We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking a worry”
Review of Quest Doncaster

Quest Doncaster
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Boga, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Parking a worry”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

For a start we had trouble finding the Quest at the rear of a large suburban hotel , we found the parking was in a large general carpark used by the hotel and other nearby businesses not on the property . The rooms are a fairly long walk depending on which room you are given from the carpark , ours backed onto a the rear of the hotel drive through and we asked to be moved . The exterior was unkept and shabby , the rooms ok and clean but after staying at other quest locations not up to the same standard . .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertsbigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. At Quest on Doncaster our mission is to provide a pleasurable and professional experience to all our guests. Quest on Doncaster is located away from the main road, and whilst it is not immediately recognized from the busy Doncaster Road our position provides the unique opportunity of a quiet stay away from road noise that other accommodation providers contend with.
The car park is large and there is plenty of dedicated parking that accommodates all our conferencing and accommodation guests each day. As well as having ample parking to support our neighbors. We would be happy to assist in the transfer of luggage for any guest, to and from their apartment or to provide a room as close to the car park as possible upon request when making a booking.
With regard to the external appearance of the building we are aware of the attention this requires and hope to be able to resolve this issue in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
43
23
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed for one night and were very happy with the place.

I agree the place isn't in the best location but then it is Doncaster and for our purposes was most satisfactory.

The apartments may be looking a little tired but whoopy doo!! Does that really matter?

Breakfast was included. Perhaps they could consider some storage containers for bulk cereal rather than environmentally inefficient individual boxes but that is really nitpicking.

Some muesli would be a good alternative at breakfast.

They offered both white & wholemeal bread plus raisin toast. All for $121 for the two of us.

Great bathroom and very comfy bed. No cable but we are in Australia.

If you have a function out that way I would highly recommend it. We were actually going to a party in Templestowe and ate at Sammy's which is out there.

However, there a plenty of restaurants & the pub very close by.

I would like to go back and we actually live in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seals_and_Crofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thanks for your kind review, next time you're in the area please feel free to drop in and see our brand new refurbished apartments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We were not happy with our stay at this hotel.

It is hard to find, being located behind a bar and gaming venue, and there is no prominent signage when approaching the hotel.

We had booked a king size bed, but were given two singles. The bathroom was dirty - mouldy shower, filthy sky-light and dusty benches. The rubbish bin, kettle and toaster were grubby, and there was a discarded newspaper and food items behind the couch.

The hotel is in a U shape, surrouding central "gardens", which are poorly maintained. We were entertained to the sexual habits of our neighbours until the early hours of the morning.

This hotel does not meet the standards of other Quest properties we have stayed at in the past. Despite first appearances, it is a very shabby place.

  • Liked — It was where we wanted to stay,
  • Disliked — It was dirty.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
We have recently completed a major refurbishment including but not limited to, new, better signage, new furniture and complete refit out of every apartment from corner to corner. We hope that you will give our brand new look a try at Quest Doncaster. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
0.7 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
336 reviews
3.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill
1.0 mi away
Shoppingtown Hotel
Shoppingtown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Doncaster
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
City Edge Box Hill Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Doncaster

Property: Quest Doncaster
Address: 855 Doncaster Rd | Doncaster, Doncaster, Manningham, Victoria 3108, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Manningham > Doncaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Doncaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst peaceful and established gardens, Quest Doncaster is located within easy access to Melbourne's eastern suburbs and CBD. The tranquil greenery allows for both our leisure and corporate guests to experience peace and quiet whilst relaxing in comfort and privacy. Our newly refurbished 35 room property provides studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments each featuring kitchenettes. These modern fully serviced apartments have all the comforts of home, and are the perfect accommodation choice for guests travelling for a day, a week or months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing