We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend escape”
Review of A Room with a View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wongarra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Room with a View
Ranked #2 of 3 Wongarra B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at room with a view. Beautiful accomodation and yes the view is amazing! Koala s outside on the trees. The breakfast is beautiful. Can't wait to return. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rua29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Set in an outstanding this B and B is really well designed. It is set up like an apartment with its own entrance and a magnificent breakfast is brought to your room. The view is magnificent. There is abundant friendly wildlife including a variety of birds and koalas living in the trees outside. It is 15 minutes drive towards Lorne from the Apollo Bay shops. Basic cooking and BBQ facilities allow you to stay without venturing out for your evening meal. The Apollo Bay/Lorne/Otways area have so much to see and do. To come home to this quiet spacious apartment was an added treat. We had a terrific stay and will be back.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms/apartments are excellent. The middle one has an upstairs bedroom with living room and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The first time we stayed at this B&B was five or so years ago, before my husband and I married and was a perfect romantic getaway. Perched high up on a hillside overlooking the ocean. As one reviewer said, it is a steep climb up in a car to get there, but well worth it (although a little scary in the dark!!). We go there in winter and actually enjoy the pouring rain and frosty temperatures, it makes the whole place very scenic and beautiful. Perfect place to take wine and cheese and DVDS and enjoy the spa and the views.

Most recently we took our baby daughter there. The hosts (filling in for the regular hosts) were very helpful and really nice, taking care of us, and making sure we had everything for our toddler. Unfortunately the beautiful two storey room wasn't available to us, having a child, but the cabin we stayed in was very nice, spa and bed good and view spectacular. We have, and will continue, to recommend it. As with most B&Bs, we would prefer more bench space for preparing baby bottles, etc, but this is a minor thing. We have stayed in two other places on the Great Ocean Road, one in Lorne and one in Torquay and haven't bothered to review either, as both very sterile and ordinary. This place is the best place on the Great Ocean Road, as long as you don't mind the additional drive from Melbourne! it is close however, to the Otway National Park and only another hour's drive to the Apostles.

Room Tip: The two storey room is the best - not sure what it is called. But available if you have young childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Themelbournefalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Wow what a view, that's all I can say. The B&B is not the most stylish one but the rooms are spacious, so is the bathroom. Everything is squeaky clean, the owner is more then nice.
The B&B is located on a hill overlooking the coastline and glowing hills. Sunset & sunrise is spectacular - You just want to have breakfast and dinner on your balcony. Off course a bbq is provided outside in front of the horses meadow. When we arrived two koalas were asleep in the tree in the meadow and the owner took us (our 4yr old loved the animal to see the animals)

Breakfast items are provided in the room and you can order some additional items.

An outstanding B&B along the Great Ocean Road!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

If you look for a quite B&B with a wonderful view over the hills towards the ocean, if you love wildlife (e.g. plenty of birds in front of your terrace and koalas in the garden trees) this is your place! The rooms are very clean and have all the basic features you need. The breakfast in the morning is simply world-class. Angelica and Gary Millar are wonderful hosts and will see that your stay is just as paradisiacal as you imagined it.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank CharlyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

A perfect stay in the Great Ocean Road region. Clean, spacious, quiet studio with verandah. Great view to the ocean. Kind hosts. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the region.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tux1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a night at A Room with a View in February. It really is in a great location and is a beautiful B&B with fantastic views from the rooms and their decks. A few minor matters to be aware of:

1. It is way up a windy country road, which of course is part of the place's charm. But that does mean it is something of a trip to go into nearby Apollo Bay, and especially to drive back in the dark. The website indicated that having dinner made there was a possibility, but that turned out not to be the case for us when we were there. (No problem, though, since Angelika let us know it would not be possible in advance, so we picked up some food on the way.)
2. The hosts are a bit more formal and rule conscious than many B&B proprietors, with instructions about where one can and can't go on the grounds, etc.
3. The room (I think it was the East Suite, or some name like that) we were in was fantastic, but smaller than the website made it look.

As indicated by my "five star' rating, though, these really are minor matters. I mention them just so visitors are aware of them, not to discourage folks from staying there.

Furthermore, the place exceeded even our high expectations in some regards:

1. First, while the room was smaller than I'd expected based onthe website, it still is very nice, as is its deck. While you wouldn't want to have bad weather there, the picture windows make it a comfy place to sit out a storm if necessary.
2. The website suggests that you have to pay for any breakfast, but the place does provide very basic provisions (instant coffee, cereal, milk) in the room for a free breakfast.
3. All we ordered from the menu was a bread of some sort, but it was so good that I'm sure that the other dishes would be superb.

In sum, a lovely B&B!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongarra
15.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
6.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
621 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Wongarra
133 reviews
7.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#3 of 20 in Apollo Bay
185 reviews
7.0 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 20 in Apollo Bay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room with a View

Address: 280 Sunnyside Rd, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3234, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay > Wongarra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wongarra
Price Range: $138 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Room with a View 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge all the senses at A Room with a View B&B with glorious views, an amazing, natural playlist of birdsong, a soothing, bubbly spa, the aroma of freshly made espresso and croissants.... and of course tasting them along with a number of other culinary temptations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Room With a View Great Ocean Road/Apollo Bay - Wongarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing