We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweetwater Cafe

Sweetwater Cafe
Reserve with
Sweetwater Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Yering
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I really enjoyed the squid-ink linguini with snapper - it tasted really good and the fish was cooked perfectly. Staff were pleasant and attentive. Setting was okay. Not the cafe atmosphere I was expecting - more like a restaurant really.
Wines by the glass options was poor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedPanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gympie
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We thought we would try Sweetwater again after enjoying the food a couple of times many years ago. Unfortunately it was pretty dreadful. The menu was cut down and the choices were mediocre. Two of us had pork belly which was a tiny piece with an inch or so of red cabbage. Nothing else and it cost $32 for something that cost $2 at a supermarket...and pay extra for a salad or chips? C;mon!!!! .My partner had fish which was a couple of pieces slopped on risotto. It looked disgusting and was bland. One dish from the childrens menu was ordered for the toddler which was nothing but frozen chicken nuggets cooked up.

A very expensive and disappointing lunch. Will not be going there again. Service was also mediocre and we had to ask to have our glasses topped up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Low quality food for price. Staff rude.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I have to say I am so disappointed in sweetwater cafe. My husband and I had spent the weekend in the yarra valley for his birthday and I thought I'd spoil him a little for his birthday lunch before driving back to the city. On arrival the gentleman on the front desk was rude and looked down his nose at us while curtly telling us to 'wait in the next room for someone to take us through to the cafe'. On being seated there was a distinct smell of urine, even though we were no where near the toilets. Then looking at the menu there were no yering station wines. All of the staff were dismissive and unhappy looking and none of them smiled once while we were there. The food was ok, nothing to rave about and definately not worth the inflated prices.
Would never recommend coming here. You'll get a much better meal and atmosphere at the pub down the road in yarra glen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hailz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the effort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch on a Saturday with high hopes as I was taking a friend from overseas. Very disappointed with the meal. Ordered the beef and it came overlooked and tough to the point that we both couldn't eat it. Also they dont serve any yering wines there eveb though its located right there?!? Won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferny creek
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My Daughter and her Husband were visiting from London before they returned to the UK we wanted to take them out for lunch,they requested the Yarra Valley and after reading your reviews selected Sweetwater Cafe,we were very pleased,the food was excellent,Chateau Yering is magnificent and we will certainly return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernyCreekFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Cafe also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Sweetwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing