We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great location, close to beach, cafes, public transport. Easy to find and check in. Friendly staff, very comfortable room and bed at a great price. Would stay here again and recommend to friends, family and colleagues!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocksnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    83
    56
    21
    22
See reviews for
19
70
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was booked by a colleague because of the views ..it is right on cottesloe beach and it's truly a fantastic location .. A lively bar next door , a nice Italian restaurant over the road which does great breakfasts overlooking the ocean .. That's the good part ..the rooms are pretty basic and pretty tired ..don't expect more than a bed and shower from the 1970's that's what you'll get ..my room was clean enough , overlooked the ocean and I wouldn't complain ..I stayed for two nights and it was fine .. My wife wouldn't have stayed here , so let that be your guide ..but as an overnight or a day or two on business , it's fine ..

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are the only reason to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I don't know where to begin... I stayed for 6 nights and the only thing positive I can say about the OBH is the location.
- The lift was out of order the duration of my stay even though it was only scheduled for two days of my stay.
- The floor of my room was littered with the previous occupants rubbish
- The hotel boasts in house movies however my movie channel was never available
- My in room telephone did not work, I had to call for reception on my own mobile for room service
- The food at the adjacent and linked restaurant was terrible
- The bar opposite plays loud music across the weekend and if you are stuck on the adjoining side do not expect to fall asleep at a reasonable hour
- The bar staff are incredibly rude
- The walls are so thin I can hear next doors shower door shut

Overall if you can I would suggest you look elsewhere if you can.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank loop989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cottesloe hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a twin room for one night. The room we were given had a problem with the key card access so luckily were assigned another one.
The room smelt quite musty as soon as I walked in. I'm not sure if this was because we were right across from the restaurant next door or just a lack of air fresher or open windows.
The room size of the was large but quite dated and there was a lack of sockets to plug items into.
I slept well at night but was awoken in the morning by workmen in the car park below.
Overall I think that I would choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We have an infestation of cockroaches in our room but I hated this hotel before we realized that.
The rooms are in need of serious update, the carpets are filthy, walls desperately need paint, bathrooms are old and moldy. Beds are so uncomfortable.
The staff are also SO rude and unhelpful and the food at the adjoining restaurant is terrible.
The only good part about this hotel is the location but I would never ever stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights recently. The bed was as hard as a rock. The remote control for my TV didn't work. I asked for it to be fixed and they brought it back still not fixed and left it in my room while I was out. The spa didn't work. No bubbles or jets worked at all. The staff just let themselves in when ever they felt like it. I was asleep and they just opened the door without even knocking. Worst of all I paid for my stay on saturday by credit card and they didn't process the payment until Wednesday!!! Thanks for overdrawing my account!!! Absolutely not worth the amount they charge per night. Oh I forgot to mention the furniture that is fake wood and peeling!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

They use Tomizone which didn't work well and won't let you use more than one device at a time. I paid $60 for the 30 day package and 3GB of data. They claimed I used the data in a few days but I don't think the system was accurate. I did only email and web surfing. No video watching or calling. The network showed a lot of packet loss and didn't work a lot of the time. My colleague couldn't get his company VPN to work at all.

The hotel rooms were large but sparse. Carpet a bit worn out. It's clean though and had a nice mini kitchen with coffee and tea and a decent sized fridge. Staff was very friendly. Coffee and tea in room was good quality.

Probably won't choose this hotel again unless they change the WiFi provider.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have straight on views of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schneeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottesloe
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cottesloe
161 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 140 Marine Parade | Cnr Marine Parade and Eric Street, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spectacular ocean views, friendly staff and delicious food make us one of the best beachside bars in Perth. Cblu Restaurant is open for breakfast from 7am and offers not only delicious breakfast and coffee, but breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. The Public Bar/Sports Bar is open at 10am on weekends, (11am weekdays) where you can play a game of pool, have a bet in our TAB area or watch your favourite sport on one of our many big screen TVs. The Saloon Bar opens at 11am and our large windows open right up so you get the beach side feeling while you enjoy your refreshing beverages. Next door we have a 60 room hotel which offers spacious rooms with beautiful ocean views. You can't get much closer to the beach! And don't forget our very handy drive-through Bottle Shop which is open all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing