We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very enjoyable place for a nice long weekend. A good package that included a very nice river view room (river a distance away...), a very enjoyable meal in the restaurant for two, breakfast and just a whole lot of relaxing. Good location for touring through the Yarra Valley region. A wedding that took place the same weekend did not disrupt at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed only overnight at Chateau Yering, but we really felt we had had a restful long weekend. We were very lucky to have our booking upgraded to a suite. The rooms were beautifully furnished, old world style and very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and friendly. My husband needed to go to a chemist so the reception staff provided a Google map and directions and held our booking in the restaurant a few minutes. It was quiet and peaceful and we did not hear any noise from the rooms around us. A lovely sleep in and a leisurely breakfast in the sweet water cafe was just delightful. We hope we go again soon.

Room Tip: Not sure there would be bad rooms, but the Dalry suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife, adult son and I visited the Yarra Valley in late January, and stayed 2 nights at the Chateau. The staff were attentive, friendly and the rooms were clean, eye-catching and almost too comfortable. Breakfast in the Sweetwater each morning (3 for us) was more than enough, and the kitchen was only too happy to do special requests. We were not familiar with the area (passing through from Canada) and so we really appreciated some tips where to go, what to visit. Dinner at Eleonores was superb- we appreciated the wine pairings suggested by the Sommelier. We even got to play some tennis. A wonderful time was had by us and another couple from Toronto with whom we were traveling. Truly memorable.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days for a management retreat and frankly, could not fault the property.

My room was delightful, the ambience had to be experienced to be believed and the staff were excellent, especially in the restaurant.

I plan to return with my wife for a weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed a night in one of the up, market Stable suites. Both of us were overwhelmed by the dust of the antiques and curtains, so much so I couldn’t stop sneezing and my wife’s eyes were red from the irritation. The service was excellent and the rooms well appointed but the upkeep seems to have let them down. A must is the candlelit turndown. I won’t ruin it for you , just do it.
Would we stay again yes but the breakfast was cold and the staff rude. Our coffees sat on a bench for over 5 minutes getting cold, it was only after we went up and inquired that they responded and rudely banged them down on our table. There is just no excuses for that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. I do apologise that your stay with us was not up to the standard I expect for my guests.

I believe the problem regarding the dust was due to the open fire. During the winter months the Stable Suites are the most popular and unfortunately the fireplaces do sometimes smoke and cause dust in the room. My housekeeping staff are usually extremely conscious of this problem and take extra care. I am not sure what happened on this occasion but I can assure you it will not happen again.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to the property in the future and your stay will be perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 25th April as part of a trip to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. I couldn't think of a nicer place to stay! We were lucky enough to have the Yeringberg room which was simply beautiful. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The dinner we had in the restaurant was of the highest quality - I could have that suckling pig every night and not get sick of it!
The location - fantastic
The room - breathtaking
The food - world class
The staff - brilliant
What more could you ask for......

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had driven past this place for years, without knowing to much about what was behind the trees ...Then recently a friend told us about it, so we popped in and had a look...Wow....So we booked an overnight package and dinner... Not cheap but unbelievably first class in every way. The ambience says it all, add to that the professionalism of staff at all levels, from reception to to the food and wine waiter at dinner it was a night to remenber...Food was excellent as was selection of wine....We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzaofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
552 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range: $241 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily and lunch Wednesday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne
Chateau Yering Hotel Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing