We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watch This Space - CLOSED

Watch This Space
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: May have previously known as "The O Kitchen" or The Oak Kitchen"
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The presentation of the restaurant and the staff is impeccable. I enjoyed the experience despite my order choice being poor. I ordered the calamari and chorizo salad and was disappointed to only get 3 pieces of chorizo- however everyone else's meal looks spectacular and apparently tasted spectacular. The wine choice is amazing with a range of both mainstream and boutique wines. Thank you for a wonderful saturday night

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Eat at this place regularly. The prices have risen making it more expensive than others in the strip however it is always busy and I leave satisfied

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Watch This Space - ever reliable, ever desirable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Carole and I dined here last night and commend this restaurant to our readers.

We chose one of our old favourites from the menu, the Calamari Duet. Their calamari is, without doubt, the most tender calamari that either of us have ever eaten. It is superb.

We prefaced our main course with their Saganaki and Olives as entrees, both of which too, were superb.

Whilst somewhat noisy when busy, the wait staff are efficient, effective and delightful.

The beverages list is extensive and will serve the vast majority of tastes.

All in all, it has great ambience and really great food, whether pizza or something a little more luxurious such as their Calamari Duet.

It is always a pleasure to dine there and is a restaurant to which we will continue to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The taste is to die for ..it's famous for baclava ice cream and amazing dishes mouth watering ... Would highly recommend

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leopardskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Watch This Space - a special place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's got a strange name, great, yet subtle decor inside, (you can dine outside if you wish), good for breakfast, lunch and dinner and, in our opinion is one of the best and unsung restaurants we had been to in a long while.

We had been before and enjoyed that experience, but the experience of today was fabulous.

A good solid menu, with very good depth and plenty of flavours and textures.

A fully stocked bar and a good wine list accompanies the menu.

There are several excellent aspects to the restaurant, none the least of which is the service which is prompt, friendly and efficient. The other main aspect is the freshness of the food that is served. It is beautifully fresh and you always get the feeling that it is being especially prepared for you from ingredients brought in that morning.

If you're going to go, then try the Calamari Duo - I don't want to spoil experience, and should keep you guessing, but the Greek salad that accompanies one part of the dish was delicious, fresh and well dressed. The calamari was so tender, (no rubberiness here), it was a real pleasure to eat it!

The desert selection is excellent and is different from the norm which again adds to the experience of "Watch This Space".

All in all, it is well priced for the quality and definitely the best restaurant in Oakleigh within Eaton Square. In fact, in my opinion, it would be the best restaurant within a 10 km radius!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watch This Space also viewed

Oakleigh, Greater Melbourne
Oakleigh, Greater Melbourne
 
Oakleigh, Greater Melbourne
Oakleigh, Greater Melbourne
 
Oakleigh, Greater Melbourne
Oakleigh, Greater Melbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing