We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments, noisy street”
Review of Punthill Oakleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill Oakleigh
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice apartments, noisy street”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I had a one night stay, it's locality was the reason. Overall it was good, as an apartment there was no bottle opener, a large stain on the living room floor, noisy traffic on a busy road. In respect to all of that it was a nice comfortable stay. The chinese restaurant next door was excellent. My constant complaint is internet, they had a complex internet payment scheme, they should move with the times and provide it as part of the service, most other places do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
29
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed here recently for one on a business trip in a room (not apartment) because I needed to be close to Oakleigh and Chadstone.
Rooms are modern and clean, the balcony a bit on the small side but overall sufficient for one night.
Be aware that this hotel is on a very (and I mean very busy even at night) intersection and that although the rooms are double glazed, there is a constant hum of traffic. Make sure you ask for rooms facing the rear (carpark) when booking and away from the elevator for some peace and quiet.

There is a Chinese restaurant and a Nandos downstairs but if you want to get something different try one of the Greek restaurants in nearby Eaton Street in Oakleigh. Great atmosphere on this little strip, almost like a Greek plaza.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for rooms facing the rear (carpark) when booking and away from the elevator for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed 3 nights while visiting last year. They are compact but modern with a small kitchenette which is more than functional! Plenty of hanging space, big mirror & great bathroom. Staff are friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking. These lovely apartments are in a great position. There is a bus out front and this goes to the rail station. Main freeway to Melbourne city is 5 minutes away also. The biggest plus is Chadstone Mall one of Australia's largest. Whow..this is magnificent. Another plus was the Chinese restaurant next door. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting the south east of Melbourne!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themotherdingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Good location if you are wanting to go to Chadstone Shopping Centre. We were allowed to book in early after a phone call. Found the room to be clean (although bathroom could have smelt a bit fresher). The bed was clean and very, very comfortable. Did not notice too much noise and we were fronting onto Warrigal Road. All you would need for a few nights, microwave, fridge, very large bathroom, television, even a small outdoor setting on the balcony. We were on the first floor and enjoyed our stay and thought the price was quite reasonable. Had a Nandos and a Chinese restaurant if you were hungry and all in all, reasonable. Helpful staff (john) and gave us all the info we needed.

Room Tip: We didn't have an apartment, just a room but was more than adequate for two people if only stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Nothing to get excited about, but nothing to be dissapointed about either. Room was at rear so noise was no noticeable. Check in was prompt and easy. Chinese restuarant was very good food and reasonable price but the Nando's takes away from the whole place.

Room was clean and spacious but the air con was located in the main room only not in the bedroom, so you have to leave it on for hours to get the whole place at same temp.

Room Tip: Choose a room away form the main road. The restuarant is not affiliated with the hotel so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pizzaskase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

After a very bad experience we moved to Punt Hill. The Apartment was fantastic spacious and clean , beds were more than comfortable, we were able to relax and felt safe. The rooms were a great size and we didnt have any problems with noise of any sort. The managers were more than helpful and we couldnt thank them enough for all their help.

Room Tip: I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again everything you need for a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrandera
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed in room 203 on second floor. Firstly, John the manager was friendly, polite and helpful. Unit was very clean and smelt and felt clean and fresh. Had large fridge, cook top, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, TV in bedroom and lounge room, small balcony with table and chairs, large bath room and shower had good pressure with a large shower head. Bed was hard but had a foam topper which was great. Chinese restaurant and Pizza/chicken place down stairs, Subway and service station right accross the road one minute walk and KFC three minutes walk. My room was on the "road" side, so there was a lot of road noise all night so perhaps the car park side would be a lot better. I have stayed in three other Motels in same suburb but this is best by far, will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjrnarrandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakleigh
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.4 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
62 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
4.3 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chadstone Executive Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Oakleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Oakleigh

Property: Punthill Oakleigh
Address: Crnr Princess Hwy & Warrigal Rd, Oakleigh, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Oakleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Oakleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Oakleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Oakleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Oakleigh Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing