We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in here recently with a late check in after a long international flight. Booked through a 3rd party web site for 2 adults and 1 child a room with a king bed. Our expectation being that there would be a pull out sofa provided in the room as per every other hotel we had ever stayed in. That was not the case as the guest service attendant indicated that there was an additional charge for a bed for our son. This meant that we had to either pay +$70 on top of the $250 that we had already paid for 1 nights accommodation or all sleep in the same bed. After reminding the GSA that we had already paid for to accommodate all 3 of us, he moved us into a room with 2 queens.
We then asked about breakfast and were told that it was $35 per person, which is outrageous.

The room was generally shabby with scuff marks all over the walls and all 6 pillows in the room
were hard. Overall you are paying for the convenience but there is no value for money. No free wifi in the rooms.

We had stayed here when it was still Hilton managed a few years ago which was a significantly better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear B K,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to read you appreciated our convenient location. I was however disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies; I can assure you that your experience is not of our usual standard. Rest assured I have noted your comments and will follow up with our team.
Thank you so much for proving your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,885 - 1,891 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Your choice of location is superb,it has POSITION,POSITION,POSITION.The choice of location is expensive and must be shared by guests using it for the convenience to the Airport for arrivals and departures.
Staff, facilities and service could not be faulted. They are the Q Q Q.( Quality, Quality, Quality )
My wife and I stayed overnight at the end of our holiday on our way home and we both thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
Will definitely stay there again, in life you can only expect the quality that you pay for we definitely had value for money.

Room Tip: South side is quiet with a wonderful view of the Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie_m_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear millie_m_co,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay.
I was pleased to read you and your wife enjoyed your stay with our superb location, quality hotel facilities and the service our staff provided.
I will certainly pass your positive comments onto the team.
We trust you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I did a one night stay here due to an overnight international flight connection.
It is convenient, but I would spend my money on a taxi to a city hotel next time. It is expensive and you don't even get free wifi unless you join their traveler program. The room was warm and the A/C was not running (winter time)

It does have lots of amenities and a big bar/restaurant which might be fin on a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-owen-srb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Dave-owen-srb,
Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers.
I was pleased to read that you appreciated our convenient location and hotel facilities. I was however disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies; I can assure you that your experience is not of our usual standard. Rest assured I have noted your comments and will follow up with our Engineering Department.
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we hope to be provided with another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The facts:
We were on the 6th (lowest accommodation) floor outside the elevator.

The noise from the corridor and other rooms above and around was surprisingly loud for such a modern hotel. I think the people above were running an illegal bowling-alley!! ;-) Surprisingly the nois from the aircraft wasn't too bad.

If you're a light sleeper, caution.

The restaurant was great and coffee superb (depends on the barista of course). I highly recommend the breakfast (they have a Breakfast deal if you book at the website).

If interested I have a few general tips below, resulting from a series of unfortunate events.

We arrived early and were offered a room. That was a very good start. Unfortunately the booking was for a King Room and while we're close we'd prefer a Twin / Double. Later that morning we were offered a Twin room. Nice room.
Next day we discovered 1) the Hotel had us leaving a day early and the "smart" fridge had registered that we'd used the mini-bar.
The issue with the departure date was traced back to a typographic error at the hotels reservation centre. The mini-bar usage I was told will be fixed before we leave today.

2 take-aways from this for me:
Always on check-in, verify when they think you're leaving and
Never trust a "smart" appliance.
Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Stayon the top floor and request not to be near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dream-It-Do-It-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear GolfNutCanberra,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed breakfast and superb coffee from our restaurant. I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our Food & Beverage team.
I am obviously disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies and rest assured that I will be following up on your comments.
Thank you so much for proving your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I do not have anything in particular to say about Park Royal Melbourne hotel except that it was an ok experience. The staff were not particular warm or attentive but i make no issue about it. In any case, they were particularly busy the first night when several flights were cancelled.

The rooms are new and good. I wish they had better insulated the rooms from the jet noise but i will not say it is significant enough to affect your sleep.

If i had more time, I would move to the city as there isn't much to do here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecSoviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear ecsoviet1984,
Thank you for choosing stay with us and taking the time to post your review.
I was disappointed to read that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies; I can assure you that your experience is not of our usual standard. Rest assured I have noted your comments and will follow up with our Engineering Department.
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we hope to be provided with another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Unlike most we stayed 2 nights here rather than the city as we arrived 11.30pm and flight 2days later was early morning.
Was given an option of an upgrade for second night in a corner room facing runway which had separate lounge and spa. Excellent with only occasional jet noise although we were out most of the day. First night facing back to the city was quieter

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aussiekiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Tigers4me,
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay.
I was glad to read you’ve been well looked after by our team during your stay.
The team and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've stayed here twice over the last few months and it really is great. Location is obviously handy when you're flying but the hotel has some nice extra features that add to the comfort - eg I joined the club and got given free internet (always a bonus) plus free water. The bed is excellent - and I think that is the first requirement of a hotel so lots of points there, the shower is also great (the second must have!). The restaurant is pretty good so all round I recommend the ParkRoyal.

Room Tip: I like the runway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Marion D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great comments on Tripadvisor.
As a return guest, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay including our convenient location and hotel facilities.
Once again, thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamarine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
2.1 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
2.0 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Address: Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range: $167 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport Hotel. Feel connected at a hotel linked directly to the Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport offers an unrivaled connection to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. Rest before a flight or refresh yourself before heading home at our hotel, conveniently located adjacent to the airport with 276 spacious guest rooms. Enjoy city skyline and runway views then walk directly to the terminal via skybridge from the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport Hotel. Our friendly PARKROYAL people are on hand to help you discover the area’s best kept secrets. You’re just minutes away from Melbourne’s top sights and attractions. Explore the local neighbourhood or take a 10 minute drive to discover the popular Sunbury Wine Region. Or venture a little further to experience the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city centre, a haven of secret cafes, fashion finds and lush parklands just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing