We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Yering Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Chateau Yering and I think it almost surpassed the first. This time we were not lucky enough to have a room upgrade, but the suite was large and very comfortable. The staff were terrific and couldn't do enough to make our stay so pleasant. They went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed. Dinner in Eleonore's was superb. The staff again were marvellous. Our stay was rounded off with a very pleasant breakfast in the Sweetwater Cafe. We look forward to another visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    71
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
229
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family. Great base for the yarra valley area. Did many wine tastings around the area.

The room was well equipped and spacious. The amenities provided was wonderful. The bed was extremely comfortable!

A very relaxing place to spend a weekend. The gardens and the fields surrounding the hotel provide a tranquil feel.

A postcard view in the morning during the sunrise with the hot air balloons.

The restaurant and cafe showcase many of the local produce in their food.

I would come back again if I happen to visit the area. Great weekend spent!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marchola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Beautiful boutique country house hotel in the ever beautiful yarra valley in victoria.the staff are ALL attenative and seem genuinely friendly.the little extras really help make the difference, if u stay here u MUST have dinner at elenores.its pricey but well worth it and the dishes are a work of art .the antiques in the common areas are beautiful as are the fabrics used in the soft furnishings, a delight to sit and enjoy the tranquility within,.the yarra room is spacious with separate sitting room and verandah, great weekend getaway still close to melbourne but far enough to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Try upgrade to at least yarra room , worth it for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chateau Yering for 2 nights to attend a wedding being held there in the garden. It was a fabulous weekend. The room we booked was wonderful with excellent furnishings and comfort level, a verandah straight out on to the grass, with a view of the cows in the next paddock in the mornings. The bathroom was huge with a lovely claw foot bath that we were dying to try, but just didn't get time!!! The staff at the Chateau should be highly praised for their great service, from check in to check out, in the restaurants for breakfast and lunch, and the staff at the wedding reception were just wonderful. It wasn't really a great weekend weather wise for swimming, but the pool looked as though it needed a bit of refurbishing.
Apart from that the whole weekend was a very memorable experience - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the River Suites and it was lovely. The doona was a bit too hot to sleep under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed two nights in a river suite. Perfect spot for visiting wineries. While the hotel is a little old fashioned, it is lovely and full of character. The gardens are very pretty and the staff professional and friendly. We had dinner one night in Eleanor's restaurant and it was excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at Eleonore Restaurant.
While not really a fan of period style hotels the room was very adequate.
The gardens and grounds were disappointing and looked in need of some maintenance.
Breakfast was disappointing. Sweetwater Cafe is dated and the waitress was very preoccupied with folding napkins rather than serving the guests.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for Valentine's Day and the whole experience was sublime. Staff was friendly and I loved the room - nice comfy bed, huge balcony and lovely deco. Dinner at Eleanor's was better than I expected.

Went ballooning the next morning followed by breakfast. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience and I'd love to come back again. A perfect weekend getaway.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hyqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.3 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Property: Chateau Yering Hotel
Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne
Chateau Yering Hotel Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing