We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Johanna Seaside Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Family and I (two kids aged 4 and nearly 2) spent 10 fabulous nights at Johanna Seaside Cottages. We throuroughly enjoyed the views and the fresh air. Joy, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful. We didn't need to bring anything for the kids as she was able to provide a cot, pushchair and highchair as required. Booking direct helped making the booking smoother.

We stayed in Rivernook. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed and the house was very comfortable. The beach and the farmhouse, with eggs, veggie patch and a warm pool, are about 10 mins walk from the house, therefore providing space and privacy. Heating, a roaring fire and electric blankets helped to keep us warm.

The kids loved being in the green environment and seeing the animals (including an echidna and a wallaby in the bushes around the house). Johanna beach is beautiful and the sea is powerful (definately not for swimming) and can be heard at night. The location is great to explore either the Great Ocean Road or Cape Otway.

Although we don't tend to stay in places again, we think that Johanna Seaside Cottages will change this and we hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Folksyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks and gratitude for the great review as well as the good tips to help people choosing a place to stay. Lovely to meet your family and happy you had a good experience at Johanna Seaside ,look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards and best wishes.

Joy and Staff at Johanna Seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Johanna Seaside Cottages is one of those hidden gems that you wish every success (Joy and her family heartily deserve it) but one that you want to hide from everyone else... it's that good!

This was our third trip to the location and we yet again fell in live with the place. it is perfect for families, for those with dogs and for those who want to get away from it all and spend time on a great rural property. All the cabins are fantastic and with Johanna Beach right next door and all the attractions of the Otways around you, you cannot lose.

Some tips and hints for you.

1) Johanna Beach is a Beach, not a town. There are no shops or restaurants. To visit those you need to drive to Lavers Hill or Apollo Bay. To me this is a huge advantage... but don't come here for the shopping. You will be able to stock up on chicken eggs (truly freshly laid!) and from the cottage garden (which you are free to harvest from), but make sure to bring milk, breads, etc.

2) The beach is magnificent but it can be very rough (it's got some great surf). There are no life savers and you need to watch out for huge unexpected waves. So keep an eye on the little ones.

3) Your dogs will love the place. All the cottages are fenced and dog friendly and so is Joy (the owner). Considering how much putting your dogs in a kennel can cost, the money you save on that can almost pay for your stay!

4) Seaspray and Eaglesnest are both fantastic cottages but they are not really in walking distance of the beach or farm (unless you like really long walks). Consider this when booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you, Lucky dog for the wonderful review and the informative tips will be very helpful to potential guests. I really appreciate the time and effort you have taken to write the review.
Sharing the history of family property with guests helps our guests understand how precious the land is to our family.
We will look forward to seeing you back at Johanna in the future.

Best wishes and kind regards
Joy & Staff at Johanna Seaside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just spend 3 nights at Glen View and was not disappointed. A great location and we had fantastic views. We used this as our base and drove further along to Apollo Bay and Lorne - we greatly appreciated coming back to the peace and serenity of Johanna Seaside Cottages!!!! Was close to the Otway Fly and Waterfall and loved coming back to relax in the swimming pool. I really appreciated the fact that we were welcomed to collect eggs and veg (the children loved the chickens) and also a range of DVD's. Although we were on a farm we had our own privacy and space which was awesome. I certainly want to come back.

Room Tip: Glen View has three bedrooms which suited us a two families - 2 double beds and one room with twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate your comments.
We planned the cottages so guests would have their own privacy and space .

Best wishes and look forward to seeing you back at Johanna

Kind regards
Joy & Staff at Johanna Seaside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Johanna Seaside Cotteges are perfectly positioned to give you breathtaking views of the ocean, and surrounding farmland properties. The location of the property is a wondeful starting point to many walking or driving adventures. My family and I enjoyed every moment spent at Johanna and the many palces we visited. The hospitality shown by Joy was so full of warmth and genuine care for us that we were truly humbled. Her welcome advice about what to do and how to do it and the constant flow of fresh eggs, fruit and vegetables were amazing. We were truly in the garden of Eden! We loved it! Very peaceful, restfull and theraputic. The fresh air was magnifiscent. Thank you so much Joy for running such a wonderful resort. Any one who stays will be blessed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review we are so happy to share our property with guests who appreciate the beauty of our part of the world.

Kind Regads
Joy and Staff at Johanna Seaside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent much time to find this peaceful place, but it worth that. We found that Johanna was in an excellent location to access parts of the Great Ocean Walk between Apollo Bay and the Twelve Apostles. There are 7 cottages in this property , that best suitable for our five families. There are farm, indoor heated pool, the chook shed (for fresh eggs) and the vege garden. Our kids enjoy picking fresh eggs and vegetables. At night, we saw the bright stars and beautiful galaxy , amazing experience for our kids living in the big city , getting little chance to see that. We also enjoy that peaceful valley and beautiful ocean view. We hope that we can have more days stay and enjoy it more.
Thanks Joy for making our trip to Australia such a wonderful and particular. We will recommend our friends to come and enjoy Johanna Seaside Cottages in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your valuable feed back. I am glad your family had such a good experience at Johanna Seaside. The stars over Johanna Seaside and the Southern Ocean are amazing.
I enjoyed meeting all your lovely family, it is a pleasure to share the property with people who appreciate the quiet country side. .Hope to see you back at Johanna in the future.

Best wishes from Joy & Staff at Johanna Seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Johanna in the first week of February, staying in both Glen Tara and Rivernook cottages.
The location is ideal with each of the cottages being well placed so as not to be overlooked at all whilst affording great views of the river valley and / or the sea. The accommodation and equipment supplied has been very well thought out too.
The sense of history around the area is highlighted in literature within the cottages and gives an indication of the effort and personality that has gone into creating an excellent and less run of the mill choice.
Joy knows pretty much everything you could ever want to know about the area and it is the personal involvement that makes this such a welcoming place to stay.
From picking veggies and collecting the freshest eggs I've ever eaten to spotting platypus and other wildlife there are many things to do here apart from the actual beach - which is stunning.
Staying here is perfect if you look for quality and real value, but also given the choice on the Great Ocean Road, here you get personality and friendliness which to me means so much, rather than just renting someones second home.
We would recommend staying here to anyone in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
The Johanna Seaside staff are delighted you loved our cottages and the property’s offerings. Thank you for taking the time to let future guests know about our little piece of heaven. It is a pleasure to share it with guests who appreciate our part of the world. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards Joy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay with our two dogs at the farm house at the end of last year. It was lovely to have a place that was so relaxed and secluded, and very convenient to bring our two big dogs to. The yard was great to have for them at the house (though there was a hole in the fence up near the chooks that we forgot to mention on our departure because it did not affect our stay too much) and it was lovely to have a place to bring them to run around where they could still sleep in front of a fire.

The owner was lovely and welcoming and though we were right near the main office we barely noticed there was a world beyond our little private 'farm'. A nice healthy walk with our dogs across the paddocks to the ocean was delightful (perhaps we are more used to 'walking' further than most because we do it all the time with our dogs, but it really didn't seem that far to us... this IS a working farm after all. Magnificent green (rainbows end) spot for a RURAL retreat for the family or for those with 'big furbabies'.... which was what we were looking for.

Room Tip: The farm house is perfect for those with dogs/families and who want a 'home away from home'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phemalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E, Owner at Johanna Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the great feed back. I am pleased you liked the property and hope to see you back at Johanna in the future.

Best wishes and kind regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johanna
2.1 mi away
The Boomerangs at Johanna
0.9 mi away
Johanna Bluegum Holiday Cabins
7.3 mi away
Southern Anchorage Retreat
Southern Anchorage Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wattle Hill
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Glenaire Cottages
Glenaire Cottages
#1 of 2 in Glenaire
69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Johanna River Farm and Cottages
15.2 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johanna Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johanna Seaside Cottages

Property: Johanna Seaside Cottages
Address: Red Johanna Road | Johanna Beach, Johanna, Victoria 3238, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Johanna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Johanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Johanna Seaside Cottages provides fantastic Great Ocean Road accommodation offering guests an experience that covers both the quaint attraction of rural living and seaside adventures. With 5 lovely beach cottages for you to choose from, this is one of the most popular romantic getaways Victoria has to offer, you've come to the right place. This pet friendly, Great Ocean Road accommodation is simply marvellous.At Johanna Seaside, we offer the complete package - a place filled with beauty that ensures your privacy along with the choice of all of benefits of modern technology right at your fingertips. Feel the warm sand on your toes as you walk on our beachfront, with the wind in your hair as you rush towards the welcoming blue waters. Our secluded beach cottages provide you with your own private piece of paradise. Discover this Great Ocean Road accommodation in an untouched location that ensures total seclusion, utter peace and complete tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Johanna Seaside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johanna Seaside Cottages Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing