We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private seaside escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private seaside escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just enjoyed 3 days in one of the studio apartments at Whitecrest. It was peaceful and private, a real treat to drift in and out of sleep to the sound of the ocean. The king tide was amazing, and we also enjoyed the view of the ocean from a comfy bed, laying in a little longer each day as we unwound from the stresses of the city, relaxing into the peace of a very unique country seaside location. The apartment was beautifully clean and decorated with colours that brought the outside in. The gas log fire added to the ambiance in the evening and even though it rained while there we enjoyed the opportunity to snuggle up in such a beautiful and private apartment. Great escape from the rush of the city and nice to be away from towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    15
    11
    0
See reviews for
29
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent a weekend travelling down the Great Ocean Road and when we booked this place, we thought we were in for a treat. However, when we arrived, it was pretty lack luster. They put us in the end unit with only a partial ocean view. There is no beach access. The apartment itself is tired and out dated. The furniture is worn out (the couches sunk in when you sat on them.) The beds were like rocks and the bathroom is in serious need of a face lift. For over $300/night, I was expecting a full view of the ocean and to not have to take out my own garbage (you have to do your own dishes and take out your own rubbish or risk getting charged extra.) We stayed at a another resort/hotel location on the Great Ocean Road, and it was heaven compared to this place and it was cheaper. But what took the cake was the bugs! The screens on the doors were ripped and within 5 minutes the entire house was FILLED with mosquito's. We couldn't even enjoy the sound of the ocean because we had to shut all the doors and windows or risk getting eaten alive. We eventually moved into the living room, shut off all the lights, and tried to trap them in the closet w/ the light on. Miserable stay. Would not stay again or recommend to anyone. There's better options!

Room Tip: If you stay here, avoid unit 1! Ripped screens and only a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolehender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your visit didn't meet your expectations, we certainly aim to have happy guests.
I would like to point out that we do have beach access at two points near Whitecrest, maps and directions are in the compendium and in the Reception area.
I am sorry you were bothered by insects last Saturday night, it was a very warm evening and a plague was apparent right across South Western Victoria.
We are continually upgrading the furniture and equipment in all apartments and endeavour to meet high standards, our guests are usually very satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in apartment 7
...As we checked in after hours we collected our keys and wow! when we entered the apartment I knew I had made the right choice!!! it was perfect!!
It was everything they promised! lovely views and the rumble of the waves as they hit the near by reefs/shore line was amazing!
The apartment was so clean and so well equipped!!! I loved the birds in the garden singing as we arrived on our first night. the bed was so comfy too!
they really made it feel so homely and we arrived to the gas log heater going for us!

The only downside was when I ran the dryer too hot and it tripped the power circuit (my fault entirely) because it happened outside reception hours we called the other number in the office and no one answered.
this was a little annoying but we still had lights just no appliances.
thankfully the next day they got strait onto it when the reception lady started
There is a cleaning lady but she just services the place sh doesn't actually run it. The lady in reception is very helpful and if there's anything you need to know about the area she knows it!

all up I rate this place very highly an definitely recommend it!!! I can;t wait to go back soon!!!
Thank you so much!

Room Tip: we stayed in apartment 7 it was fantastic!!!! good view of ocean and very comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We travelled from Melbourne to spend a weekend overnight at Whitecrest. The surrounds were peaceful and the apartment (number 12) had a fantastic private ocean view. The atmosphere was very romantic and our short stay exceed all expectations. Perfect for couples looking for a weekend escape.

Room Tip: The studio apartments have fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feed back, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is my second visit to Whitecrest. My wife and myself love this place... isolated and very well equipped.

This last time we booked a big apartment since we were 6 (family visit). The apartment was very well presented and equipped (didn't expect anything else)... and huge. I reckon 8 would fit perfectly there. Although we stayed for one night only, it was a great stop over on the Great Ocean Road. We also used the BBQ feature and enjoyed having breakfast looking at the ocean.

Whitecrest is a must if you want to get away... or a nice stop along the GOR.

One thing was that the Air Conditioning split systems and some electric blankets were not working... but there was a huge gas heated fireplace that did the job... took some time though, but it was warm enough.



ps: guys, pls fix the Air Condition splits!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guscherni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, much appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the A/C not working, the new one is on the way. The electric blanket situation has also been rectified.
Glad you found the Gas Log Fire so cosy, and we're looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

These modern, tastefully furnished and large self contained apartments are located about 14km before Apollo Bay along the great ocean road. Located on a hill above the road yet the only noise is the sounds of the rolling waves. The location Is perfect for that week away although in my case 3 nights, to relax and enjoy the views of the ocean. We had a one bedroom apartment with spa. This apartment was very well and tastefully furnished, had everything that was necessary for the 3 days. The gas heating worked extremely well, a large TV, 2 comfortable couches, 4seater dining table and a very well equipped kitchen with a washing machine/drier. Only issue was that I couldn't get the dryer to work, failed to fully understand the instructions. The bedroom was upstairs, bed pillows etc very comfortable, the only issue was that I would prefer an ensuite same level, but what a minor issue.

Internet worked on the free wifi but was slow, then again I am use to optus cable at 99megahertz.

Booking this accommodation was a breeze, thank you Sally and the locally made chocolates in the fridge were a lovely treat.

Would I come back here, in a word, defiantly. A relaxing and beautiful stay. Only downside, no whales swam past.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we certainly appreciate it. We are glad you had a relaxing break and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived at 3 pm (check in time) to be met by an envelope in the office. Brief letter and key and 3 pages of rules. We settled in for our 5 day stay and on several occasions saw a lady doing some cleaning of rooms, but she was not prepared to enter into a discussion - even about the weather!

There was a Guest Book where previous holiday makers had entered their views - on almost every page we saw compliments for Sally. During our 5 day stay nobody came anywhere near us. I can only preseme that Sally is the Invisible Lady and we just could not see her.

In our room (2) the sofas were rock-hard (my backside is aching) and it was more comfortable to sit on the wooden chairs at the BBQ although it was too cold to stay there long.

Location is good for a quiet time - fortunately we wanted to have a rest from work - but there was NO internet and we had to go into Apollo Bay (13 kms of winding roads) to send an email on our laptops. No mobile phones either - they didn't fire up until five kms closer to Apollo Bay then dropped out again and again. There was a wi-fi advertised but it would not work on my laptop or my tablet - and of course Invisible Sally was not there to help me!

I thought I had travelled interstate and not to the Great Ocean Road of Victoria. Television is Austar - great if you want to watch Foxtel - but 9 Network was beamed in from Townsville and Northern Territory - if I ever go to Tennant Creek and have car trouble I can go to Autopro and get my car fixed by the "Territory experts". 7 Network beamed in from outer space as I couldn't recognise any of the News presenters! The Ashes cricket started while we were away but couldn't watch it as it was on the GEM program and this was not on Austar, so we watched second rate movies.

One good thing - the restaurants serve fresh seafood.

Very disappointed - the only thing that was of "luxury" standard was the price. We won't bother again!

Tony & Lucy

Room Tip: Ask for a "front" apartment in order to benefir from the "complete" ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
We are very sorry you didn't meet our reception staff during your visit, the Reception Hours are posted on the Reception door and we endeavour to meet all our guests.
For out of hours enquiries there is certainly a phone number available in all apartments.
We do hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongarra
6.9 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
15.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
7.0 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
8.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Wongarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort

Property: Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
Address: 5230 Great Ocean Rd, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3234, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay > Wongarra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wongarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments are spacious and fully self contained. They have private ocean views, balcony, BBQ, gas log fire and spa bath. Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort has a solar heated pool, tennis courts and games room with table tennis, billiards table and equipment for the tennis courts at no extra charge for guests.There are plenty of attractions all around us starting with the beautiful Great Ocean Road right on our doorstep and the natural beauty of the Otway National park behind us. The famous 12 Apostles are 90 minutes and the Otway Fly is a 45 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort Great Ocean Road/Apollo Bay - Wongarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing