We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, terrible wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
1 review
“Nice place, terrible wifi”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this place because it advertised wifi. Not only was the wifi only available in one tiny corner of the games room it flickered on and off so conversations were impossible. On top of this Optus has a very weak signal and none in our room.
On the whole it was a lovely place and just what we wanted. If it had advertised wifi in public areas we wouldn't have booked as we needed Internet access the whole time.
Unfortunately this overshadowed our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarelyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    35
    15
    11
    0
See reviews for
29
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Don't stay in room one !!!!,there's very little view, you constantly hear the footsteps of the people upstairs, the beds where very hard and to make matters worse, the outside spotlight is positioned directly at the bed, so its like trying to sleep with the car headlights on high beam, when asked if this could be fixed the problem was ignored, there was no internet or mobile phone service,and you had to drive everywhere as you cannot access the beach over the road,and it would have been nice to see the sand vacuumed off the pool floor.Very Disappointed!!!

Room Tip: don't stay in room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really lovely accommodation.

This apartment has excellent views of the ocean from the living space, kitchen and bedroom. Everything we could possibly need was provided for us. Very clean and tidy, excellent gas heater and the spa bath was great! I would definitely recommend a stay here. The only thing worth bearing in mind is that you will have to drive for a night out which of course means you cant have a drink :( but for a chilled out holiday this accommodation is ideal.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 10 and the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

These small set of town houses have uninterrupted view of the Great Ocean Road and of course the Ocean. Our apartment was beautifully furnished and aptly equipped with cooking implements so you can cook inside or have a bbq on the balcony. Our stay, even though it was in December was quite chilly and we made use of the gas log heater which after only about twenty minutes . heated the entire unit. The top bedroom even became toasty. There was a games room with a ping pong table and pool table but we did not use it as we were on our honeymoon.

It is a 10 or so minute drive to Apollo Bay or about 20 to Lorne. Take food with you (obviously it is self contained) or there are restaurants in those towns.

The lady at reception was quite helpful in giving us ideas of what to do in wet weather ie drives and estimations of times.

I really recommend this property as a place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms bar the end rooms have balconies facing the ocean. You would get ocean views through the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecrest, Manager at Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Beautiful, uninterrupted views of the ocean and was lovely to wake up to the sound of waves crashing on the rocks. The apartment and amenities were lovely - we had everything we needed. Being a 10 min drive out of Apollo Bay meant that it was quiet and just had a relaxing and peaceful time sitting on the balcony. The staff were friendly and took the time to provide us with a map and brochures of surrounding attractions. Agree that phone reception is poor - however I was still able to receive messages. Will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roxy2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good Location, nice views. Very friendly staff. Nice balcony's with BBQ but not very private (
the room we had anyway). Pool and games room were very good, with DVDs you can take back to your room to watch. Cell reception on virgin (optus network) is very week and does not work in some places of the motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on Whitecrest we were a little hesitant about booking a night here. However the adverse reviews are as far as we are concerned are unfounded. Great view, beaut amenities and everything you could want for to be comfy. Amazing to wake up to the view and the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach. Thank you Whitecrest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nowweare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongarra
15.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
4.8 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
252 reviews
7.0 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Wongarra
125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chris's Beacon Point Restaurant & Villas
3.9 mi away
Beacon Point Ocean View Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort

Property: Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
Address: 5230 Great Ocean Rd, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3234, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay > Wongarra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wongarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments are spacious and fully self contained. They have private ocean views, balcony, BBQ, gas log fire and spa bath. Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort has a solar heated pool, tennis courts and games room with table tennis, billiards table and equipment for the tennis courts at no extra charge for guests.There are plenty of attractions all around us starting with the beautiful Great Ocean Road right on our doorstep and the natural beauty of the Otway National park behind us. The famous 12 Apostles are 90 minutes and the Otway Fly is a 45 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort Great Ocean Road/Apollo Bay - Wongarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing