We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, out of the way, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitcham
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is on the highway and the rooms are large, but musty and old dated furniture that one would imagine should have been replaced many years ago.
My request were not met and the first room stunk and I complained and was moved.
There is nothing Quality about this place except its name, its noisy old, dated and very poor value for money.
The bed was minimal comfort and the chair looked like it had been picked up on the side of the road.
Poor service and poor quality rooms and the entire place was sub standard in my opinion, I was very surprised to have booked it from the Qantas site, but would never stay or recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: Far better cheaper properties around I would not stay here for any reason,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a joke, completely over priced, dirty, smelly, I certainly regret staying. Looks are deceiving, the first impression from the outside was good but it stopped there. The first room stunk like a smoking room at an airport, old furniture & appliances, holes in tiles where the original towel rail & toilet roll holder were. The second room didn't stink, had less furniture but everything was in the same condition. Then when it came time to go to bed there was a flashing green light under the TV which lit up the whole room, turn the TV back on & it would stop flashing, after about 10 minutes of pressing buttons it eventually stopped. Bar/Restaurant things certainly didn't improve here, the bar area had some seating of what were originally red velvet armchairs, the problem was that the arms were no longer red, they were black & sticky from sweat & oil. Then of course there were the paper table clothes in the restaurant, food was OK but that certainly didn't improve the experience. Do yourself a favor DON'T STAY HERE....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Misleading website booking meant disabled room, a phone call from the hotel fixed this - however on booking out wanted to fight over charging the correct room price for the room I stayed in. In the end, I let them keep it. I reckon they might need it cause business isn't going to improve. I stayed here 5 years ago and came away feeling very differently. Look for new management. Then maybe maitainance and service will improve. Tired!
Drawers not clean, bits of paper in them when I arrived. Tap washer need replacing, need tool to turn off taps enough to stop dripping, one downlight over basin blown, brown rusty water coming from cold water tap handle area, toilet seat misaligned. Some bathroom fittings have been up-graded, unfortunately the old screwholes etc are very noticeable.
The rooms face onto the restaurant area. Thursday, Friday night not too bad, but the very loud 'get up and go' music before 7 am on Saturday morning was bad!
I got up and went.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a Saturday, and it was comfortbale enough. The TV suffered from poor reception so we couldnt pick up all the channels but that was about the only bad point. There is a restaurant inside and all of the rooms face onto that which could be noisy but we didnt get back to the room until after 11 pm so it was quiet. Plenty of undercover parking on site. The bar is handy for a drink while waiting for others to get ready. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Well worth the 5 stars - we won a raffle and upgraded to the spa room for only $40 more - received chocolates and Champagne as well. The dinner was wonderful and also the breakfast was fantastic - had a midday checkout as well. The service from all the staff was excellent - the room was one of the largest that we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Have a spa room - I think there are 4 of them in the hotel - they are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed 2 nights, the hotel called the Quality Hotel Manor is a laugh, the name is so far from the standard of the hotel as the hotel is old, dated and extremely overpriced and very poor quality.

I was checked into 1 room and the TV was like it was found at the tip, and the room was dirty and smelly. I complained and was moved to another room & it was very basic, the bed was uncomfortable, the furniture was as if it was found left out on someones nature strip.

I would never go back to this place and was horrified to see it listed on Qantas hotels. If I was to rate it I would give it 1 out of 5
* rooms size 4 out of 5
* cleanliness 2 out of 5
* locations 1 out of 5
* facilities 1 out of 5
* value for money appalling I would not even give it a 1 out of 5 it was grossly overpriced
I would never stay there again even if I was offered it for free.
If anyone was to think this was a hotel worth visiting they must have very poor standards or live in an outback 50year old shackI stayed 2 nights, the hotel called the Quality Hotel Manor is a laugh, the name is so far from the standard of the hotel as the hotel is old, dated and extremely overpriced and very poor quality.

I was checked into 1 room and the TV was like it was found at the tip, and the room was dirty and smelly. I complained and was moved to another room & it was very basic, the bed was uncomfortable, the furniture was as if it was found left out on someones nature strip.

I would never go back to this place and was horrified to see it listed on Qantas hotels. If I was to rate it I would give it 1 out of 5
* rooms size 4 out of 5
* cleanliness 2 out of 5
* locations 1 out of 5
* facilities 1 out of 5
* value for money appalling I would not even give it a 1 out of 5 it was grossly overpriced
I would never stay there again even if I was offered it for free.
If anyone was to think this was a hotel worth visiting they must have very poor standards or live in an outback 50year old shack

Room Tip: Seriously the name of this place is a joke as it does not represent any quality and simply there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed two nights here to attend a course in the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for any other purpose. The hotel had no charm, the rooms were impersonal (with bathrooms not very well maintained), and the food average. I was placed in a room in the inner corner of the hotel, and had very poor wi-fi connection as a result (the wi-fi is not for free either). The court/eating area which dominates the hotel inside seems to be quite frequented by local people as a restaurant, even though I can't really understand why they wouldn't choose a normal restaurant instead. The service of the staff was good.

Room Tip: I can't remember which room number I had, but it was in the inner corner of the hotel, next to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitcham
1.6 mi away
Ringwood Lake Inn
Ringwood Lake Inn
#2 of 4 in Ringwood
60 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
114 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
3.6 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Manor

Address: 669 Maroondah Highway | (Whitehorse Road), Mitcham, Whitehorse, Victoria 3132, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Mitcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitcham
Price Range: $94 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Manor offers boutique accommodation just 20 mins from Melbourne, a short drive from the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Valley. We provide a 24-hour Reception, 24-hour room service and complimentary undercover parking. We boast 34 spacious suites and 2 executive spa suites, with contemporary decor and a variety of added features. We have a fully licensed Restaurant open 7 nights a week, conference facilities, as well as a 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Manor Mitcham, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing