We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a motel,but in a great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ningaloo Reef Resort
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Coral Bay is a long drive from anywhere and looks like it will be nice,if it ever gets finished. This 'resort' fits in well. A refurb is needed, but with the great location, the price would probably increase to an even higher level. So just relax, enjoy the large- well cleaned- room, try the BBQ or eat in the restaurant or just ask the helpful staff how to stop the goats flirting with you .
It is 100 of our yards to a great beach and a further 25 yards to the reef.The sea is warm and the flies and the fish are friendly.We stayed in a lot worse,and not many better locations.I hope they don't spoil it .

Room Tip: Grond floors if you like shade, goats, seagulls and shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldhippy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 401 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Positives:
picture perfect position
Helpful travelling tourist staff on working holidays
Bare basic cafe and pub
Working air-conditioning when the out side temperature was 40c
Small but warm pool
Alternative to Caravaning

Negatives:
Calling it a resort or even a hotel is an absolute misnomer. Call it a Motel and there is no criticism.
This is an old worn out motel, even the parking and drive is not sealed
Cost is consistent with all other Australian destinations, hence people fly to Bali !!
Old and tired
Very noisy neighbours on Friday 25th Jan with banging ghetto blaster, shaking our room with Doof Doof and the manager not will to issue any noise disturbance notice until 10PM. A real Bogans days out atmosphere, beware, specially around Australia day!

Overall, you go there for the ocean, not the rooms or the bar. We had a great time and maybe we will return in future.

For those who want 5 star, I would suggest stay at the Novotel at Exmouth and pay $600 a night , but remember that there is no snorkelling out side of one hour drive to either Turquoise Bay or Coral Bay.!

Room Tip: Take noise cancelling head phones with you, as the loud unruly cashed up B--g-ns will ruin your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zhoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Coral Bay truly is a beautiful and special place, and you can't find accommodation with a better location - literally a stone's throw from the beach. That, and the fact that the apartment we stayed in had air conditioning and was clean were the good points of our stay. However, I wouldn't stay there again.

Firstly, it's extremely expensive for what you get. We stayed somewhere cheaper and a lot nicer in Exmouth after leaving Coral Bay. The prices are quite simply an indication of the lack of competition the Ningaloo Reef Resort has and not an indication of the quality of the resort. For $300 a nice, I expect a LOT better.

On checking in, my husband discovered that the door to our apartment wouldn't lock as the lock was broken. He informed reception staff and a maintenance staff member was sent up a while later but couldn't fix it. My husband ended up figuring out what was wrong with it, asking the maintenance guy to get him the screw neccesary to fix it, and fixed it himself!

For the duration of our stay, the toilet flush didn't work properly and took much fiddling with to get it to work every time it was used. Again, my husband told reception staff, who said they'd send someone up to look at it. This never happened.

Also in the bathroom, some of the towels and the bath mat had stains on them when we arrived. I don't doubt they had been laundered, but at that stage when stains won't come out in the laundry, they need to be replaced, not reused.

Happy Hours on Tuesday and Friday are heavily advertised, however on Tuesday, January 1st, there wasn't a happy hour. No reason given at the bar - it just didn't happen! This false advertising was coupled with no glasses when we got to the bar and only two beers available on tap from their whole selection.

Enjoying the beautiful beach in Coral Bay on New Year's Day was fantastic until at about 3pm a band started playing at the resort with the music absolutely blaring and easily heard in our accommodation and while on the beach. Why this was neccesary so early in the afternoon I just don't know, and it really dominated that whole end of the street, destroying the peaceful atmosphere of the town.

Overall, the air conditioned accommodation in such heat was welcomed but the fact that the rate was so high for such below average standards really was infuriating and just left me feeling ripped off. Also, the fact that no compensation was offered to us for the lack of a secure door and a broken toilet in my opinion just demonstrates a lack of respect for the clientelle.

I really hope this place ups it's game soon because people really do deserve better.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are further away from the entertainment, so less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Ningaloo Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of Ningaloo reef Resort.
We were disappointed your stay did not meet expectations. We always endeavour to provide value for money however our prices are reflective of our location and the cost to maintain services and staff in a regional area. In light of this our maintenance staff are not rostered to work public holidays. Management willingly step in to assist with any maintenance issues that arise and are dealt with immediately.
Your stay coincided with a Tuesday public holiday and happy hour is not provided on public holidays.
Due to the busy period over New Year the bar did run out of two of our four beer choices, we apologise for this inconvenience however this does only occur on the very odd occasion such as New Year’s.
Our locals and guest alike enjoy the only entertainment available in Coral Bay and in this instance commenced earlier than usual due to the holiday season.
We were pleased you enjoyed your experience of Coral Bay & the Ningaloo Reef and extended your stay to enjoy it for longer.

Thank you again for your review.

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

we recently spent 8 nights at the resort ,We had christmas eve till new years day at the resort . Firstly the staff are fantastic particullary Jack, Tracy Steven and Kate 4 very helpful and kind staff members who we would have in our own business in a flash . The resort itself could do with a good referb price for accomadation is hideous it is far from the 5 star prices they are charging .However the veiw we had the location to the beach the service from staff make it a whole lot better ,having a pool in the resort is also very nice with 4 kids in tow it comes highly recommended . I found the resturant prices fairly reasonable not much different to perth resturants in fact all the resturants in Coral Bay are good .One awsome little business it that of Corey and his lovely wife they have the hire shack on the beach where kayaks and glass bottom boats and all things beachy are available The hire prices are very very good $25 an hour for a glass bottom boat (self paddle) was fantastic value I found there prices much cheaper that those in Perth , well done guys on providing a great service . Overall we had the best family holiday ever and highly reccommend it for christmas and new year the atmosphere is awsome .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Ningaloo Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Ningaloo Reef Resort property.
We are pleased our staff were able to assist you during your stay and we will pass on your kind words. And we will pass on your comments to the Ningaloo Kayak Hut.
We were pleased you enjoyed your stay at the resort and experienced this amazing location on the shores of Ningaloo Reef Marine Park.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is at most convenient distance to the beautiful amazing coral bay. Walking distance to the paradise. We stayed for rwo nights. The staff are friendly and rooms are clean. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

If I start with the resort of Coral Bay it seems to concentrate on telling you what you can't do please see photos, you can often judge a resort by the state of the public facilities, these are a disgrace the public toilets for example have no soap and no means to dry your hands. It is just full of negativity and profiteering.

The accommodation was terrible for the price paid, the whole place is just tired and in urgent need of a refit, the rooms are not the cleanest and some of the fittings were broken. Unfortunately didn't take an photos.

Overall visit the place for a day, trip go Ningaloo reef which is why you went there in first place but Ningaloo Reef Resort and Coral Bay definitely sub standard

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrysogaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been to Coral Bay a lot and one time I thought we would splash out and stay at the 'resort'. I had drank at the pub many times before and yes the view is good and the atmosphere at the bar is reasonable, although it's cheap plastic chairs galore.
My main gripe is that the place charges on the basis it is competition free and does not deliver on said prices.
I happen to know the owners (Aspen) are keen on expanding the place and have met a lot of hurdles beyond their control but this is no excuse for painting, changing the bathrooms and linen. Or at least charging a suitable rate.
The backpackers in Coral Bay, which I usually stay at offers more value for money and most of the facilities the hotel offers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashreign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Coral Bay
Bayview Coral Bay
#1 of 4 in Coral Bay
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ningaloo Club
Ningaloo Club
#4 of 4 in Coral Bay
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peoples Park Caravan Park
Peoples Park Caravan Park
#3 of 4 in Coral Bay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Reef Resort

Address: 1 Robinson Street, Coral Bay, Western Australia 6701, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Coral Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coral Bay
Price Range: $160 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ningaloo Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ningaloo Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ningaloo Reef Hotel Coral Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing