We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it”

Bucatini Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Mitcham
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great food, good service, friendly staff, tasty food, great atmosphere!
A gem in Mitcham, great for a special night out!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aufidia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Dined here on a rather cold Monday afternoon with a business colleague as many other places are closed on a Monday.
There was only five tables occupied so the service was excellent, tables set with white tablecloths, sparkling glasses and good quality cutlery.
The wine list had a reasonable, albeit small range of wines and we chose a Granit Hill Merlot at $42, excellent wine.
My colleagues and I both had oysters natural as an entree and they were beautiful fresh and well shucked. For a main I chose a scotch fillet and he a fillet and both were well cooked and presented. however a couple of side dishes would have complimented them.
We finished with a cheese platter, very good and would recommend the restaurant to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
822 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We rediscovered Bucatini earlier this year and were impressed with the quality of food and service. Went back last night with friends and if possible... it's bettered itself!
And it seems we are not the only people with this opinion, based on the fact that we managed to snaffle the last available table in this rather spacious place.
The décor is pleasantly modern, but it's the warm welcome and the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff that really stands out. The menu is fairly broad and if our experience is typical, it's all prepared perfectly and beautifully presented - no complaints whatsoever from our group in this regard.
It's hardly a cheap night out (and at $7 a bottle the corkage is a bit high) but all things considered, this is one of the few really good restaurants in the eastern suburbs and they deliver a great dining experience at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best lamb shanks ever!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When a restaurant is full on a Tuesday night, you know something good must be happening there. As soon as you walk into this restaurant you feel welcome. The staff is fantastic, looks after you in every detail and genuinely cares to make it a great night out.
I loved the tasty mussels in a white wine sauce as an entree and was honestly taken away by the best lamb shanks I ever had until now. Succulent and flavoursome lamb shanks on a little bed of creamy mash. I felt too satisfied so decided to leave the home made Tiramisu for the next time we will go there. And that hopefully will be very soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GertDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Dined with another couple, quite busy for mid week , the food, service and atmosphere was exceptional, a pleasant evening out, thoroughly recommend it to all. Congratulations to owners and staff, we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucatini Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Mitcham, Whitehorse
 
Blackburn, Whitehorse
Vermont, Whitehorse
 

Been to Bucatini Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing