We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for transitting Melbourne Airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Handy for transitting Melbourne Airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

We arrived on an International flight at midnight and had to be back at the airport at 5am so the Formule1 was perfect. We wheeled our luggage to the motel and had expected to have to use the 'self-check-in' machine but the manager had stayed open as there were quite a few from our flight that were staying there. He even let us take the trolleys into the hotel. Rooms were Ok and as expected as we stay in F1 regularly. Tried to use the internet kiosk but as per other revues the mouse was stuffed ! Overall a great motel if you are transitting Tullamarine and it allowed us a few hours sleep!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozcookie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    342
    429
    177
    103
See reviews for
223
419
279
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Check-in clerk was kind of unfriendly, location of the hotel is very convenient, close to the airport and a big gas station and McDonalds.
Room was as any other Formula 1 hotel room, a bit cold at first but excellent heating system made an end to the chills.
Internet kiosk was crap since th mouse was busted.
99 AUD per night walk-in

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCHORAGE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Ok hotel to stay for an overnite and an early next day flight. You can walk there with a roller bag or two in just a few minutes on a path with good directions once you get outside of the terminal.
Just basic. Seemed clean. Was $99 so cheaper by far than any of the hotels nearby.
Beats taking a $32 round trip into Melbourne just to get a hotel there.
McDonalds right next to the hotel. Has a single bed above the regular queen bed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

On the plus side its a 5 minute walk from the airport so good for a place to crash...but the rooms and toilets feel like you are in prison!!!

I've stayed in many a backpackers for less money that are far superior to this place which takes the phrase "budget hotel" to the limit, but then, I guess those backpackers aren't right next to an airport.

Right next to a 24 hour McDonalds...if that is important to you...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tullamarine hotels

shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Everyone comes here for catching an early bird. It is 5 minutes walk to the airport and have a 24 hours McDonalds 2 minutes walk. The room is small but can provide at 3 or 4 persons sleep. It is also quiet enough for sound sleep. Compares to the nearest two famous hotels, it is a good budget airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Arrived this morning at 2.00am from Singapore. We had booked this motel because of it's proximity to the airport. We had hoped to get a few hours sleep and a shower before travelling to our hotel in St.Kilda.. We had prepaid for our room and was advised to use the after hours checkin machine. This would not allow us in without paying an additional 10$. When we finally got into the building you could instantly smell, almost taste, the horrible odour of stale cigarettes. The room was just like a prison cell. So basic and tiny. The only good thing was the clean sheets!! There was an A/C unit but the noise it made was deafening. We did not get any sleep and did not fancy the W/C or shower.
My advice if arriving at Melbourne in the early hours. Stay in the terminal, it is far more pleasant than this Motel!!

  • Liked — Nothig
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fulstoneflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

We had just returned from a flight from Singapore and arrived in at 2 AM. Our flight out to Adelaide was not until 9 AM so we just wanted a no frills place to sleep for the night.

While we had low expectations for a place costing $99, Formule 1 managed to lower the bar. On the good side - location. But as for everthing else! While relatively clean, there was a terrible smell in the room. The toilet was horrible, I would have preferred to be back on the plane. The room was freezing, but if you turned on the air con, you need to wear ear plugs.

So in summary, great concept - cheap accommodation at the aiport - but one that fails to deliver.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everthng else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tullamarine hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
1.3 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
1.9 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport
Address: Caldwell Drive | Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing