We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gastronomic Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Cherry B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walhalla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Cherry B&B
Save
You added Wild Cherry B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Walhalla B&B and Inns
Somerville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gastronomic Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived to a full town power outage and were meant to have dinner in the on-site dining room the next night, we were invited to dine that night as everything else in town had closed due to "no power". We had a delightful candlelit dinner which was fantastically good considering the trying conditions that chef had to cook in. All aspects of the dinner and daily breakfasts were truly a gastronomic delight. The ambience and sincerity displayed by the proprietors was first class.
The B&B rooms are small but that is not the purpose of the trip it was to experience the area as well as the dining experience from 2 fully qualified chefs, which did not disappoint. This would be my absolute go-to accommodation if in Walhalla again.

Room Tip: Both rooms at the B&B are of the same size and location so no advantage with either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HIGHTON Victoria australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent two nights at Wild Cherry for my birthday and had an unforgettable experience.
Well furnished room,with a very comfortable bed.Nice hot shower and plenty of books/games etc
to keep you occupied if you've seen all the sights.
The view from the front verandah is amazing.Each morning the birds are fed (the kookaburras by hand) and the variety is enormous.
We ate Dinner there on both nights and Scott and Jason exceeded our expectations.
Yummy breakfast and magical sights around town all combined to make us want to return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Walhalla itself is a special place, and a few days at the Wild Cherry were the perfect way to enjoy it. The rooms are nice - small but very comfortable and warm over our chilly wet weekend. There's wifi internet and an iPod dock by the bed. But why worry about that stuff when you can step outside to the verandah and look out over the beautiful valley and town. The breakfasts were amazing - a great way to start out a day of wandering in the town and surrounds - especially the famous "breakfast with the birds" aspect where the kookaburras, king parrots, currajongs and even the resident chook clamour about the verandah to provide the morning's entertainment. As part of our package Scott put on an absolutely incredible gourmet meal. Could not recommend this more, and thanks Scott and Jason for a great getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a brilliant night at this establishment which, if you are looking for something different, is wonderful. First impressions may be a little disappointing. The town is beautiful and you wind up a hill to the Wild Cherry. The rooms look and are small, but on further examination very comfortable and contain all that you would want. The view is spectacular and we loved sitting in the sun outside. We booked for dinner and what a dinner! it was $60 each but really great value. Both proprietors are chefs who have a long association with the town. Only two of us for dinner and a choice of 3 dishes each for the 3 courses together with delicious appetisers in between. I had mussels, ox cheeks and we both had crepes suzette. My wife had garlic prawns and a delicious chicken dish. All were great. The wines were good and reasonably priced and Scott was a great host and a mine of information about the town and its history. Jason is a great chef .Breakfast was equally brilliant. The new lounge dining room is a pleasure to sit in with some beautiful antique chairs and vintage wallpaper. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Comfortable room & very cosy new dining room where we had wonderful breakfasts & the best dinner we've had for a very long time. Delicious food, perfectly cooked and well-presented. Thanks Scott & Jason!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a gem in Walhalla,beautiful surroundings,and wildlife at your door.Very cozy room all you need.Delicious breakfast,if weather permits you can dine with the kookaburras on the verandah,overlooking the amazing view.Very friendly hosts as well.Highly recommended.
Kim & Louise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouTraralgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Walhalla suite is located next to the main building where you can have beautiful views, touch the birds, watch the history of the place and have old time. Yes, the room is clean, comfortable and warmed. We
Ate dinner which was one of the best we have had. Good combination of types, forms and taste. Excellent. Overall - we loved it and we will treasure it for a long time. R&G Cheltenham Vic

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gegehof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walhalla
0.3 mi away
Walhalla's Star Hotel
Walhalla's Star Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walhalla
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
20.4 mi away
Morwell Motel
Morwell Motel
#1 of 4 in Morwell
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walhalla Lodge Hotel
Walhalla Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Walhalla
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Abington Farm Bed & Breakfast
23.4 mi away
Toorongo River Chalets
17.4 mi away
Montfort Manor
Montfort Manor
#1 of 4 in Traralgon
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Cherry B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Cherry B&B

Property: Wild Cherry B&B
Address: Church Hill Road, Walhalla, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Walhalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Walhalla
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Cherry Bed & Breakfast is setting the standard in the beautiful historic town of Walhalla. The two chefs who own and run the property have over 50 years experience in the hospitality industry, so you will be surprised at the attention to detail. Breakfast with the Birds is an ideal way to start your day as you choose your breakfast from our gourmet breakfast menu, with daily specials as well and watch the wide variety of birds come and go. We now offer dinner as well so when you book, let us know if you would like dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Cherry B&B Walhalla, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing