We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good value”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, Good value”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wonderful location, across the road to the beach, with lots of nice cafes and some good restaurants a short walk away. I stay here annually and it is very convenient.

There is an IGA along the road a bit and the pub below is good for a party and has a backpackers out the back if you are looking for somewhere cheaper.

The train into Perth runs every 15-20 minutes and the station is a 5 minute drive, or a 15 minute walk, I guess.

Tip with the rooms - they are numbered from the beach to the back, so room 111 is on the first floor, on the end away from the beach. The odd numbers face North and the even numbers South. So Rooms 601 and 602 are, I think, the top floor closest room to the beach. The rooms do face side on, but obviously the closer to the beach end, the better the view up and down the beach, same for the higher floors having the better views. More expensive rooms tend to have the better rooms.

Room Tip: The higher floor, lower number have the better views. Room number is floor + room eg 6th floor, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    85
    58
    21
    22
See reviews for
20
72
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Location, Location, Location. You come here for the beach and great views. The hotel is nothing special, but sitting in the bar watching the ocean is great. It can be noisy at weekends, but join in rather than sit skulking in your room. WA is ludicrously expensive, so accommodation here is very good value

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chienvieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The location is perfect as everyone states, opposite fantastic beach.
Thankfully the room is large and clean. All rooms are side on from the beach so NO views except into back yards of apartment building.
Perhaps we were just unlucky to get a mattress which
was old and springs protruding. No chance of changing
rooms as the hotel was full of wedding guests. Noisy

Room Tip: A room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onwardtraveller17447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here last month for four nights. The hotel is right along the beach front, and well located for a short walk to any of the local restaurants and cafes. There's a IGA supermarket within a ten minute walk, or a ten minute drive takes you to the Claremont shopping centre (there's secure parking at the Ocean Beach Hotel).  All the hotel staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

Ours was an executive room, quite basically arranged, generally cheap and cheerful, fairly dated, but very large (so much so that the bathroom could have had a conventional door instead of the sliding type).  It doesn't look like any of the rooms actually face the beach. 

Bathroom was all clean and simple, shower only, no bath. There didn't seem to be a safe in the room; which would have been a nice addition. The blinds rattle annoyingly in the wind; so you'll be woken at 5am with the sun if you prefer to sleep with a breeze. And the walls are a bit thin, so every late returning or early leaving guest on your corridor will be heard. Not a problem if your doing the same thing of course; as it's worth catching the beach by 7am.

All in all; the room rate felt too high for the quality of hotel. Whilst the staff and location are great, the rooms are dated and tired. There are other short let options in the area that we will probably consider next time around, and whilst our experience at the Ocean Beach Hotel was fine, this was almost entirely down to location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have stayed here about 4 maybe 5 occasions, my husband is sick and we travel to Perth for doctor appointments regularly, rooms r ok but noisy, showers r the worst I have ever used in a hotel before but it is cheap, if u can afford somewhere else than stay somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthwestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cottesloe hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Nice, large and clean rooms. More like a city flat than a hotel room. great location. Lift was a bit noisy but room was right next to lift shaft.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisythesausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Spacious clean rooms. Clean bedding and towels, hotel is dated but still looks very prese table with what seems like recently painted walls and new carpets. One thing was out room smelled a bit stale on arrival but aired out quickly. And the French press rather than instant coffee in the room was a nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika_Kaschenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottesloe
0.3 mi away
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cottesloe
162 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
419 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
5.0 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 140 Marine Parade | Cnr Marine Parade and Eric Street, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spectacular ocean views, friendly staff and delicious food make us one of the best beachside bars in Perth. Cblu Restaurant is open for breakfast from 7am and offers not only delicious breakfast and coffee, but breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. The Public Bar/Sports Bar is open at 10am on weekends, (11am weekdays) where you can play a game of pool, have a bet in our TAB area or watch your favourite sport on one of our many big screen TVs. The Saloon Bar opens at 11am and our large windows open right up so you get the beach side feeling while you enjoy your refreshing beverages. Next door we have a 60 room hotel which offers spacious rooms with beautiful ocean views. You can't get much closer to the beach! And don't forget our very handy drive-through Bottle Shop which is open all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing