We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth driving down from Sydney for a Romantic Long Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Montrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth driving down from Sydney for a Romantic Long Weekend”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A surprise Christmas present from my husband which he booked after hearing Deborah speak on a radio travel show. I initially had misgivings as we were driving down from Sydney.

We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted with a cool drink in the Guest Dining/Lounge area overlooking the beautiful gardens and bush. It was a lovely way to relax after our drive.
Our room was beautiful in it Japanese simplicity, with the mats, screens and the wonderful deep Japanese spa with floor to ceiling windows in the bathroom, I knew we were going to be spoilt.

The day was completed with a Couples Hot Stone Massage which helped relieved our tired and stressed out bodies, followed by an amazing Japanese Dinner which was perfect and then best of all an hour of private time in the hot mineral springs spa. We literally floated back to our room. The following day we had a wonderful two course breakfast (no lunch needed after that), a day exploring the beautiful gardens of the resort(including checking out the Balinese Retreat), visiting local sights and the back to the resort for another amazing dinner - This time Thai. We finished the evening with another hour of private time in the mineral springs spa.

All I can say is that it was well worth the trip from Sydney, the staff and service were friendly, welcoming, discreet and went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely stay. The Room, facilities & surrounding gardens were of high quality and well maintained.

We look forward to coming back again to try out the Balinese Mountain Retreat and the new
Moroccan Spa facilities when they open.

Marisa & Ross Quattrocchi

Room Tip: If you really want to be spoilt or if a special occasion look at booking the Balinese Mountain Retre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2015
Dear Marissa,

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and for driving all the way from Sydney to stay at the resort!

Thank you for your comments regarding the authentic Japanese room and the other facilities we offer.

We hope you will return to us one day to see our new Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse.

Kind regards,

Deborah, Mark and all of the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    22
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
4
105
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try the Japanese retreat, after loving our stay a year earlier at the Balinese retreat. The room is beautiful with tatami mats, kitchen area looking out onto gardens, and a large and impressive bathroom. The Japanese dinner was yummy, and our massages relaxing. I would certainly return for another relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taziara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hello Deborah and team (we hope this reaches you),

This is Daleney and Syed, who visited the retreat last weekend. We've been meaning to rush home to write a review on here so everyone can understand just how truly unique and amazing the Japanese Mountain Retreat is. We've been to many day spas, hot springs, and dining venues and we can confidently say that this haven that's been created outshines any in Victoria. Anyone looking for that uninterrupted and exclusive experience with your loved one needs to stop contemplating, and just book it in! The private outdoor mineral spa had that WOW factor the moment we stepped in and the alfresco seating gave it that extra touch. We also loved the stylishly-designed Oriental Lounge overlooking the greenery. The massages offered in the private couples villa overlooking the water and gardens was one of the most blissful experiences. The friendly and professional masseuses ensured every muscle ache we had was gone by the end of our session.
Thank-you to you and your team for providing such a welcoming service to us both, it was nice to be attended to and then left to our own privacy to really enjoy. The only thing that seemed to be missing were a pair of pelicans walking across the lawn! You and your team were very good at keeping Syed's secret proposal under wraps! Thank-you for making it the most memorable experience for us. We will surely be back when the Turkish Hammam is ready next year.

Best Regards,
Daleney & Syed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Daleney and Saed,

Thank you very much for your generous comments regarding the resort.
We are so glad that you enjoyed so many elements of your stay. Look forward to seeing you in the new Moroccan Spa opening next year..

Warm regards,

Deborah and team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I took my wife here for her 50th birthday night on the twilight package. Sure it was not the cheapest suprise I have given her but was well worth it. Picture yourself lying side by side in a beautifully appointed massage hut, rain pattering on the roof, frogs croaking in the pond outside, a kookaburra cackling in the distance and brilliant masseuse. Then it was off to dinner in the Oriental lounge followed by a nice, long, private soak in the brilliantly landscaped hot pool. Magnificent. If you can afford it, take the plunge and spoil yourself. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Wayne,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your hot mineral spring/massage and dinner package.

We hope you will enjoy the new Moroccan Spa next year just as much!

Warm regards,

Deborah, Mark and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynbrook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff here are an amazing team and provide quality service with a smile. Everything here was amazing; the meals were more than what we were expecting, treatments were fantastic, the rooms were unreal giving us an authentic Japanese experience and the gardens were absolutely breathtaking. The amount of hard work and detail that has gone into the retreat should be acknowledged and praised. We both want to thank you for letting us experience your wonderful retreat and allowing us to embrace your creation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it is rewarding to find others who appreciate beauty and endeavour!!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Deborah, Mark and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The space is thoughtfully designed, and beautifully finished, the bathroom was especially appreciated and the spa was really great for a soak looking out onto the Japanese garden. Futon was comfy, and the room was spacious. The dinner was nice but not amazing, and not quite filling. Kitchenette was serviceable for basics only (tea, toast). We only stayed one night but I think that was enough - whilst private I did not feel comfortable to relax outside, and the indoor lounge/kitchenette space felt cramped, so I suspect cabin fever would set in for me with a longer stay. I cannot comment on the price as we were gifted the stay as a wedding present. Overall an enjoyable experience, especially if wanting one night off, proximity to Melbourne is great; I suspect for the price point that I have stayed at and enjoyed far more lush experiences. This is to be enjoyed as accommodation rather than an 'experience'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wylocsjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We now serve a full two course a la carte breakfast to all staying guests in the Oriental Lounge.

Regards,

Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband booked so for my birthday this weekend and the first was at this gorgeous place, it was so tranquil and bueatiful. The rooms so well set up, very clean, and the futon bed ( first time I slept in one) was so comfortable. The massage was great and very relaxing. The manager was so on the ball with everything we needed, everything was explained to when and how things were organised. The yum cha fresh and delicious. Loved the private hot spring spa such a great experience. We were the last to use it and the manager said we could take our time. We were going to use the public spring and the manager immediately took us there with no hesitation, shame the weather was a bit chilly so we decided not to use it. Overall the place and atmosphere is excellent, yes a bit pricey, but so worth it!!! See you next year and can't wait to visit your new bar. And I just found out about the Bali retreat, will certainly book that on our next visit. Thanks so much for a wonderful birthday experience . Have to mention the breakfast provisions are delicious. The bacon was so tasty, would love to know where you guys buy it from.

Room Tip: We had the lake view room, wonderful!!! And our verandah guests who invite themselves for dinner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanderra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah Q, Owner at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello,

We are happy you enjoyed the Yum Cha Lunch and hot mineral springs during your stay with us and were able to relax.


If you come again we now offer a fully cooked two course a la carte breakfast in all of our packages.

Warm regards,

Deborah, Mark and all of our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,296 reviews
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
113 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambridge Cottages
#5 of 13 in Olinda
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Property: Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
Address: 14 Mountain Cres, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Montrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the world of ancient Japan 45 minutes from Melbourne. Secluded and indulgent. Five course Chef's tasting menu served in the Oriental lounge. New luxury Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse with mineral pool bathing. Sink into your private Japanese style spa overlooking your own private Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japanese Mountain Retreat Hotel Montrose
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa Montrose, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing