We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best things about the hotel are the food and staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitcham
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best things about the hotel are the food and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff are very nice, the food fantastic, the bed was comfy, and that's about it for the positive reviews.
The room had a water leak, while they did offer to move me after my second complaint of water coming through the ceiling, I didn't bother as I only had 1 more night to stay.
When I next work in Melbourne, i'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
13
22
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I will keep this short. You will get the idea.
Check in-no receptionist. Ring the bell and once the very overworked (but pleasant) staff have served meals in the restaurant, they might find time to check you in. Sign on front counter tells you staff have other duties besides to check you in.
Room-Torn curtains, MOULDY BATHROOM CEILING, rusty broken fixtures in shower, can hear people in the bathroom in the next room, terrible water pressure or no hot water at all. Hair in bathroom not mine. Hair (not mine) in bed, toenail clippings (not mine) on the floor next to the bed. Bed was comfy, but pillows were flat as a tack. Airconditioning average.
Hotel-Plastic plants in foyer filthy with dust, stale cooking oil smell overpowers all the public areas where the damp smell does not. Terrible access to rooms from carpark and internally (no lift)
If I had a choice, I would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mitcham hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was prepared to ignore the terrible smell of cigarette smoke in the non-smoking room, the paint smell from the renovations, the pair of someone else's underwear I found in my bathroom when checking in, and the not-so-great price we were given as part of our large group booking, but the attitude of the duty manager to our group really sealed the poor impression for me.
Our recent trip to Melbourne for a basketball carnival with not only my son's team but others from our club was not quite as pleasant as promised - our group stays every year at the Manor, booking many of the rooms, holding at least one major dinner and eating breakfast every morning. Every year they have guaranteed bookings across the June long weekend. You'd expect that we might get a little special treatment and great prices, wouldn't you?
In past years we've had the use of a conference room as well, including for a team farewell on the final night. This year we were booted just prior to the farewell by the duty manager, who suggested that the room should have been locked, and that it had to be vacated so that the night team could come in to prepare the room for meetings during the week. A night team? On the Sunday night before a public holiday Monday? She also informed us she knew we'd done this every year - so we're not quite sure why, suddenly, just before our food was arriving, we weren't allowed to use the room.
Now most of us are reasonable people, and we accept that bringing in food and drinks from outside is a big ask, but since we'd done it every year before, we thought that it was okay. If it wasn't, then perhaps they could have told us when we checked in? After spending the kind of money we do there every year, we were very disappointed with the way this was handled, and the way we were spoken to. The short sighted, and frankly pretty rude way this duty manager dealt with us has probably resulted in the loss of repeat business, which, for a fairly low quality hotel on the outskirts of Melbourne, I would think is a big deal. Not only that, but the message will no doubt be spread throughout the junior basketball community, so other teams wont be rushing to take up the opportunity to book there.
I understand from longer term club members that they usually have a fairly good experience at the Manor, with the general manager being very helpful - not special, but a good location, and they have given us some special treatment. Such a shame that it was ruined this time by this sort of unpleasantness.

Room Tip: Hopefully the newly renovated rooms will be better and less smoky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Enough said.

Now I need to add a fee words to make the two hundred character minimum.

Looking around I notice a shower cap covering the smoke alarm. Clever. Those things can be really irritating if the place catches on fire.

I had an interesting shower earlier. The water automatically fluctuated between scalding hot and freezing cold.

If I wasn't in a bad mood from the dirty toilet I would have to say I have happily stayed in worse places. It's not all bad but they could certainly try harder.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6hhgffghggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for over a week during the summer (January) and it was a very pleasant, comfortable stay. The rooms are significantly more spacious than other hotels for the same price (although I believe prices have gone up since I stayed there). The location was good for private and public transport, with bus stops and a train station very close by. (It is not close to the city/CBD - I guess it would be about an hour away by train - but that was fine for me because I didn't need to travel to the city much). Short walk to good shops too. Overall, it was clean and did not lack any of the usual facilities, but for some reason housekeeping did not change the tea/coffee mugs except on request. That was surprising to me because there was no in-room facility to wash dishes and I thought it would be normal to replace used mugs with fresh mugs. Anyway the rooms are set out on the sides of a rectangle/square with Natalie's restaurant in the middle, with a very nice look and feel (lovely use of colours) and live music occasionally. The restaurant is lovely although vegetarian options were quite limited. The hotel also had free laundry facilities, which was great except there was only one washing machine and one dryer so I often had to wait a while for my turn. The internet service was reliable and undercover parking was good. I was happy to have stayed there and under similar circumstances I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari-A87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is okay. My room was clean and the bed quite comfortable. I had a room with a door to the next room. I guess it can be opened to allow a family more space. I do not like these rooms as noise from next door comes through very easily. My advice is that at check-in you ask for a room without a connecting door. The breakfast is good. The $20 charge is not too bad I guess. Parking underneath was complimentary. In summary this hotel is reasonable value for money. I have stayed there at least two times and will probably stay there again when I am in that part of Melbourne on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller060651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

When I checked into the room there was not towels in there. I requested one and it took at least an hour to come to my room. When I opened the cupboard to put my bags away there was bugs in there. The shower and bathroom were generally dirty. I would not reccommend this place, it was not any cheaper dispite being lower level accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitcham
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ringwood Lake
3.2 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ringwood Royale Apartments Hotel
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Manor

Property: Quality Hotel Manor
Address: 669 Maroondah Highway | (Whitehorse Road), Mitcham, Whitehorse, Victoria 3132, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Mitcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Manor offers boutique accommodation just 20 mins from Melbourne, a short drive from the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Valley. We provide a 24-hour Reception, 24-hour room service and complimentary undercover parking. We boast 34 spacious suites and 2 executive spa suites, with contemporary decor and a variety of added features. We have a fully licensed Restaurant open 7 nights a week, conference facilities, as well as a 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Manor Mitcham, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing