We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Yering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chateau Yering”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A fantastic 3 day wine tour was made all the more enjoyable by our stay at Chateau Yering, the staff were fabulous, professional yet so nice and accommodating. The Dinners were incredible and the breakfasts superb, lovely atmosphere with the open fires, highly reccomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    74
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
239
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our visit to Chateau Yering was a gift from our family. Driving from Melbourne we were reminded how beautiful the Yarra Valley really is - Vines were all still in leaf, but displaying beautiful Autumn colours. The Chateau interior is like something out of the early 20th century - fires glowing in all the fireplaces, lounge chairs scattered about in intimate groupings, and pre-dinner drinks served with a smile. On arrival the staff insisted on parking the car for us, and carrying our (very small) bags upstairs - rather indulgent.

Dinner in Eleanor's restaurant was beautiful, and the staff were excellent - very friendly, and knowledgeable. Breakfast was also lovely, lots of fresh fruit, and a full English Breakfast if so desired.

Our room had a large balcony, with a couple of chairs and a small table, and the view out over the paddocks and nearby hills was very pleasant; a lovely spot to read the complimentary newspaper delivered to your door. The bed was of the "King" variety, with a lovely goose-down Doona, and comfortable pillows. Really, all one could want for a relaxing week-end away from it all!

Surely not our last visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Why didn't we know about this small pocket of elegance sooner? With all those wide smiles greeting you from every part of the establishment it is full of warmth at every turn. And to enjoy that hospitality in the form of all those yummy chocs and other top-line goodies in your room which today is very quickly passing into history. We left the Chateau Yering wishing we'd planned several nights just so we could soak up this part of Australia's history and relax in every one of their various and elegant rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Absolutely charming environment!! The staff are all extremely professional yet friendly and enhance the atmosphere of such a wonderful setting. The food is to die for!! Our second time here in 3 months and it won't be the last as we adore this place!! Dave & Sue Ottewell

Room Tip: For something extra special get the rose petal & candle turn down - you won't be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have recently stayed at Chateau Yering with my husband and daughter. Everything deserves to be praised: the beautiful setttings, the courtesy and friendliness of all members of staff, and least but not last the quality of the food at Eleanors restaurant. A truly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I was able to snag an incredible deal and ended up having one of the best weekends of my life. The service at Chateau Yering is impeccable and our Anderson River suite was beautiful and spacious with a large balcony (it would have been nice to have some outdoor seating on it) and a large marble bathroom complete with a bidet and a huge luxurious shower head. We were lucky enough to have breakfast both mornings at the Sweet Water Cafe which not only included the assorted buffet staples but also a fully cooked savoury meal cooked to your liking although my boyfriend did wish they served pancakes as he's a fussy eater but this was the first time he ever attempted eating an omelette and actually enjoyed it. We also dined at Eleonore's one night and enjoyed a three course meal which was lovely although my entree was a disappointment as I ordered the rabbit which turned out to be a tiny mouthful of rabbit and lots of yabby and we ordered roasted potatoes with our sirloin but instead received a smokey bacon flavoured potato bake which was nice but wasn't what we ordered and didn't compliment our main but we still left satisfied and happy with the service. Each nights sleep was comfortable and the bedding warm especially on cold nights and we were lucky to receive 3 wine tasting invitations all over the Yarra Ranges in our personalised welcome letter (a lovely touch) and I only wish that I purchased one of the resident kitty's (you'll get this if you've ever stayed here) they were adorable and a great idea! I will definitely come back soon to my favourite place in all of Victoria to stay and would also like to compliment them on their incredible high tea which I enjoyed late last year, still the best I have had and the surrounds of the drawing room make it a perfect afternoon with friends or family. P.S. Please have someone man the guest bar, it was empty every time I went past and it would have made a lovely nightcap after dinner!

Room Tip: Choose the first floor so you can enjoy a balcony with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megalomaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

9 years ago when i went with my then new husband to the Yarra Valley, we stopped in for a look at Chateau Yering and fell in love with it, i always wanted to come back
Our 10yr wedding anniversary was that perfect opportunity, sheer indulgence just the two of us

Which suite did we stay in?
We chose 3rd tier and stayed in the YARRA SUITE (divine!)

What was Amazing?
The bed, you see those beautiful fluffy white goose down dooners in massive beds in the movies and think why cant i have a bed like that, well they are exactly like that

The room was amazing, stunning furniture and sheer elegance of everything, including the welcome biscotti in the lovely decorative tin on your side table to the caramel fudge on the table

The service was impeccable, everyone was very polite and friendly

Tennis is complimentary including the rackets which was great, we didnt try the pool even though its meant to be heated its outdoor

Drawing room and the dining room and the breaky room are just so beautiful

What we didnt like so much?

The tea and kettle facilities are not only in the bathroom they are above the toilet......
Its not really the place for it, very unsavoury

The FOOD
I think they have got too trendy,
The menu was over the top with items like sweetbreads, who wants to really eat sheeps testicles?
The food is deconstructed, if it has a sauce its a dribble on the side of your plate, it looks nice but you cant get it on the food you are suppose to,
Flower petals on the plate? Really i am not a horse i dont need to eat the flowers do i?
Even the dessert was deconstructed, a peice of sponge here and berry over there

The food was also very luke warm on arrival.
I ordered a steak and it was cold and undercooked when i got it,

On the up side they have a very expensive very extensive wine menu and the petit fours at the end of the meal are amazing
The entree Pork Suckling was lovely

Tips:

You get a 10% off at Yarra Valley Dairy so wait till you check in then go round the corner and grab some cheese for the room for later in case the menu is a little too fancy for you too

Overall its a pretty amazing place to stay and you do feel thoroughly luxurious
I would recommend eating out though, there are some great restaurants close by

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms which i think are the more expensive are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
531 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Property: Chateau Yering Hotel
Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne
Chateau Yering Hotel Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing