We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed two nights in a river suite. Perfect spot for visiting wineries. While the hotel is a little old fashioned, it is lovely and full of character. The gardens are very pretty and the staff professional and friendly. We had dinner one night in Eleanor's restaurant and it was excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Yering Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at Eleonore Restaurant.
While not really a fan of period style hotels the room was very adequate.
The gardens and grounds were disappointing and looked in need of some maintenance.
Breakfast was disappointing. Sweetwater Cafe is dated and the waitress was very preoccupied with folding napkins rather than serving the guests.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for Valentine's Day and the whole experience was sublime. Staff was friendly and I loved the room - nice comfy bed, huge balcony and lovely deco. Dinner at Eleanor's was better than I expected.

Went ballooning the next morning followed by breakfast. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience and I'd love to come back again. A perfect weekend getaway.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hyqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed two nights at Chateau Yering this February and it was beyond what we could have hoped for. Being able to sit outside our room and escape busy life while watching the cows was definitely a highlight and our evening at Elenor's was amazing. The friendly staff, picturesque location and being so close to so many great attractions in the Yarra Valley will have us visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amity33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were invited by friends to celebrate a 55th Birthday at Chateau Yering on St Valentine's Day.
There were 20 guests we had a informal cocktail party on the front lawn. Food, wine and service was amazing. Our suite was charming and all you could possible want for an over night
stay or longer if time allows. Just a short and very pleasant drive from Melbourne.
Would recomend it for any occasion.

Room Tip: Every room we looked at were fanatastic
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Celebrating wedding anniversary, so decided to get out of Melbourne and head off to the Yarra Valley. Booked in on line, so easy as. The package I chose included cheese platter in the room on arrival, a 3 course dinner for two and full breakfast the next morning. It is on the pricey side but worth the money. In fact
if you break down the costs really not that bad.
The room was exactly what you expect of a beautiful old homestead. They are a very good size with lounge and dinning table an old world
dressing table and a wonderfully comfortable king size bed. Big bathroom with all expected amenities and a huge claw foot bath.
The staff here rival any five star I have stayed at without any stuffiness or attitude. Dinner in Eleanor's restaurant was first class, although the air conditioning was struggling ( extreme weather for days in the 40's) but was ok. Food excellent and we took advice and had the meals wine matched. Choices were exceptional and highly recommend you do this.
So if you are looking for something special this is the place. Take yourself through the gardens and to Yering Station winery for wine tastings and you can stroll back via the pool. Just don't buy more than you can carry!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank norah_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked one of the available packages as a 40th Wedding Anniversary surprise for my wife. We had talked in the past of staying at this Hotel and had never gotten around to it and so, took this opportunity to satisfy both of our curiosities. From the outset, we were very impressed. A warm friendly greeting by the staff who go out of their way to explain the amenities of the Hotel and give you a cursory tour of those amenities so as to familiarise you with the venue. Room was huge and well equipped with everything that you would need and the views from the French windows afforded an excellent overview of the Yarra Valley. The evening meal in Eleonore's Restaurant was something special, the food was outstanding, as good as any restaurant we have eaten in any where in the World, I would go so far as to say, possibly the best meal I've ever eaten in a restaurant. Breakfast in the Sweetwater Café was similarly excellent, there was not a huge selection, but there was adequate cold and hot selections and plenty of it. If I had one criticism, it was the location of tea and coffee making facilities in the room, these were located in a cupboard/receptacle in the bathroom rather than in the bedroom/lounge area which I found very strange and inconvenient, particularly if someone was using the bathroom. I would not hesitate to recommend this location for a romantic evening.

Room Tip: Ask for the Yeringberg room, it has a magnificent view of the Yarra Valley.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
547 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range: $238 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily and lunch Wednesday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne
Chateau Yering Hotel Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing