We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Wedding Venue”
Review of The Blue Duck

The Blue Duck
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Cottesloe
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Perched above the sand dunes of the famous Cottesloe Beach, The Blue Duck is an iconic restaurant that has uninterrupted, panoramic views over Rottnest Island and the Indian Ocean. This busy restaurant is the heart of the local community and the place to go for those in the know. With its relaxed atmosphere and friendly professional service, it's the place to catch up with friends over a coffee, watching a glorious sunset over a turquoise ocean or enjoying dinner with a beer or bottle of wine.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Wedding Venue”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Blue Duck has to be one of the best wedding venues in Perth and certainly provided the wow factor for our guest.
The venue has amazing sea views which are still visible after sunset due to flood lights.
The food was a highlight and many guests commented how great it was.
The manager and staff were very friendly, approachable and so great in helping organise our event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    109
    54
    30
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

These people are thieves, served us a different wine bottle from what we ordered which was twice the price!

We realised what they did after we paid the bill and although they recognised they brought the wrong bottle, refused to refund, saying that it was our role to check the label! They said that it happens all the time and it's the reason they show the label, expecting the customers to check their job... Impossible to argue, they charged the full amount. Stay away from this restaurant and when you receive your meal, make sure there is nothing slightly different on the menu which costs a lot more as they probably brought it instead!

We'll never be coming to place again and stringly recommend you tomstay away from these dishonnest staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Batwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great night.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife had a fantastic 40th birthday dinner at the Blue Duck, I went in the restaurant earlier in the week to organize a birthday cake for her, and they made her one to my specification (lemon drizzle), it was delicious and very moist . They put the balloons on the table and put the birthday sparklers on the cake as well.
The food was excellent and everyone got served at the same time or near enough, there was 14 of us all hungry and drinking lots of wine too.
The starters were huge and absolutely wonderful. I had the pork belly and it could have been my main it was that big, really tasty too. Everyone's starter was a huge hit.
The main's were served at a reasonable time after our starters , and they were also fantastic.
I had the beef fillet and the wife had the salmon. Both were well presented and extremely tasty.
The waitress was attentive and discreet, every time my glass was low it would be filled back up again.
Everyone said how wonderful the restaurant was and most of all my wife had a memorable birthday .
In all I was extremely happy with everything the Blue Duck had done for us.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curtis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Late light lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overlooking Cottesloe Beach, no better vista for a fine afternoon lunch. A range of tables both inside and on the balcony - pick outside if it's a fine day and not too breezy (otherwise bring a jacket).

Wi-fi available - code from staff. Service was attentive and quick (2pm, so less than half full).

The menu has two of my all time favourites as Entrees - Octopus and Salt & Pepper Squid. The former was the standout dish, both taste and visually.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank QFWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible - no service!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

4.30 pm on the 16th of july 2013 we just went in for a coffee and lite bite. We were shown to a table, we asked the waitress three times if we could order some drinks, however we ended up walking out after being ignored for approx 15 minutes. If the restaurant was packed then this is understandable, however it was very quiet there were only 4 other tables in total!! Will not be going back!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Duck also viewed

Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Blue Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing