We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yering Gorge Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at yering gorge for our wedding along with the wedding party. The cottages were just beautiful. Ross and Sharon could not have been more helpful in the lead up and on the weekend itself.

The place was lovely, relaxing and tranquil. Being able to view kangaroos on your front lawn, wombats and all the other wildlife was excellent. We felt like we were hours out of Melbourne even though we were not that far from home.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Loz04,

Thank you for such a great review. It is extremely rewarding for all of us here to get such positive feedback, especially when it involves your special wedding weekend.

I am so glad you and your guests all enjoyed themselves and most importantly I am so pleased that Yering Gorge played it's part in such an important time in your life.

I hope we can see you back here soon, perhaps for your anniversary.

Best Wishes,
Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
100
150
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Papua New Guinea
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The complex consists of modern and very well maintained cottages of one and two bedrooms located in the Yarra Valley. Sharon and Ross provided the perfect amount of support and ensured that our accommodation needs were fully met during our daughters wedding weekend. Whilst 2 reports have mentioned the golf links currently under construction in the near vicinity, work did not start early nor continue late on the Friday and the construction was far enough distant that it was not disturbing. No construction activities were underway over the weekend and it is obvious that completion of the golf course will provide a fantastic view over the course to the far hills. The local area provided many activities including wineries, great restaurants (including The Stones), craft and local produce shops and the Healesville wildlife sanctuary. Great bush walks along the Yarra River provided opportunities to see lots of kangaroos, kookaburras, wombats etc. Highly recommended for both Australian and Overseas visitors.

Room Tip: All cottages were the same style. Some looked over the river areas whilst some overlooked the new g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hello Sharri,

Your review of Yering Gorge and the whole Yarra Valley is terrific, I am so pleased you were able to enjoy not only us here at Yering Gorge, but a lot of the other great places and attractions the Yarra Valley has to offer.

We do always promote (especially to our overseas visitors) the myriad of wineries, restaurants and natural attractions that we have here in the valley.

Sharri the most pleasing aspect of your review is that you were able to really enjoy our native wildlife, I personally feel this should be a real highlight for any visitor as there is nothing as special than seeing native animals in the wild.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Sharon and Ross very helpful and accommodating. Cottages are quality and well designed for the space. Clean, peaceful and a great space to relax with all the amenities like your own home. Thank you for an amazing stay, will be interesting to see after the golf course has been completed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Jeffrey,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review about Yering Gorge Cottages.

It is pleasing to see that you appreciated the design of the cottages and that you felt relaxed and enjoyed your stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you back, maybe even for a game of golf.

Best Regards,
Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I must agree with LovelyLadyLondon - a great location has been destroyed! The Cottages are now on the boundary of a very large construction site as they become incorporated into a golf course. Our stay was interrupted by the constant sound of earth moving equipment, dust and beeping sounds which shattered any illusions of tranquility.

Any accommodations site is subject to change and modernisation but in my experience of travelling, good venues advise that such work is or will be underway when a booking is made, recognises the impact at reception when you arrive and makes a reduction in their fees to make up for any loss of amenity. But not at Yering Gorge Cottages - no pre warning, no comment at reception and no reduction in fees.

If you are want to stay at a golf course then Yering Gorge Cottages would be perfect - but I would wait till the construction is finished.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetersTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi PetersTravels,

I am truly sorry that your recent stay with us was not totally satisfactory as we do endeavor to give our guests the very best of experience when they stay with us at Yering Gorge Cottages.

Once this particular section of the course is completed all of the future works will not be adjacent to the cottages and nature reserve and therefore there will be very little impact, if any, on our guests. We do try to explain the new Greg Norman designed course to all of our guests when they arrive, however on this occasion a crack in our communication processes has occurred, and for that, I do apologise.

PetersTravels we would like to thank you for your comments from your recent stay and should you wish to discuss in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Yering Gorge Cottages office.

I sincerely hope that we do get another opportunity to win you over once the the course is complete next year.

Best Regards,

Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is my second time here, you can read my previous review. I love it here, the accommodation is faultless, the outlook is spectacular and it's just a great place to base yourself for a trip to the Yarra valley. We loved sitting on the veranda and watching the sunset, with wildlife all around. Wifi and amenities are all excellent. Everything about the cottage is first class.

Unfortunately something awful has happened. A monsterous golf course is being constructed on the land immediately next to the cottages, it was a bit of a shock to see this as we approached. We arrived on the Sunday and all was quiet so it didn't really affect us to much. Monday morning the diggers started up at 7am. Sitting outside the cottage with the beep beep of reversing hgvs and diggers was not the quiet bliss normally experienced, partly down to the fact it is so quiet the sound really travels. We left around 11am to explore and diggers blocking the route caused minor irritations as we had to wait several times while they cleared the route. Same thing happened when we returned. Which annoyed all our party... The cars from the site also used the cottage tracks to turn around, which didn't annoy me but I did think it wasn't ideal. The diggers kept going until around 6/6.30pm, which did annoy us slightly. Next morning the same, including trying to leave the property and driving up a verge to accommodate the parked trucks.

My dad hit the nail on the head, it no longer feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, which was the best part of this place.

I haven't decided if I would visit again, If I did I would only go at the weekend to avoid the drone of the construction. The cottages are now part of the eastern golf course group as well.

Staff are great, as was the case last time

Room Tip: Come at the weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross3838, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi “LovelyLadyLondon”
Thank you for posting another review about Yering Gorge Cottages.
Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you and your family encountered during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we did have some disruption during the early part of that week whilst the optic fibre cabling for our new broad band internet was being installed along with an electrical upgrade. Although we were assured by the contractor there would be no disruption or inconvenience to our guests, this unfortunately was not the case, as they did encounter some unforeseen problems during the installation. Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club are committed to providing the very best of services to the guests here at Yering Gorge, and having hi speed broadband internet in the near future is one of the services we see as a priority for our guests into the future.
I do hope that we will see you back to visit at some time in the future, especially upon completion of the new 27 hole Greg Norman course, as I am sure you will see that “middle of nowhere” feeling will have come back in the idyllic setting, and that the new golf course will be an amazing addition for our guests. Two (2) full golf holes near the cottages are having turf laid in the coming weeks completion construction in this area. Please feel free to contact me personally at any time in the future if you are considering another short break.
Best Regards – Ross Stevens
General Manager, Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

All I can say is what a spa! The added details of modern furnishings was a breath of fresh air. Although it is a little way out, having grown up in the Yarra Valley made it a lot easier for my partner And myself to locate the property. The double spa was a delight and the breakfast was scrumptious!! The receptionist helped guide us through the property and we found the stay very pleasurable! Highly recommended

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross3838, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Zoe K,
Thank you for writing such a great review.It is very pleasing that local people can also enjoy what we provide here at Yering Gorge.Zoe we look forward to seeing back again shortly.
Yours Sincerely
Ross Stevens
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Yering Gorge Cottages is an absolute must if going to the Yarra Valley. We only stayed one night but we so wished we could stay longer after experiencing this wonderful place. Ross and Sharon are so lovely, down to earth and they will do anything to make ur stay more comfortable. There are lots of little lovely touches such as being delivered fresh bread and a newspaper in the morning which make it stand out and extra special. The cottages are divine and the surroundings so blissful. We so look forward to going back for a longer stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Hayley S. for such a great review.

I know you were really impressed with your wine tour, and I did take your advice and visited that cellar door you mentioned and you were right, another little gem of a winery here in the Valley. It is very pleasing to know you felt relaxed during your stay with us and that we are going to see you back here at Yering Gorge Cottages, hopefully for a little longer next time!

Regards,

Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
2.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
542 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
18.0 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
145 reviews
5.6 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yering Gorge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yering Gorge Cottages

Property: Yering Gorge Cottages
Address: 215 Victoria Rd, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yering Gorge Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Victoria’s food and wine playground and just 45 minutes from Melbourne, is Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club. Nestled into the hillside, alongside the Yarra River, overlooking the golf club, Yering Gorge Cottages includes 13 self-contained, luxuriously appointed, 1, 2 and 4 bedroom cottages. A suite of outdoor experiences and recreational activities are available to complement your stay including golf, tennis, bushwalking, mountain biking, fishing and Segway’s; all undertaken within the Club’s 120 acre Nature Reserve, home to over 200 Eastern Grey Kangaroos, Deer, Platypus, Echidna, Wombats and over 200 species of native bird life, providing guests with the rare opportunity to get up close and personal with some of Australia’s most iconic wildlife. Guests of Yering Gorge Cottages have priority access to Australia’s newest golf course, The Eastern Golf Club, designed by Greg Norman, and positioned in the stunning setting of the Yering Gorge, where bushland intersects with the Yarra River against the backdrop of the Christmas Hills and Dividing Ranges. With the first 18 of a planned 27 hole championship course already opened, The Eastern Golf Club has established a beautiful country estate within the peaceful environment of the Yarra Valley and on the doorstep of some of Victoria’s best wineries, eateries and tourism experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yering Gorge Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yering Gorge Cottages Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing