We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dive n manta ray swim AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ningaloo Reef Dive

Ningaloo Reef Dive
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Shark Interaction Tours, Manta Ray Interaction Tours, Snorkelling & SCUBA Diving Tours, Dive Courses, equipment sales & SCUBA Tank Refills in the small, remote community of Coral Bay, Western Australia on the World Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef. Our dedicated, passionate crew are waiting to take you out and show you what the region has to offer. At Ningaloo Reef Dive we are committed to the conservation & protection of the NIngaloo Reef Marine Park and the safety,education & enjoyment of our visitors.
Medina, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“dive n manta ray swim AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is possibly one of the best run n most professional operations on the coast with four certified divers and a snorkeler in our group all of us had an awesome day out well worth every penny no one was over looked or felt left out
THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF will definitely be repeat customers

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingalooReefDive, Owner at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello Brett, Thank You! :) We can't wait to see you again. Best Fishes to you all from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    76
    13
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sharks and a Manta, but let down on the first dive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was disappointed that the first dive we were made to do was essentially over sand, with little wildlife to see, this was apparently to check our buoyancy before we were let anywhere near the coral. Wish we had been told this when we booked, as even with our own equipment this was not cheap. The instructor/divemaster did little to check on us, I had a severe sinus squeeze at 5m, and she didn't seem to pay much attention to this, just lucky that my buddy helped me descend further and it alleviated.
Seeing the manta ray was amazing, however wish some of the other customers were not so rude, was elbowed a considerable amount of times by one group of Australian girls.
The second dive was awesome, different dive master, a guy, was far more cheerful and took us to a shark cleaning station, saw reef sharks and a couple of turtles, and though there was a slightly gnarly current, this dive was totally worth it .
Would maybe discuss with this company where exactly they are taking you before you commit to diving.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CatwooMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingalooReefDive, Owner at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your helpful review. This is an unusual experience you have reported on and we will look into it further.
Our crew are not instructed to dive over sand to check buoyancy and would not spend an entire dive doing just that, perhaps there were other divers in need of assistance and I apologise if we were unable to assist you at the appropriate time. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your first dive on this tour.
It is good to hear that your second dive was a much better experience and we would like to assure you that this is what you can expect from our tours and more. We do hope you are able to visit us again in Coral Bay one day so that we have the opportunity to provide our usual standard of service to you.
Our dive sites are chosen on the day based mostly on weather conditions to provide divers of all levels of experience the best possible tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We haven't seen the Manta Rays(very unlucky) but it was a good trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Hi! Me and my friend bought an interaction trip snorkeling with Manta Rays!
On the first stop, we went to the reef shark cleaning station. We saw a 1.5 mt grey shark ( or black tip, I don't remember), turtles and few colorful fish. Then Kyle( very expert ad kind) introduced us about the behave of the manta rays.. So we were pretty excited about that.. The plane went to search for them for about 1 hr but nothing. I know it's wild life, but that was the reason why we bought our trip. We saw a couple of whales and dolphins aswell, so it was a nice trip anyway, but it would have been nice to get a voucher for a free snorkel the next time ( considering its very rare not to see manta rays and we were not that many people, It would have been nice to have a free second chance, like many other charters and dive centre do).
Lunch and snacks were very well presented and we all had good gears.
I can recommend this centre, but I would have preferred a free voucher to see the manta rays again!
For the rest it's a professional crew and wildlife nature respectful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna_avventura27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingalooReefDive, Owner at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Donna, thank you for your kind and informative review. I'm sorry we lucked out on seeing a manta ray the day you were with us, unusual and very unlucky. Wild Life..... it's the chance we take every day we go out there; can't promise a thing, but now we know that we must be doing something right because we were still able to give you a good day out on the water. You are right, it would be nice to be able to give you a free 2nd chance to swim with the manta rays. It's just that we couldn't stay in business if we promised that to everyone..... it is uncertain, but the bills aren't, they are there for certain, every day :)
We do offer this with our Whale Shark Tours because they are an even bigger investment for our visitors.
I hope you get a chance to come back to Coral Bay one day, when you do be sure to mention this review and tell the crew that Tonja wants to help you out with that 2nd chance manta ray!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“THE BEST day I've ever had in the oceans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had such a brilliant time out for the day with these guys - two incredible scuba dives in beautiful Coral Gardens and STUNNING Manta Ray snorkelling in between.
Having swum with the Whale Sharks a few days before up in Exmouth, I can honestly say that Mantas are way more fun to swim with! So playful and interactive...so serene and beautiful to watch.
Jess, Amy and Jess (Skipper and Divemasters) were very knowledgeable about the local area and the wildlife we came into contact with. They took us to fantastic dive locations and, with the help of the spotter plane, put us in the water with 4 different Manta Rays, all of which were barrel-rolling like it was going out of fashion.
We were also lucky enough to have two Divemasters-in-training (Jonnie and Jenny), who helped out snapping underwater photos (Jonnie) and spotting unusual marine life (cheers for the octopus Jenny!).
If you want a guaranteed great day out on the reef, these are the guys to go with. AMAZING!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Divinfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingalooReefDive, Owner at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello fellow ocean lovers! Thanks so much for your glowing comments about our crew and tours. I know this reply is really overdue but we just wanted you to know that it warms our heart to hear you acknowledge the effort our crew puts into our tours...... you know they love what they do and we are proud of each and every one of them. We hope to see you in Coral Bay again soon, until then, Best Fishes from all of us! Cheers, Tonja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Watery Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We did the manta ray tour and I think I preferred that to the whale shark tour we did from Exmouth. You walk straight onto the boat (no need for rubber duckies) and you are issued with wetsuits which give you a bit more buoyancy. The boat was less flashy (but still perfectly acceptable) and the presentation less slick, but I preferred it that way. The crew were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and looked after us very well. We had lots of water time - two swims with manta rays and two viewings of the reef. The buffet lunch was nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NingalooReefDive, Owner at Ningaloo Reef Dive, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip with us. Always pleased to know that we have given someone a good day out on the reef. We hope to see you again in Coral Bay some time... Safe travels & best fishes to you! Tonja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ningaloo Reef Dive also viewed

Coral Bay, Western Australia
Coral Bay, Western Australia
 
Coral Bay, Western Australia
Coral Bay, Western Australia
 

Been to Ningaloo Reef Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing