We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but not budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Small room with basic amenities, image a shower like you would find on a train! Small cell like window! Couldn't even make a cup of tea in your room. It wasn't a budget price. So what advantage is there for staying here, well if you have an early departure or very late arrival and you just want a bed, then maybe this might work. For us, even for an early start we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

If you plan to spend a night at Melbourne airport, the Ibis Budget is a reasonable option. However, you get what you pay for! This hotel is the definition of "budget".
The guy at reception was efficient, if not exactly welcoming. Our room was small, sparsely furnished, but clean enough. The queen size bed was comfortable and the sheets certainly clean. The modular style toilet and shower room was definitely compact, but clean. We did not encounter any of the mould and hairs mentioned in previous reviews. Only soap is provided, so bring your own shampoo and conditioner.
As long as you are not too discerning, this place is ok for the money!
Our major complaint was the noise level. There is some traffic noise from outside, but it is not too bad. However, we were disturbed several times by the loud talking and laughter of guests arriving and departing. This continued long past our bedtime, and was annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you can put up with the smell of cigars, the total lack of any services and matchbox rooms, this is the place for you. Oh if you have an early flight, I.e before 8.00 am don't order breakfast it doesn't appear before 7.00 am.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGB074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What is the saying "you get what you pay for".
It is a hell of a lot cheaper than the holiday inn or the park royal if your plan is to stay overnight in readiness for an early flight the next morning.
I could whinge about the lack of a lift - carrying suitcases up two flights of stairs.
I could whinge about the cube-like room and the closet-like bathroom.
However, the purpose was to avoid being stuck in Canberra on a foggy morning and missing the international connection.
The Ibis was $140 for the night while the other two are about $260.
I actually had a good sleep and had my daily gym session by lugging suitcases up and down the stairs.
Overall impression - basic and functional

Room Tip: ask the hotel beforehand how to walk from the terminal to the hotel - i took a circuitous route thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reichers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight with my husband before flying on to New Zealand. It's basic, yes, but it's generally clean (couple of finger print marks on the underside of the bunk bed that were noticeable when I went to lie down, but otherwise not too bad). We found the place ok, after being pointed out in the general direction from someone walking past and realising we were looking a little lost.

We didn't have to use the check in machine when we turned up late after our flight, as there was a staff member who offered to check us in. Ibis Budget is great for staying in between flights, and I'd stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorRose80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

its advertised as 400 meteres from international terminal about double that distance, down a dark walkway, called a cab still waiting? no coffee or tea in rooms, no phone for wake up call, no lift ,overall wont stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank wal802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were en-route to New Zealand from Adelaide. whilst the hotel itself was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly, there was insufficient signage from the Airport to the hotel itself. As there is no shuttle service, we had to manage suitcases and bags in the dark across Main Roads with no indication of how to get to the actual hotel. In the end we had to ask the people in the service station how to get there. Perhaps this information could be included in the booking confirmation including telling the traveller to use an airport trolley to complete their journey from the terminal as lugging baggage over a kilometre and round in circles is no fun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dragon0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tullamarine hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
1.3 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
2.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
858 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport

Address: Caldwell Drive | Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range: $111 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing