We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our FAVOURITE local dining spot!”
Review of Cafe Mueller - CLOSED

Cafe Mueller
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant is a set in an old house and you will dine amongst an eclectic collection that has taken the owners over 20 years to accumulate. There is no menu, you simply eat the dish of the day that they are serving. The soup comes complete with the most amazing home made bread and is a meal of it's own for $10. My favourite main is the schnitzel complete with a cauliflower and potato mash and a warm dressed lettuce for $15. You mustn't leave without sampling Karl's baked cheesecake for desert - if you can fit it in! Come equipped with your favourite bottle and be prepared for the most relaxing home cooked meal you'e ever eaten :0 Cafe Mueller is permanently closed from 14 February 2017. We want to thank all our loyal customers over the last 25 years and wish them all the best. Cheers, Karl Mueller and Len
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our FAVOURITE local dining spot!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Cafe Mueller is an absolute "Must Try" but, be warned - it will become a regular feature in your dining address book. Karl and Len run a truly eclectic German restaurant, famed for having no menu, and serve the very yummiest home-cooked food made with all the love and care you'd expect from family.

Our evening always begins with a large bowl of soup (both the chicken and the beef are outstanding) and Karl's secret recipe warm bread. I dream about the bread between visits!! My favourite main is the schnitzel but the mince pancake rates a mention as its flavour far outweighs its humble title. If you should make it through all that then try the ice cream sundae (I think it's black forest but can't remember because I'm usually too fill to have it).

It's like dining at someone's home when you visit Cafe Mueller and you will spend endless hours exploring the visual feast that adorns the walls (and every possible surface). The collection creates the most remarkable ambience and has taken the lads over 20 years to gather. After 3 years of visits, I still find something different each time to muse over while my meal is prepared or I'm waiting for a table on a busy night. Sometimes we've happily dined on the couch in front of the fire because it was too relaxing to budge when the time came.

The final pleasant surprise of the evening will come when you receive the bill. A three course meal will come in around $35 :0)

Take a good bottle of wine (and attitude), a good friend and enjoy the ride. You might want to book first (via the answerphone) as lately this well-kept secret has spread!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“LOVE this place. Great little hole in the wall.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Reasonable, quirky and accomodating. Straightforward, fresh, german food. Carl is charming host. The kinda place you go because its easy and reasonable and not junk food and your kids and parents all like. Real artist-homey, Alice down the rabbit hole feel to it..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

An unassuming house in a Midland street, it could not possibly be a restaurant?
From the personal welcome by Karl, the interesting artwork and bric-a-brac inside the restaurant and the delicious freshly cooked food, everything was different and thoroughly enjoyable.
We'll definitely be gping back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shooternoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A touch of authentic Germany”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Originally from Holland and having frequented Germany more times then I can remember, I can honestly say it was a joy experiencing the hospitality, ambience and friendly German kuchen at Cafe Mueller.
The suppe was fresh and flavoursome, the Schnitzel was a little overdone but who give a ..., the accompanied Kartoffeln Salade and Crispy Lettuce....to die for!
Great value (better still as it wasn't my turn to pay this time) and will return soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique and charming dining experience.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a lovely loooooog evening at this delightful place with its off kilter decor, lack of a menu and charming owners, who meet and greet with typical European exuberance .due to the long wait between each course , it gave us a chance to talk to each other and even the occasional stroll to take in the eclectic decor.thefood was worth the wait , with a delicious soup and bread as was the scitznel and a truly awesome potato salad and the best ever cheese cake.at about $40 per head ,there is little to complain about and the unique dining experience alone,is well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mueller also viewed

Midland, Swan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing