We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, friendly, tasty and great atmosphere!”
Review of Maharajas Wok - CLOSED

Maharajas Wok
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome, friendly, tasty and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I went into Red Cherry with my family to try something new away from the typical restaurants in the area and was very surprised with the renovations and menu change. Red Cherry has a big variety of food ranging from Italian to Indian, Asian and Mexican not to mention the pricing is excellent. We were greeted and sat instantly, the owner was present who came over to the table an spoke to us making us feel welcome as well as the staff, we had a great meal, and would definitely be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlaa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Cherry Bistro”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Red Cherry Bistro has done an excellent job of re-structuring place and menu.

It may not impress the indians as the menu has been changed to suite everyone's taste.

new international cuisine has more variety. Overall we have enjoyed the food! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Red Cherry has gone off!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We used to love going to Maharajas Wok, recently went as it had re opened as Red Cherry Bistro.

It is awful, stay away! When I order a Vindaloo I don't want chips and salad with it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anvil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Indian food (vegetarian) was very good...but like in all of Melbourne, the salt was lower than how you would prepare it in India....but Indian food on foreign soil was so good...I can't complain.

Try their paneer and pulao for sure....plus their chaas (buttermilk)...mango drink if you visit during the season...they are all very good for an Indian experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aonecentlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok food, bad service! Big NO!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went there from city as we wanted have bit of a drive and eat good Indian food. We were the only ones in the resturant.
Waiter came in took the order and I specifically asked if I could order more rotis and he told me that he would let me know before the kitchen closes and come and take last order. He never came back. I went to the counter and spoke to the guy who seemed to be the owner. He were rudely put me off saying the kitchen is closed and he can't do anything. On my saying that I should ve been asked about my last order, he was extremely rude even to my wife. He totally just ruined our evening!! Never would go back or suggest this place to anyone.. Big NO!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajas Wok also viewed

Tullamarine, Greater Melbourne
Tullamarine, Greater Melbourne
 
Tullamarine, Greater Melbourne
Tullamarine, Greater Melbourne
 
Tullamarine, Greater Melbourne
Tullamarine, Greater Melbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing