We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

It is a great location to trip around the yarra valley- it is expensive but the rooms,gardens and antique furniture take you back a century - a great restarant (Eleonore's) with modern food and silver service

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DobbieHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 338 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed one night while driving down to the Mornington Peninsula. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Yarra Suite, which is outstanding, though the standard River suite looked extremely comfortable. Dinner at Eleonore's restaurant was as good as any meal I've had for many years with beautiful presentation of imaginatively cooked and very tasty food.

Five star indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This majestic olde lady certainly delivered a touch of yesteryear charm. Whilist touring the valley our second nights stay was at this local iconic hotel. All the staff were very polished and helpful. our suite was like stepping back in time indeed I felt like a princess from the turn of the century! Antique furniture adorned our room,the most comfortable bed,and lots of nice little touches. Although not usually my style I found ourselves enjoying it more than expected. An award winning restaurant and immaculate grounds enhanced our stay.Well worth a visit if this is your thing!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank naomiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Chateau Yering is situated in the beautiful Yarra Valley. It offers quality at all levels from its' Reception to its Restaurant to all the rooms. The accommodation is both spacious and comfortable. All staff take a personal interest and have time for every guest. We needed to 'escape' from the travel party we had arrived with and cancelled part of our tour to stay an extra three nights here. This 'holiday within a holiday' was a truly relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable highspot. Should we return to Australia, visiting Chateau Yering would be our first port of call.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed here 4 years ago for my wife's 40th and when deciding where to stay for the lasty night of our "Ashes Retained" tour, it was always going to be Chateau Yering for a special treat.

It was wonderful to return, although expensive for us poor, exchange rate-affected Brits.

The people are nice and friendly and we had an upgrade. The package included a splendid dinner and too much breakfast.

The dinner was as good a meal as I have ever had, capping off a lovely stay.

I hope that we can return again, someday and enjoy the relaxed splendour of Chateau Yering and the gentle Yarra Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank super95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Once again our (regular) stay at Chateau Yering did not disappoint (although we do ask how one could possibly think it could!). From the luxury furnishings, the attention to detail, attentive staff and great food from Mathew Macartney and team it was pure delight to spend our anniversary relaxing in the fine surrounds of this country estate. Chocolates and champagne on arrival, wine tastings and cheese discounts, the staff will give you plenty of suggestions for things to do during your stay - that is if you can drag yourself away from the plush bedding and seclusion of your suite. Ensure you dine at Eleanore's for a feast to remember (even if you're not a guest a meal here is not to be passed by) and as if you're not stuffed from the night before, an extravagant and sumptuous breakfast awaits you in Sweetwater (who also do great lunches). Chateau Yering is well worth the stay, and is a piece of unsurpassed luxury in the heart of the Yarra Valley. Indulge yourself or share it with someone special.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed in a suite on a mid-week package. We loved the privacy of the hotel, and the rural and mountain views. The staff were professional but also really friendly and easygoing. Nothing was a problem.

We dined at Eleonore's and the atmosphere took us back to the chateaus of France. Loved the elegant drawing room with it's traditional decor and roaring fire.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagine6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
561 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range: $239 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily and lunch Wednesday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne
Chateau Yering Hotel Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing