We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hostel”
Review of Ningaloo Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ningaloo Club
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hostel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and wish we could have stayed much longer.

We'd booked a 4 share dorm and unlike most other hostels, as they weren't very busy they put us in our own room. Everywhere was clean and comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped.

There's a nice pool and the bar is extremely reasonable (cheap even for Australia). All the staff were lovely and the owner/manager (I'm not sure exactly, but I think her name was Karen) went out of her way to make sure that we were happy and having a good time - and she gave us a bag of mangoes to take with us when we were leaving (that is not construed as payment for a good review I hope).

I'm surprised to read reviews from people saying it was not clean - yes, there are insects running around, but I'm yet to stay anywhere in the tropics that doesn't!

We did try to book through Hostelworld, but it told us the dates were not available. Very glad we persevered and contacted them directly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyandGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
48
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Paid $95 for a room with 2 single beds and no aircon, it's been the smallest room we've stayed in along the West Coast and the most expensive. Staff offered us an extra fan which was nice of them. Room was tiny and the found cockroaches enjoyed running around after dark. Hostel itself is very dirty and filled with bugs. Kitchen is rather filthy with about 90 dead flies surrounding the windows. Caretaker/cleaner is a bit creepy and decided to wash himself in the kitchen sink shirtless right beside my food I was cooking. Goodbye appetite.

Staff at te front desk were nice but not very helpful. When asked if there was a good lookout for the sunset they didn't offer much guidance.. If you want to see it though you can head to the jetty and get a great view off the main strip about 5 min drive past wind turbines.

All water is saltine so have to get used to that but not necessarily a bad thing.

Overall 2/5 it's hard to say go somewhere else in Coral Bay as options are very limited.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Ningaloo Club 2 years in a row and I enjoyed myself. Staff are friendly and sociable and if you're travelling alone they'll look out for you. I stayed in dorm rooms that were big and comfortable and the beds were nice. The saltwater showers take some getting used to but if you're a snorkel nut it shouldn't be a problem.

When planning the next stage of your travels they'll tell you all their secrets and they can help you with deals on local tours and so on. Also the manager might recognise you as a return visitor which is a nice compliment. Will definately be staying here on my third trip.

Room Tip: 10 bed dorms are surprisingly quiet, and that's with many people in them. I found myself feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Firstly, as mentioned by other reviewers, you have to keep in mind the limited accommodation available to Coral Bay. It is a very small town and the resources are limited, including fresh water.
The backpackers was perfect for us. We stayed in a double room with air conditioning. The room was basic and clean. In a place like Coral Bay all you need is a basic home base as most of your time is spent at the beach enjoying the sunshine. If you want to hang out in a lovely hotel room, Ningaloo Club (and probably Coral Bay) is not for you.
The common area was full of fun activities, pool, table tennis etc and the bar full of cheap alcohol. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kitchen and bathroom are functional and generally clean. The location is excellent just a short walk to the beach and anything else you need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is for the double room. Had to wait a while for room to be ready, but otherwise it was fine. Bathrooms were clean and air con was great. Good option for the ones travelling on budget and good specials on tours.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A very good hostel located at 500m of the ocean where you can practise snorkeling. Good dorms with airconditioner. All staff people are very nice and helfull! There is a bar where you can buy beer and other stuff at cheap price, but you can't take your own alcohol in this hostel! The swimming pool is very clean and it's a pleasure to swim inside! Just a thing about coral bay : DON'T BUY YOUR FOOD HERE! There is only a little market and it's very very very expensive! For exemple, 500g of pasta : 4.50$! Buy your food on carnavon or exmouth where you can find a woolworth or a coles !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at Ningaloo Club for one night and I really enjoyed my stay.
People were friendly, patient and helpful. the place is sparkly clean and the pool is an extra bonus.
The food was good and the prices of the drinks were fair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blauemadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Bay
0.3 mi away
Ningaloo Reef Resort
Ningaloo Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Coral Bay
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mary's Farm Cottages
Mary's Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Lake Grace
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Coral Bay
Bayview Coral Bay
#1 of 4 in Coral Bay
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Club

Property: Ningaloo Club
Address: Robinson Street, Coral Bay, Western Australia 6701, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Coral Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coral Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ningaloo Club 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ningaloo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing