We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were sold on the phone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations, whilst travelling through Perth, sunset dinner on the beach at Cottesloe and nice night in an ocean front balcony room, only to turn up and be given a shoebox of a room facing onto the side street. At $220 we would have been better spending another night in the amazing Crown at $245 per night. Dinner in the bistro was very good, great staff and the chef has it nailed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laxn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We paid 245/night for a shoe boxed size room (the balcony was probably as big as the room!)
It took us 45 mins to find parking when we got there & reception was a hole in the wall behind some stairs with an unhelpful receptionist.
When trying to get food at the Bistro downstairs, we were seated and that was it. After 20 mins of no service we left to find food elsewhere, which then took us another hour to find parking!

Having said this, the room was very clean & surprisingly quiet for being above a noisy bar. The supervisor we had to find was extremely helpful in getting us parking permits & changing our batteries for our tv control.

All in all, not the worse hotel stay we've had but definitely wouldn't go back there.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank china_tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Clean although small room with nice balcony overlooking extremely busy area. No parking, we got $100 parking fine, added to $220 per night - not a cheap weekend. Our room was ocean view but directly above where drunk patrons waited for taxis. WIth a function next door and the "taxi rank" very noisy with loud, drunk people until 1am, not a relaxing stay. No food in the bar after 9pm and no charge back to our room from the bar (ATMs also out of order), no room service, no breakfast - probably not enough to justify the price.

Room Tip: On a weekend, choose a room without a view for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Cottesloe Beach Hotel - great room with verandha offering the most stunning view over the Cottesloe Beach coastline. Would only recommend for a short stopover as hotel seems to be for mainly pubgoers! Great restaurants in the vicinity...

Room Tip: There are only 5 or 6 rooms - i asked for one furthest from the downstairs bar but still with great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel for a weekend wedding and was immediately struck by the chaotic check in. There is no one around to help with bags and the reception desk tucked deep inside provided the absolute minimum help or courtesy, beware I had to ask for parking vouchers. The room was perfectly fine apart from a semi fictional tv remote and shower that flooded the bathroom as soon as used. The bed was fine and the room cooled by air con. The noise was another thing, between the lat noise from the bar and the early banging of drums (that's what it sounded like) don't expect total peace and quiet.

The good points are free wifi and of course a spectacular location second to none.

Now the staff, where to begin, where they seem so few on the ground that it is hard to begin. When I did find them I found then to be mostly unhelpful. On blonde lady in particular presumably confused herself as a guest, she posed around the bar entrance and was nothing short of surly and obnoxious.

Little things like practically being forced to beg to have a drink in the hotels own restaurant were odd to say the least. Also they can't put anything on your bill, very annoying as it meant bringing my wallet.

I was also annoyed that reception doesn't open until 8am so getting a cab first thing to the airport is a lonely task.

The last insult was being informed that the water in the room was chargeable even though there was no tariff anywhere in the room, I checked - apparently it is still being printed. What a shame. Good service really isn't expensive but so so precious.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Many great memories from the number 1 pub in the 80's with the iconic rear beer garden with deck chairs and lawn.

Now still a great pub with good food and service. Not a cheap little afternoon should you be keen for a few cold pints and a few dishes to fill up the gap.

The food is good and prices comparable for the area, service was really good on this Sunday. Paying $10 for beer will never sit well for me but unfortunately that's Perth for ya.

Sitting out front overlooking the Indian Ocean sunset with sand in ya hair, good company, good food and cold beer- priceless.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arborantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had a drink in garden first with older friends very popular and higher standards then out front bit pricey. Later went out front onto lounge stayed for acouple of hours to watch sunset and have pizza and more drinks. The place was very lively it was start of WA long weekend and there was also wedding in building so really busy. Great place to watch all the comings and goings in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottesloe
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
427 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
233 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
3.3 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottesloe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottesloe Beach Hotel

Address: 104 Marine Pde, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cottesloe
Price Range: $113 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottesloe Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it be a business trip, holiday or a weekend getaway, The Cottesloe Beach Hotel is the perfect escape. Across from one of Perth's' most magnificent beaches, our rooms are equipped with private bathroom, phone, TV and refreshment facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottesloe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing