We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find - super relaxing and near loads of vineyards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward
Ranked #1 of 2 Yering B&B and Inns
Shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find - super relaxing and near loads of vineyards”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The villa was in a great location nearby a bunch of vineyards in Yarra Valley and only 45 mins from Melbourne.

The owner took great care of us with suggestions on vineyards, restaurants and the best bits of Yarra while also stocking the fridge each day with different brekkie options from bacon and sausages through to muffins and pastries. Very friendly but not intruding.

The villa itself is very spacious and clean with lovely views across what I guess they are trying to turn into a Tuscan-esque garden. Would definitely recommend for anyone going for a weekend to Yarra Valley to explore the wine. Just down the road you'll find Yering Station and Domaine Chandon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightyHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay enough to share your experience with others. We love the Yarra Valley and feel very privileged to be able to share our knowledge of it with guests. After all, they're here to experience and enjoy it as much as possible so anything we can do to assist, we will. We joke that nobody leaves The Gatehouse hungry as we like to give guests a good variety and wide choice of plentiful breakfast options. We are pleased we succeeded. The Villa is the main house where we live and The Gatehouse is quite separate and screened from the house so guests can enjoy the peace and privacy of their suite and the views out through the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My partner and I had a lovely long weekend here a few weeks ago. Everything was perfect, from the rooms & delicious breakfasts, to the service and the location. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and come back anytime. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaganalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review. We try hard to ensure that every guest has the sort of experience at The Gatehouse and Villa Raedward that you and your partner had. We are very pleased we succeeded and that you both had a wonderful and memorable time here and in the lovely Yarra Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the gatehouse for a special weekend away with my new husband. This place was so perfect. The spa was wonderful, the breakfast provisions amazing. Everything we could want was there. It is Ina perfect location, right in between all the wineries and with yarra valley dairy just down the road. I love that the villa was nice and secluded and you didn't have to worry about any other guests. We had people staying next door on our last night but never heard a peep from them.
Yes you can hear the noise from the highway, which can spoil the tranquility of the place a little but at the end if the day we didn't mind. I definately recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hailz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review! We try hard to ensure that our guests have a truly enjoyable and memorable stay at The Gatehouse and so it's lovely (and very reinforcing for us) to know we succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm currently sitting in the Melba suite writing this review, I didn't want to wait to get home to Melbourne to share yarra valleys best kept secret. As some one who has worked in the hospitality industry all my life, I was very impressed with the level of hospitality afforded to us by John, the owner, who made us feel very very welcome and comfortable from the moment we drove down the beautifully cared for and landscaped garden. The suite it's self is absolutely perfect for that getaway we all need every now and again. From the moment you walk in you can see that the suites are quiet new, clean and supplied with everything you could possibly need. Beautiful el fresco area accompanies the 2 suites, which make an ideal setting for a glass or two of wine whilst taking in the scenery of the yarra valley. As someone who consistently relies on reviews for restaurants and hotels to visit I felt obligated to let everyone know about The Gatehouse. Please people do yourself a favour, if visiting yarra valley make sure your accomadation is here. This is the first review I have ever written and there is a reason for that. To John and your wife keep up the great work.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thehonestcritic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. Our philosophy has always been "If our guests are not happy, then we're not happy." Consequently, we try to apply what we've learnt and observed over many years of traveling to create a welcoming, comfortable and memorable experience for our guests by ensuring the suites and grounds are at their best when folks arrive, provisions are bountiful and our attention to detail has got everything right. We love the Yarra Valley and feel honoured to be able to share our love of the place, its people and many wonderful attractions with our guests so they might enjoy and come to love it as much as we do.
John and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were in the area for a friends wedding and my fiance was forward thinking enough to book the accommodation months in advance. From the moment we arrived and the friendly greeting by the owner John to the moment we checked out the experience was exactly what we needed. With an 8 month old son left behind with his Nanna this was our first night away together without him since his birth. The combination of the utterly tranquil environment framed by an expanse of glass, a relaxing spa bath, a welcome nights sleep and a leisurely breakfast all went towards our departing with wide smiles on our faces. We will be back at some point in the future. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear NKinOz, We are glad that your stay at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward provided you with a relaxing and enjoyable break from the duties of parenting, albeit a brief one. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time and hope you will be able then to explore more of the many delights of the Yarra Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here after a day touring the wineries of the Yarra Valley. We stayed in the Melba suite and it was fantastic. An absolute standout was the design of the two suites and the abundance of natural light that fills the room. Extremely relaxing and very quiet with a beautiful view of the amazing manicured grounds. The food, sparkling wine and all the little extras such as heated towel rails, books, dvd's etc are outstanding. One day here is definitely not long enough!
The Gatehouse is very close to the Coldstream Brewery which was a fantastic place for a beer and cider.
Highly recommend The Gatehouse

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Stoney10, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of The Gatehouse. We are glad that you found your suite and the garden so fantastic. We try to make The Gatehouse the sort of place we'd really like to stay in when we take a break: a place to relax, be comfortable and with lots of nice things to enjoy such as the food and wine, the garden and views and the books, magazines and DVD's; a place providing a great base from which to explore the Yarra Valley's many lovely wineries, restaurants, cafes and other attractions as well as activities such as hot air ballooning. We are glad our expectations of a place to stay met yours and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Travelled here for a one-night stay and was amazed by both the accomodation itself and the host that took care of us, John. He made us feel quite welcome and at home for our short time there. The facilities were excellent, the courtyard was an excellent feature and felt wonderfully secluded in the area and our suite. The breakfast provisions were plentiful and delicious. Will definitely keep it in mind next time we're spending some time in Yarra Valley.

Room Tip: The only thing to keep in mind is that it is quite close to the road so depending on the suite you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raedward, Owner at The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Christophe, Thank you for your review.
We see ourselves as hosts with a responsibility to ensure that every guest's stay is an enjoyable and memorable one regardless of whether they want to explore the many delights of the Yarra Valley or just relax and be comfortable in the privacy of their suite. We are glad we achieved this goal and that you felt welcome and at home.
Having ourselves stayed in a few places that had meagre breakfast provisions we ensure that ours are enticing, generous and varied and are pleased that you found this to be the case when you stayed.
Of our two suites, the Yarra bedroom is closer to the road than the Melba bedroom. While both are well designed and built to be as quiet as possible (see details in our earlier response, below), a very light sleeper would be best assured of a good rest in the Melba Suite. We are always happy to arrange this when requested, if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
2.3 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
16.0 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward

Property: The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward
Address: 26 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two architect-designed, fully self-contained suites with queen bed, double spa, fully equipped kitchen, undercover parking, private entrance, patio with sweeping views of the Yarra Valley and all within 12 kilometres of over 60 wineries, fabulous restaurants and boutique breweries, art galleries, villages, hot air ballooning, sky-diving, gliding and heaps more. The ideal spot from which to explore the many delights of the Yarra Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Gatehouse at Villa Raedward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gatehouse At Villa Raedward Yering, Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing