We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for an Overnight Before an Early Flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Mantra is an excellent choice for travelers because of its proximity to the airport. The hotel offers free shuttles starting from 4 a.m., so no problem for early flights. It takes about 5 minutes to reach the airport from the hotel. Our room was spacious, the bed beyond comfortable (it was hard to get up in the morning), it was equipped with a mini fridge and TV. Wi-fi came at a cost. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on it. Everything was sparkling clean, the bathroom showers had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. This is a great hotel for early morning flights from the airport. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We got stick overnight in Melbourne due to a cancelled flight and Qantas allocated us a bed at the Mantra. Unfortunately, due to no fault of the Mantra, we ended up (2 adults and 14yo daughter) sharing a King size bed.
The room was nice, the view of the level 2 car park area disappointing but the shower was ooooh sooo nice.
Honestly, the Mantra is a bed & a room. It is not close to the airport and does not have a very efficient or pleasant shuttle service but it is a bed.
For us, sharing a bed, we woke at 4.30am and decided to clean up and head to the airport for breakfast and flight home.
Personally I would rather choose a walking distance Motel if it is an overnight stay Even the Ibis Budget Motel which is basic & cheap. You would get an extra hours sleep by skipping the poor shuttle service.

Room Tip: Personally I would rather choose a walking distance Motel if it is an overnight stay Even the Ibis B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just a few minutes from Melbourne Airport the Mantra Tullamarine provides a great option for families and business travelers alike.

Booked in for a short overnight stay the hotel provided everything I required. Room was small but modern and well furnished. The bathroom, whilst compact, was clean and provided bath and walk-in shower and plenty of amenities.

Given the proximity to the airport the hotel was amazingly quiet.

Will look forward to a return visit in due course.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank drv_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This accommodation was advertised on local television.... thought it would suit our requirements when travelling .. we live in regional Victoria.... its stay and fly package was excellent... we stayed an additional night upon return from our holiday. Great rooms. Nice and dark for sleeping any time of the day. Excellent restaurant and bar. Great room service breakfast... excellent airport shuttle service and parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl1954_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Mantra for a night before and after our trip to NZ and were given the same disabled access room (213) each time. While spacious and comfy it had an unexciting view into the muti-story parking garage right outside the window. Staff permitted us to leave our car in the 15-minute parking area overnight saving us from the inconvenience and expense of using the garage.

Our biggest disappointment was that a fault in the room which we had reported to reception on our first visit still had not been fixed when we returned three weeks later. The lugs on the toilet seat which are intended to hold it securely in place were misaligned and caused an alarming lurch to the side whenever you sat down. This could be quite dangerous for someone with limited mobility and it really is not satisfactory for a quality hotel to fail to fix such problems promptly.

We didn't use the hotels dining or leisure facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful, we left one of our bags in the hotel luggage store between our visits.

In room internet access is not free but reception staff will provide a free 1-hour access code for use at the hotel computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our expectations were not high when we arrived as the hotel is not sited in an attractive location, however our reservations were short lived when we saw our room which was perfect for an overnight stopover. The furnishings are excellent and the room well equipped, the restaurant was fine, nothing too fancy but perfectly adequate. The shuttle to and from the airport was free and the hotel arranged for us to be picked up from the airport when I dropped off my rental car the night before our flight .All in all a good experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Paid in full with Frequent Flyer points prior to arrival, and provided a credit card impression for them to cover any incidentals. Standard procedure and no problem with that. However, they proceeded to charge my card $100, and then on checkout, despite no additional charges being incurred, they declined to credit the amount for at least 5 business days. A nice little earner for them I would imagine. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob E, General Manager at Mantra Tullamarine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear 'Chris S'

Thankyou for your recent review regarding Mantra Tullamarine Hotel

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay with us in February. I can personally assure you that Mantra Tullamarine will never 'rip-off' or commit 'corporate theft' or any theft for that matter.

As you have indicated, hotels around the world will take a credit card upon check-in to cover a wide range of incidential charges - depending on how the guest usually settles their account. Funds are held by the bank on behalf of the hotel, in this case $100, which is standard for this hotel. Upon check-out, the hotel informs that bank of the release of these funds, which can take a period of days to release (by your bank). I can assure you that the hotel did not charge your credit card.

I am more than happy to discuss this with you in person. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Once again, thankyou for your feedback

Best Regards

Rob Everett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamarine
1.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
2.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
1.6 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Tullamarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Tullamarine Hotel

Address: 2 Trade Park Dr | Tullamarine Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3043, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range: $109 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Tullamarine Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel offers executive studios, deluxe spa studios, four Melrose suites and a Presidential suite. Many rooms interconnect, providing an ideal base for large or extended family groups and travellers. Mantra Tullamarine Hotel also offers 19 fully-equipped rooms designed to meet the needs of hearing, sight or physically impaired guests. Dine in the onsite Woodland's Restaurant Bar and Lounge, breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 nights per week. Mantra Tullamarine Hotel comprises of six spacious meeting rooms, two large inter-joining event rooms and pre function lounge areas, with 24 hour reception and room service, concierge, professional business centre, same day laundry and dry cleaning service, lap-pool, sauna and gym and an airport shuttle bus service during flight times. For the comfort of all guests Mantra Tullamarine Hotel is a complete non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Tullamarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel Tullamarine
Mantra Hotel Tullamarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing