We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday hotel and a good place to unwind after work”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday hotel and a good place to unwind after work”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I often stay here. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are basic but a good size. They have everything you need and some good views of the beach, which is just across the road. I find this hotel good value for money. Additionally it's across the road from the beach with a range of restaurants nearby

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZELwickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    82
    55
    21
    22
See reviews for
19
67
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great location opposite Cottesloe Beach. Good mid-week value if you don't want to pay the high city hotel prices. Bus at door to City and Freemantle. Lots of breakfast venues nearby. Internet cafe and laundromat around the corner. Good restaurant in-house as part of complex located next door. Friendly and obliging staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moora, WA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed the night because in reach of Challenger Stadium for gig and Sculpture fest the next day. Booked through Wotif and it did say balcony room but ended up with standard room with some view of the beach (and carpark/pub below). Easy check in and clean room. Car park was too small and so had to park on the street. No bother. Right on the beach so ideal for Sculptures and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woollysheeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Cottesloe is in a bit of a time warp - don't expect top end hotels, this place is low key & great to relax in. Hotel was fine - helpful staff, big room, everything worked - though I can't believe the extortionate wi-fi rates hotels charge in Australia - in most other countries it is now free, so join the club.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good position right over the road from the beach our room had nice side view up towards north but we paid well above its worth. Our fault as we had not booked ahead and it was a long weekend so they charged rack rate $210. I should have looked it up on internet as I could have got it at least 40 less but you live and learn.

The room size was fine and the bed was clean and comfortable but I did not enjoy a good nights sleep as there were a lot of noises doors opening and shutting next door movements I was a little spooked as it seemed a little dodgy I pushed my bag against the door. I'm not normally like that but with 2 pubs so close and a lot of out of towners (yes that includes me) I felt uneasy my husband slept like a log.

To be fair its position alone makes it a good choice for a beach break but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth. West Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed here about 4 or 5 times now and its a comfortable clean and convenient hotel.
They have a french press for their bagged grinder coffee which I love and the rooms are very large.There were some Yahoos in the apartments next door not related to the pub and they carried on one afternoon till about 7 at night then absolute silence,not sure if the cops came or they left but thats the only noise I have really heard.Secure car parking is provided (free of charge) which is a relief because a lot of cars get stolen in Cottesloe( I lived there for 6 years).The decor is minamilist but comfortable.I ordered a well done steak one night and without a word of exageration it took two hours to arrive.It looked like it had been cooked around the time the order was placed because all was dry and the pepper sauce had all wicked into the paper Napkin on the edge of the plate.I was so damn hungry I ate the lot and eyed off the napkin.The Lady at reception is a gorgeous Gal with a great welcoming smile.Great location,There are quite a few decent restaurants within easy walking distance on the beachfront."Amber Jacks" fish and Chip shop is not one of them.Avoid It.
..It does get booked out fairly easily so book well in advance.As Perth goes its good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have had the privilege of staying in the Ocean Beach Hotel twice in the last three months. Check in has always been done promptly and the receptionist that works during the day has a lovely smile! On to the rooms, I believe this place has been through a refurbishment in recent times - all of the furniture and amenities appear to be relatively new. The rooms are fairly large in my opinion, as is the bathroom. There is a decent kitchen area in the room including all cutlery and crockery etc. Location is terrific - directly opposite the magnificent Cottesloe Beach (literally just across the street). I recommend having a drink during sunset in the hotel's bar - this isn't joined to the hotel but is directly next door to it. I also had a car on both visits - parking is free and there always appeared to be room to park at all times of the day.

All in all two very good stays and no hesitations in recommending the OBH!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spikysonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottesloe
0.3 mi away
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cottesloe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
3.1 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
5.7 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 140 Marine Parade | Cnr Marine Parade and Eric Street, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spectacular ocean views, friendly staff and delicious food make us one of the best beachside bars in Perth. Cblu Restaurant is open for breakfast from 7am and offers not only delicious breakfast and coffee, but breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. The Public Bar/Sports Bar is open at 10am on weekends, (11am weekdays) where you can play a game of pool, have a bet in our TAB area or watch your favourite sport on one of our many big screen TVs. The Saloon Bar opens at 11am and our large windows open right up so you get the beach side feeling while you enjoy your refreshing beverages. Next door we have a 60 room hotel which offers spacious rooms with beautiful ocean views. You can't get much closer to the beach! And don't forget our very handy drive-through Bottle Shop which is open all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing