We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Auithentic Thai food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aroy-D Thai

Aroy-D Thai
Ranked #44 of 124 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Auithentic Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back from Thailand and, loving the food, searched for a local.
Came up with this restaurant and decided to give it a try. Telephone call went through to message service but they rang back and sounded friendly. Drove past then address and didn't look good - tatty venetian blinds hung down but made a booking anyhow.
Arrived on a Thursday night and were very pleasantly surprised by the decor and we received a warm welcome.
Not many there at 6:45 pm but that soon changed along with a constant stream of task-away clients - the joint was humming.
All very well but how is the food?
Delicious! 2 shared entries, 1 soup and 2 mains with rice and nothing could be faulted - in fact the Panang Curry was voted better than anything we had in Thailand! All that, plus a Beer Chang, came to just $76 which we happily paid. Took along our own wine but short well priced wine list should satisfy.
Staff apologies for wait as kitchen was well and truly hit (didn't expect it on the night before ANZAC day, but it didn't matter - we felt very comfortable and certainly well fed. Lovely people, great spot. We will return/.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 255100Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our favourite Thai place.
Great food, they put the prices up a while back, but still great value.
we will continue to eat here regularly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is our most local Thai, and it has never disappointed. I have gone as family, and also as a group. The banquets on offer are great and always fill you, but we also try some of the other dishes on the menu. BYO or licenced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Reasonable Thai food in a local shopping centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We like to eat locally when at home so this small restaurant fits the bill. Plenty of free parking at the back if none available in front. This place is usually quite busy and can be a little noisy so we opt to sit tucked away from the crowd, next to the serving bar. It also has a very busy takeaway service. Food is standard suburban Thai, fresh and tasty and relatively inexpensive. Also has a BYO licence.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely little local Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

It's a lovely little local restaurant. The dishes have always been of a good standard.

The service is generally good, and have never had a bad meal.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroy-D Thai also viewed

Ringwood, Maroondah
Ringwood, Maroondah
 
Ringwood, Maroondah
Ringwood, Maroondah
 

Been to Aroy-D Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing