We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding venue!!! The service makes it even better!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An outstanding venue!!! The service makes it even better!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed at Chateau Yering a number of times and they never cease to impress me!

This time, we had 2 days in Chateau Yering for the first part of our honeymoon and as our preferred homebase for exploring the Yarra Valley.

On arrival we enquired about a wine tour and a local tour operator was organised for the following day - GrapeEscape. We then dined in Sweetwater Cafe and were impressed by what was supposed to be casual fare - we both ordered the Char-grilled Black Angus Sirloin and it was impeccably cooked! My request for some french green beans was met with warmth and promptly bought to the table.

That evening we dined in Eleonore's Restaurant and had the chance to take the 5 course degustation menu. Executive Chef Mathew Macartney could not have delighted our palette more! In 2009, he won The Age Good Food Guide Awards 2009 - One Chef's Hat Winner*** however, having dined frequently with many of London and Paris's best chefs, I believe he should have a place standing firmly beside them.

For anyone who shares a love of gastronomy, Matthew's love of local produce and passion for travel brings inspiration from the 4 corners of the world to each course. The setting - an elegant fine dining restaurant - the perfect location for families and couples alike - that overlooks the property.

We were delighted by Charcoal Wagyu Fillet, Saddle of Yarra Valley Rabbit, Smoked Duck Breast and the John Dory Fillet. For dessert I chose the Cheese whilst my husband selected the Strawberry and Elderflower Consommé with Pound Cake Croutons. An excellent selection of local and international wines were also on offer. The sommelier provided some excellent recommendations that perfectly complemented our menu.

Now already you can see we are having a truly fabulous experience.... but to top it off, we had watched a tv show in London that mentioned Chateau Yering and their cooking lessons!
On arrival, we had enquired about a cooking demonstration with the Head Chef to which they said "it doesn't exist". Clearly we had crossed our wires somewhere. We then asked the chef as we wandered into our room. He said that they really did not exist - but he would kindly organise this experience!

We had an idea to go out and catch some local trout with a local fisherman, but noone it seems got out of bed before 9am for such an event. Instead, Matthew sourced some fresh trout for us locally, his team set up the bbq on the balcony and Matthew spent more than an hour taking us through 2 courses that we could easily prepare when we are back in London - 1 local trout nicoise salad and another - a delicious smoked duck breast!

Having attended cooking schools including L'atelier des Chefs in London and food nights with Raymond Blanc and Hélène Darroze, I believe this is one chef that should have his own cooking show or cooking school!

You can see Matthew's profile here: http://www.chateauyering.com.au/dining-chef.asp. Interestingly his team tend to follow him from establishment to establishment.

He took us through step by step for each dish and my husband even had an opportunity to assist the chef.

Our lunch was served on the balcony as each dish was prepared with matched wines - and we could not have imagined a more perfect afternoon!

During dessert, having heard the history of the wine cellar, we asked the Head Sommelier if we could have a viewing. He kindly took us down into the cellar and gave us a brief history of the cellar and some insight into the wine investments that Chateau Yering have made for their guests in advance. The winelist is truly extensive - and I was very impressed to see the large number of Vintage local wines in stock.

A big thank you Chateau Yering for making our honeymoon a truly memorable experience and a big thank to Matthew and his team !!!

Room Tip: Call in advance to discuss your individual requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeesaSoulodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    74
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
239
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Arrival by car and not a soul to assist with luggage. Even struggling through the main door with 2 suitcases did not elicit a helping hand. Not a good start.
The room itself was large and quite well appointed, apart from the miniature TV set (no, not even flat screen) Given the number of rooms, the rate per room and the low cost of flat screens these days, no excuse not to upgrade.
Pre-dinner drink in the lounge the first evening, request for customary ''nibbles'' was met with an apology, but they don't do this. We repaired to Eleonore's, the main restaurant.
We decided on the tasting menu which turned out acceptable without being in any way exceptional. An extensive wine list, however, ensures there is something for everyone.
Breakfast in the Sweetwater Cafe was, on all 3 mornings, a disappointment. Poor selection of juices, slow replenishment of buffet items and generally slow service all round.
Our package included for dinner again on the third evening, this time chosen from the a la carte menu. Again, nothing specifically wrong with the food or presentation, just simply nothing special at all. Based on earlier reviews we had certainly expected better.
One final rant. I quote from the hotel web site regarding Eleonore's ''Dress Code: Smart casual, gentlemen to wear a collared shirt. No denim.'' Total joke. What on earth is the point of a dress code where those interested in a pleasant evening adhere, whilst nothing is done to stop ''gentlemen'' (I use the term loosely) being welcomed in shorts and flip-flops. In fact, this ''dress code'' was accepted at 2 different tables on this particular evening. The final nail in the coffin, I would not return.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The highlight of our returns to Chateau Yering are the dinners at Eleonore’s and the opportunity to catch up with Executive Chef Mathew Macartney (whom I often refer to as Australia’s own Heston Bloomenthal) and sample his extraordinary cuisine once again. As a regular return visitor we often share our passion for food and wine with Mat and Food and Beverage Manager Cameron Hogarth, and the ability to discuss and explore the dishes with them is much appreciated.

On this particular evening it was a delight watching nature’s “le lapin agile” performance on the lawns as the sun slowly set and the sky changed to hues of smoky purple, giving one cause to pause for a moment and reflect on the privilege of being able to experience some of the world’s most exceptional food and service - something that should never be taken for granted.

Despite an exceptional wine list where you really are spoiled for choice, Cameron had kindly selected a fine 2005 Allinda Pinot Noir for us, sadly the last vintage before local wine grower and maker Al Fencaros pulled out the vines and replanted them with Alba Toro Savagnin – that in itself quite a story.

A choice of fresh baked breads are accompanied by the world finest house-made truffle butter. Even if you don’t like truffles (or mushrooms) you should really “do yourself a favour” and explore this irresistible combination. Once a truffle convert rest assured you’ll choose it every time.

Our dining experience continued with a special (off menu) amuse bouche – delectable pearls of black caviar with traditional quenelles of chopped egg, caper, chives and red onion elegantly arranged around the plate. An intense beetroot reduction tied the flavours together with a new twist and the dish was completed with exceptional tiny Melba toast devised by pastry chef extraordinaire Nadia.

For entrée neither of us couldn’t go past the Smoked Duck Breast, Foie gras burger, yoghurt, cherry, coffee. The duck breast was smoked to perfection and served warm with a crisp skin - a marriage made in heaven when combined with the cherry compote and yoghurt sorbet. Nadia’s mini brioche bun (the best I’ve had since I left France) was an impeccably balanced partner for the rich fois gras. The coffee? Subtle and so flawlessly placed that I hardly noticed it. This was an exceptional dish that literally brought me to tears – my only wish is for Mat to leave it on the next menu so others may continue to delight in it (with a fine pinot noir).

For my main I chose the Roasted Cone Bay Barramundi Fillet, Steamed southern rock lobster, fennel cream, bisque, bacon crumb. I must admit this was not my favorite of Mat’s dishes but seriously after the duck how could anything possibly compare? Solid as always and technically brilliant the fish was cooked to perfection and the lobster was succulent and tender with incredible flavour.

My husband had the Saddle of Yarra Valley Rabbit, Pea raviolo, yabbies, lettuce, sugar snap peas, sauce boise bourdran. The star of this dish was the Pea raviolo and quite a feat of execution – Mat’s dedication to creating the perfect pasta casing with a light as air pea mousse without the whole thing falling apart is a testament to both his passion and skill. The dish was a triumph even for a non-rabbit eater like me.

There was only one possible choice for us for dessert – the Caramel Mousse, Sloe gin poached rhubarb, popcorn, violet granita. When we saw this on the menu we were thrilled. During our last visit I had regaled the violet granita pre dessert offering and suggested it become part of the dessert menu. At that same meal we had experienced a dessert with salted caramel ice cream, poached rhubarb and caramel popcorn and discussed its creation with Mat. So to see the combination of the two now evolve on the menu as one new dish was so gratifying that there was never a question of us trying something else. The dish in a word, sublime. The perfect journey to the perfect destination – creamy (but not too creamy) flawlessly textured melt in your mouth caramel mousse, a perfect juxtaposition to the sweet, kinda chewy kinda crunchy caramel popcorn pieces, the cool and sensually aromatic violet granita and the most refined rhubarb you could hope for. 10/10.





As if we weren’t stuffed enough Nadia’s petit fours were absolutely irresistible – black current gels (think intense flavour then triple it), citrus tarts (how does she get the pastry so incredibly thin?), soft and fluffy marshmallows (like falling into a cloud) and salted caramel fudge (oh, my) – a perfect end to a perfect meal.

If you’ve not had the opportunity to dine at Eleanore’s and sample Mat’s legendary cuisine I couldn’t recommend a more perfect place to indulge, even for just one evening. The service at Eleanore’s (and for the rest of Chateau Yering) is nothing short of outstanding. Their aim – to make every guest feel special and have an exceptional experience. Their dedication and pursuit of pure passion really is some kind of wonderful.

My Rating: 99/100 (only because no one gets 100!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigriddeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I'd wanted to stay for years and wasn't disappointed. The rooms are huge and extremely comfortable. The only thing; TV's are way too small for the room.

The facilities are great, the real challenge is what beautiful space to hang out in. The drawing room is wonderful spot for p[re-dinner drink. And don't miss a meal at Eleanor's. Also, take time for a tasting at winery on the property.

This place has a well deserved reputation. A lovely stay. Bonus was the wrap around verandah which afforded an outstanding view of the most spectacular sunrise I have seen in memory.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room with wrap around verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We married at Chateau Yering and returned for an anniversary. The room was magnificent, the meal at Eleanores was brilliant and the candles in the bedroom and rose petals on the bed in the shape of a heart were just beautiful. It was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for the big room on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneHappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed there for a special occasion - my partners 50th birthday. I organised the stay, meals, etc as a surprise to him and he was surprised indeed. He absolutely loved it and said that his day was so special and couldn't have been better.
I never stayed at the place before and chose it from the reviews and the website descriptions. The reality was much better than I anticipated. I am glad that I chose Yarra suite instead of Yerring suite though. Yerring suite has the advantage of it's own staircase and a fireplace in addition to a spa (which is a corner spa there) and if you like gold, than the suite is for you. Ours was St Huberts - spacious, stylish, without into your face opulence. It was in fact more isolated than Yerring suite as it overlooked the fields (with parrots, rabbits, etc) rather than the building, and the veranda was enormous. We had our breakfast on the veranda in the morning and it felt that we were miles away from the rest of civilization.
The staff was amazing - attentive without being intrusive, exceptionally helpful and friendly. Whilst we were having our dinner (again the most delightful experience) they organised a candlelight turn down that transformed the room into the most beautiful romantic scene. Milk bath with rose petals was also well worth the expense.
If you'd like a special weekend away, I haven't seen a better place for it, we were absolutely enchanted.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NowCallAustraliaHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in a River Suite, which was huge with a wonderful balcony overlooking the garden. The bed was one of the most comfortable especailly for a hotel.
Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful and the wine list was extensive. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The Yarra Valley is agreat place to visit. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savvytraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
531 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Property: Chateau Yering Hotel
Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne
Chateau Yering Hotel Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing