We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Beach Backpackers
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Found this hostel to be Beverly average although it was more of a weeks holiday at the start of a backpackers trip for me we (myself and girlfriend) felt left out of entertainment as most people who stayed there lived there. On the other hand the free BBQ night is defiantly worth a visit and location is perfect just a roads width from the beach and a 20min bus at $4ish into perth central you can't really complain to much although is you are a backpacker please be aware that Perth and surronding areas are very expensive $8-12 for a pint of beer and $16-20 for a portion of fish and chips!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_smith1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
23
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights. In terms of backpacker accommodation it is actually very very good. Obviously do not expect the Ritz, you have to be prepared to slum it a little but overall more than acceptable. It is very well run and the facilities are great. There is a nice cafe with free Internet connected to the entrance. It appears to be more or less permanently staffed. Nice few bars next door. Dorms are 8 sharing, perfectly nice. It can get a bit noisey at times but it is mainly young ens so it is only to be expected. The best thing is the location to the beach. It literally is just a stones throw away, and what a beach!! It is absolutely beautiful. So definitely a winner for me, it would probably bug me if I had to stay too long but that's more to do with staying in dorms as opposed to anything negative about this place. Overall a great find.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We arrived in November and stayed for almost three weeks in a 6 bed dorm.
The rooms are big, bright and had high ceelings.
We had our own bathroom and the whole room was cleaned daily!
Staying there felt like luxuary compared to what we are in now!
Such a great location and lovely people!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room 11, big windows and good shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an awesome hostel to stay in whilst in Perth. I've stayed here a couple of times and will definitely be back next time I'm in Perth.

The beach is literally across the road and it is a close walk to the shops in Cottesloe. The staff are very helpful and friendly and it is a great place to meet new people. Rooms and kitchen are kept clean so is definitely value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_cingitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My recent holiday in Perth saw me returning to Ocean Beach Backpackers. The first time was three years ago and when I decided to visit Perth again last month, Ocean Beachpackers was the obvious choice. Clean and quiet accommodation, it is good value for money considering that cost of accommodation has gone up significantly since my first visit. The twin room with attached bathroom was spacious compared to another backpackers accommodation in the city. Easy to get around with a bus stop close by and a 15 minute walk to the train station or 5 minutes walk to the neighborhood supermarket. Lots of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff6108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is by far the best hostel to stay in in Perth. When first arrived here my friend and I spent hours looking at other hostel that were all dirty and overpriced. We were so happy to get a room here, such a lovely place. Rooms were clean and with own fridge & bathroom, internet is not cheap but the cafe next door has free internet which can be picked up in reception and some dorms. Kitchen could be better, but is generally similar to other hostel kitchens, they do a free BBQ on a wednesday and staff are really helpful, especially Alex. It can be noisy on a Sunday night when the bar next door gets busy, but it closes at 10pm, so you are not kept awake too late. I am going to stay here again when visiting Perth and would tell all my friends to come here, after 11 months of travel its the best hostel i've stayed in.

Room Tip: If you can handle the noise of the road, get a room over looking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessicaevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

At a hostel this place is ok. Its clean and its right near a beautiful beach. However its noisy and I mean really noisy!!! I would avoid, I wouldnt recommend to a friend nor would i return....I value my sleep!

Good bits
We had a triple room, which consisted of a double and two singles. The beds were made on arrival which was great. It was also nice to have a quilt rather than blankets. The room was clean and we had an en-suite - shower, loo and sink. The shower dripped all night but as soon as we reported it they fixed it. Towels were included. free parking. Tv rooms

bad bits
I had informed the hostel of our arrival time by email yet there was no one there to let us in. After 30 hours of travelling from London this was annoying. He then moaned at us about how late we were and how he was working a double shift.
You have to pay $20 per key refundable deposit.
Internet is $4 per hour
to rent a bike is $27 per day. I rented a car locally for the same!!
Security isnt great - although there are people working, there are so many different shofts they have no idea who is resident or not.
private rooms only get cleaned every four days. dorms daily.

THIS IS THE NOISEST PLACE IVE EVER EVER STAYED. THE RESIDENTS HAVE NO RESPECT FOR PEOPLE TRYING TO SLEEP. This was consistent throughout our stay from the sat night to wed night. Every night there was no silence until about 3am (none at all on the sat night) and would then start again about 5am!! High heels walking on the wooden floor, screaming, talking so loudly on the phone they could probably hear in europe, making dinner at 4am in the microwave....the list goes on.


Its about 10 mins walk to either Grant street or Cottesloe station (about $3 into perth or freemantle which both take about 20-30 mins), there are lots of local buses.
There is an IGA supermarket about 3 mins walk, a bottle shop right next door, as well as a pub (which was always dead!!) and a number of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The area in general is expensive. A full breakfast about $20-25. Dinner without wine $50pp.

the beach is lovely and definately worth a visit.

Stay here is you want to be near the beach, otherwise stay in Perth and get the train out for a day trip!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottesloe
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cottesloe
161 reviews
5.0 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
4.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
5.7 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Backpackers

Property: Ocean Beach Backpackers
Address: 1 Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Backpackers Hotel Cottesloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing