disappointment! Will never return.

Room Tip: Try to get ones facing the ocean... as all you will see is rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Tracey R,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Rendezvous, as our aim, always, is to surpass guest expectations.

In regards to needing a credit card, this is not in fact the case. We do require either a debit card or a credit card for pre-authorization, which is standard in nearly all hotels. I apologize for the miscommunication that gave you this impression.

In each room a compendium is provided to assist guests with ideas of places to go to and things to do within the area; Hillary's Boat Harbor and Karrinyup shopping center are very near to the Hotel, and our staff are quite well versed in this information too. I apologize that this was not relayed to you as you felt it should be.

All of the issues that you have raised shall be discussed with the necessary department so that the same experiences do not arise again. Thank you for your time in letting us know of your experiences and we hope to improve in the future.

Kind Regards
Justin Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

To all my fellow countrymen and visitors

Stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms are pretty amazing with some great views of the surrounding suburbs and beach, especially at night. The hotel is still under construction, certain parts anyway, but don't let it stop you from staying, as you would hardly notice. I found the staff to be non existent, I think for the two days I was there, all i saw was the reception lady, bar tender and a waiter. Great place for couples. Do not eat at dome cafe, not great. I would venture to near by restaurants. I actually tried to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, but the waiter told me they were full, and there was not one person sitting in the restaurant, i kid you not. There was a wedding on and they booked the restaurant, but what kind of service is that to the other guests? Are we not important?

Room Tip: If you are visiting perth for the weekend and want some amazing food, go to Chao Italia. 273 Mill Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keano1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Keano1000,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really value it. I apologize for any negative experiences you had whilst staying with us and the necessary departments shall be informed of the issues you have raised. We are so happy to hear that you loved the Hotel with all of its spectacular views. We hope that we will be lucky enough to have you with us again.

Kind Regards
Just Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Renovations still in progress but the hotel is looking great and the rooms are fantastic. Service all round was pretty good, even from the Trainees. Food was good but they could change things up a bit at the breakfast buffet. All in all, a great hotel right on the beachfront and with some amazing views. The renovations will tidy up their "boardwalks" and I look forward to my next annual visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miken0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well where do i start. I'll try to make it brief because almost all the staff and hotel policys disappointed me on some level.

I'm not a serial whinger.. not at all but Rendezvous really has seen its day.

I rang early to reception to see if we could get early check-in and the lady on the phone was very rude. 'Check in is 2pm'.. umm yes i know this, thankyou but i'm ringing to see if it is at all possible for an early check in? ...

Receptionist was nice. Went to park... 1.9m entry - i don't think so! My car isn't over 1.9 and the angle of the ramp was so steep that i knocked my roof rack off the top of my car. The concierge was very VERY abrupt when i told him. He even had a smug little smirk and said "oh we've measure that gate many times before and its 1.9. Why have you had to measure it so many times then? Lots of problems i expect with people damaging their cars getting in. I made it under the second 1.9 gate further down.. didn't have a problem then.

Get to the room, quite nice, lovely view.. ring for a bucket of ice because by now i need a drink. Thats $2.50 for a bucket of ice to be delivered. WHAT? Your kidding. Ive never been charged for ice before. Incredible. They also tried to charge us for a phone call we never made. The only time i picked up the phone was to call reception to order 2.50 bucket of ice.

Bed was comfy.. and that's about as good as it got.

Went to eat at the restaurant and the waiter was so rude.

By checkout and after another difficult chat with the manager about my car it seemed clear that the culture of the staff comes from the top down.

They are not only going to have to overhaul the dated decore' but the staff attitudes as well. Such a shame really. Nice location.

Room Tip: Don't use the carpark if you have anything bigger than a standard sedan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_99_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear JBone101,

Thank you very much for your invaluable feedback.

We shall be addressing all of the issues you have raised and ensuring that they do not repeat themselves. We take our guests' experiences very personally here at the Hotel and the staff really do care for their clients. We are doing extensive training with our new staff to ensure that they are offering a high standard of guest service, with a smile. We hope that the next time you visit we shall have improved our service and that you shall be more satisfied with your stay.

Kind Regards
Justin Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Such a shame, as a local resident this place has such potential. However we have just walked out after an hour and a half with no food arriving. After an hour we asked the manager to chase up our order. He walked to the kitchen and then disappeared. We offered to pay for the wine we drank and the saving grace was Emma on front desk who had the sense and customer service to apologise and acknowledge the total lack of service. We have eaten here before and the food is genuinely good, the service needs sorting fast if the restaurant is to survive in a growing food haven in Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RobertsMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear RobertsMel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our new restaurant at the Hotel. As a valued local resident we appreciate your valued feedback.

I was disappointed to hear that the customer service was not satisfactory. We are endeavouring to improve our service levels including a training programme particularly for our new staff members.

I was pleased to hear however you did enjoy the food the food when you dined with us and hope that you will consider dining with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing