We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient budget hotel at Melbourne airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Convenient budget hotel at Melbourne airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location being a three minute walk from departures and arrivals at Tullamarine airport in Melboune. It also has free parking. The rooms were however small and pokey with the bathroom in particular being very plasticy, although the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwell which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    350
    433
    177
    104
See reviews for
223
427
280
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good: Easy check-in. Friendly counter staff. Comfortable room.
Bad: Insufficient room amenities such as shampoo, and face/hand towels.
Check-out via key drop. However still have not received any email acknowledgement of check-out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived at 10pm so opted to stay here given it is a short walk from the airport and was well priced. I would describe this place as more of a back packers than a hotel. The bed was really noisey with any movement, the light took an hour to cool down after we turned it off and made a very annoying ticking sound. The bathroom was compact beyond belief. Would not stay here again. On our way out of Melbourne we stayed at a cheaper hotel with free shuttle to the airport but much better accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tullamarine hotels

Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel. Both the room and shower/toilet area made me feel I was spending the night in a prison cell. The bed was comfortable enough but our head was under the single bed above. The shower/toilet had no fan andwater splashed all over the toilet area which was quite dangerous as the floor became very slippery. No shower mat was provided. There was a large step into the shower/toilet area. I have stayed in hotels all round the world and never before have I ever seen a hotel room quite like this. It is my first and last time in a budget hotel. It certainly does not have a budget price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 61Rosieposie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tullamarine hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
1.3 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
1.9 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport
Address: Caldwell Drive | Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing