We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of 4 stars - disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worthy of 4 stars - disappointing”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not a resort and expensive for what it is.
Poor sound insulation between apartments - especially between apartment 1 and 15.
Mediocre / tired furniture and fittings.
No mobile / wi-fi reception.
Apartment 1 is located on the edge of the car park, with no privacy and only sea glimpses - not the advertised 'views'.
Generally very disappointed and won't be back.
Only positive was the Games room which was well stocked / maintained.
Expensive for what it is and not worthy of 4* in my opinion

Room Tip: Avoid Apartment 1 as there is no sound insulation between it and Apartment 15 upstairs. Only 2 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-manly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Front Office Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We have recently upgraded sound isulation between the apartments you mentioned. Telstra is currently upgrading WIFI/Mobile communications along the Great Ocean Road, particularly in Apollo Bay after poor reception over summer with our influx of visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    35
    15
    11
    0
See reviews for
29
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

First of all its not a 'Resort'. I'm not sure why they have used this term, its confusing for what is a complex of really nice, well appointed holiday flats. 'Resort' makes me think of places with lots of restaurants and bars! We stayed in one of the split level studios, and it was perfect for our party of 2 adults and a child with the sofa bed downstairs for the little fella. Full kitchen was well appreciated, as was dvd and spa bath. Tastefully and contemporary furnished, great ocean view - we even saw a dolphin one morning. The location is quiet and it stands alone - not walking distance from anywhere, but an easy drive to Apollo Bay. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellyburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect location great views. We got showed to our room and found the presentation great.

We booked here last minute as our first location was horrorable we were the second last booking and got unit 6. Amazing views and great place for a get away on the great ocean room.
Will stay again the next time we drive past!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D388Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Right in front of the ocean, for such a good price. View is amazing, manager showed us the local hotel secret beach cove!!

We found the entrance and we had our own private beach!!

Amazing rooms!!! Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Jopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this place because it advertised wifi. Not only was the wifi only available in one tiny corner of the games room it flickered on and off so conversations were impossible. On top of this Optus has a very weak signal and none in our room.
On the whole it was a lovely place and just what we wanted. If it had advertised wifi in public areas we wouldn't have booked as we needed Internet access the whole time.
Unfortunately this overshadowed our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarelyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Don't stay in room one !!!!,there's very little view, you constantly hear the footsteps of the people upstairs, the beds where very hard and to make matters worse, the outside spotlight is positioned directly at the bed, so its like trying to sleep with the car headlights on high beam, when asked if this could be fixed the problem was ignored, there was no internet or mobile phone service,and you had to drive everywhere as you cannot access the beach over the road,and it would have been nice to see the sand vacuumed off the pool floor.Very Disappointed!!!

Room Tip: don't stay in room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really lovely accommodation.

This apartment has excellent views of the ocean from the living space, kitchen and bedroom. Everything we could possibly need was provided for us. Very clean and tidy, excellent gas heater and the spa bath was great! I would definitely recommend a stay here. The only thing worth bearing in mind is that you will have to drive for a night out which of course means you cant have a drink :( but for a chilled out holiday this accommodation is ideal.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 10 and the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongarra
15.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
4.8 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 33 in Apollo Bay
249 reviews
7.0 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Wongarra
124 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
8.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort

Property: Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
Address: 5230 Great Ocean Rd, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3234, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay > Wongarra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wongarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments are spacious and fully self contained. They have private ocean views, balcony, BBQ, gas log fire and spa bath. Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort has a solar heated pool, tennis courts and games room with table tennis, billiards table and equipment for the tennis courts at no extra charge for guests.There are plenty of attractions all around us starting with the beautiful Great Ocean Road right on our doorstep and the natural beauty of the Otway National park behind us. The famous 12 Apostles are 90 minutes and the Otway Fly is a 45 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort Great Ocean Road/Apollo Bay - Wongarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing