We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet self-contained cottage in country setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yering Gorge Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Quiet self-contained cottage in country setting”
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night during a Yarra Valley wine trip.

PROS:
- Quiet, country setting. Kangaroos lazing about in front of cottage in the early morning.
- Self-contained (kitchen, lounge, bbq) would be great for a stay of a few nights, cooking your own and drinking the wine purchases of the day.
- Great hospitality.

CONS:
- Could be slightly better value for money. A little expensive.

  • Liked — Kangaroos surround the cottage area
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
98
148
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I are from Singapore and it was our first time visiting Melbourne. We wanted a farmstay experience as it is something we can never have the chance to enjoy in our city. We found Yering Gorge Cottages while doing our travel research at the Singapore Natas Travel Fair. There, we met Ross, the owner of the place whom showed us photos of the farm and cottages and a thorough review of what we can expect in his farm. Naturally we were both bowled over. He even threw in 1 free night for us as we booked 2 weekday nights.

We arrived in Melbourne and hopped on a cab to the farm. I must admit that the fare was not cheap as not a single airport-transfer bus was willing to bring us there. Guess that was just about the only gripe I have. But upon reaching the farm, our unhappiness was forgotten as the view was thoroughly amazing. There were miles of big open fields with views of the farm animals like cattles and horses. We had a Rangeview cottage and we have to admit it offers 1 of the best views as it was overlooking the entire plain. There were even wild kangaroos spotted as we looked out from our balcony.

The cottage itself also deserve much compliment. It is fully self-
contained with 2 hotstoves, microwave, fridge and a mordern fireplace. And the attached jacuzzi bath really made our stay all the more romantic. The housekeepers really did a good thorough job of cleaning up the place as well as we found everything spick n span. The owners also threw in a big breakfast basket complete with fruits, cereals, assortment of jams, various tea selections during our 4day stay plus a loaf of bread and papers delivered every morning. There was also a bottle of complimentary wine.

Yering Gorge cottages is situated along the Yarra River and is near the gorge. There are various walking trails around the facility that guests can take. Each walk has different degrees of difficulty and will take about 45mins or so to complete. Every trail has its own breathtaking views either of the bushlands, the Yarra River and Gorge, neighbouring vineyards or just along the big open plain.

The owner Ross and his brother Noel have extended kind hospitality us, teaching us how to operate the various appliances, free rental of DVDs and a ride to Lilydale town for grocery shopping and to the train station at the end of our stay for our return trip to Melbourne. They also offered to arrange Hot-air balloon rides and vineyard tours for us which we did not do as we just wanted a relaxing stay in the farm. All in all, its a place to go to for a short relaxing family trip (they have 2-bedroom cottages for families as well) or a romantic getaway for 2. We have thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of our short 4day stay and will definitely recommend it to all who intends to visit Victoria.

  • Liked — The amazing cottages and views
  • Disliked — Travelling distance to the city
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilacbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Yering Gorge Cottages are situated in the picturesque south eastern edge of the Yarra Valley on the banks of the beautiful Yarra River as it flows through the Yering Gorge. The cottages are also part of a working family farm and the owners are have done a great job to provide immaculate four and half star self contained cottages which are ideally placed for wonderful views and yet complete privacy. The cottages were very well appointed and the modern facilities and large verandahs were ideal for complete relaxation. The cottages have large picture windows and stunning jarrah floors that and were presented in such a way as to make one feel immediately as though you had found a luxury oasis a wonderful natural setting. The beds were very comfortable and the crisp, clean white linen was a joy after a long lazy spa bath in spacious bathroom. At dusk Kangaroos milled outside our balcony and kookaburras chorused in the background. Enjoying a Yarra Valley red and taking in the breathtaking landscape in the company of native fauna was a highlight. Our hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. From the provision of a substantial breakfast basket, wine and chocolates and daily paper, to offering us a bus ride to a local winery, nothing was too much trouble.They prided themselves on the quality presentation of each unit and were anxious to make our stay a great experience. It was great to see that old fashioned quality of service too often lacking in other establishments. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone who wants a relaxing stay in beautiful rural setting. In particular to visitors to Australia as this place provides luxury affordable accommodation where you can mix with the bush and native animals at your door step.We have already booked a return stay later this year.

  • Liked — Service and presentation of room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elvaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

If you are looking for somewhere good to stay in the Yarra Valley, Victoria, PLEASE give this place a miss. I found the room dirty. The bed linen was quite obviously not even washed, as when I pulled the bedsheets down to straigten out a lump, I found a pair of mens jocks..ewwww disgusting. I complained to the owners, who I found to be quite aggressive/defensive, which really made for an unpleasant nights stay. I have requested a refund, but am still waiting!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank meredith666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Yering Gorge Cottages are situated in the Yarra Valley along the banks of the Yarra River at Yering, only an hour's drive from Melbourne CBD and within easy driving distance to a multitude of wineries.

The cottages are fully self-contained with fridge, two hot plates, toaster, dishwasher and microwave. There's also a two-burner gas BBQ on the balcony. Or if you don't feel like cooking, the managers are extremely helpful when it comes to suggestions for local restaurants and cafes.

As part of the tariff you're given generous provisions for a continental breakfast, as well as tea and plunger coffee.

The cottages have wood-burning fires (fire wood supplied) as well as reverse-cycle air conditioning. So you can laze on the couch and look out the front floor to ceiling glass windows at the grassy slope and trees lining the banks of the Yarra River. Alternatively you can sit outdoors on the wide balcony and soak up the view of the surrounding valley and distant mountains.

The spacious separate bedroom has a queen-sized bed and an enormous bathroom with spa bath and separate shower.

The cottages are built with the bedroom and bathroom at the back and the living area along the front so you look out at the beautiful vista rather than at other cottages. They are also built with a bit of distance between them so they feel private.

Yering Gorge Cottages have a couple of freestanding two-bedroom cottages as well as a couple of adjoining ones to combine into a four-bedroom place.

These cottages are a great place for some serious rest and relaxation. Although for the more active, the property has several well marked walks along the river, into the gorge and a circuit up into the scrub on the hill.

Great for wildlife too with the kangaroos coming down to feed at dawn and dusk, and after dark keep watch for wombats.

  • Liked — Privacy, style, location
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank templc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
2.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
331 reviews
18.0 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
144 reviews
5.6 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yering Gorge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yering Gorge Cottages

Property: Yering Gorge Cottages
Address: 215 Victoria Rd, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yering Gorge Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Victoria’s food and wine playground and just 45 minutes from Melbourne, is Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club. Nestled into the hillside, alongside the Yarra River, overlooking the golf club, Yering Gorge Cottages includes 13 self-contained, luxuriously appointed, 1, 2 and 4 bedroom cottages. A suite of outdoor experiences and recreational activities are available to complement your stay including golf, tennis, bushwalking, mountain biking, fishing and Segway’s; all undertaken within the Club’s 120 acre Nature Reserve, home to over 200 Eastern Grey Kangaroos, Deer, Platypus, Echidna, Wombats and over 200 species of native bird life, providing guests with the rare opportunity to get up close and personal with some of Australia’s most iconic wildlife. Guests of Yering Gorge Cottages have priority access to Australia’s newest golf course, The Eastern Golf Club, designed by Greg Norman, and positioned in the stunning setting of the Yering Gorge, where bushland intersects with the Yarra River against the backdrop of the Christmas Hills and Dividing Ranges. With the first 18 of a planned 27 hole championship course already opened, The Eastern Golf Club has established a beautiful country estate within the peaceful environment of the Yarra Valley and on the doorstep of some of Victoria’s best wineries, eateries and tourism experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yering Gorge Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yering Gorge Cottages Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing