We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rundown, should be a motel not a Quest property”
Review of Quest Doncaster

Quest Doncaster
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here once and will never return back. The property is very old and not maintained at all. I arrived at night and there would barely any lights and it was very dark to get to my room and quite scary. It is right behind a pub and shares the carpark with them which did not make me feel safe leaving my car there. Room was extremely basic and furniture was so old it was all marked and scratched. Included a continental breakfast which was bakx but nice however I had bugs in my coffee mug which was not pleasant.
I have stayed at other Quests before and this one was the oldest and worst one I have stayed at and will not return. I will do more research next time before booking accommodation I thought I could trust the brands quality. This hotel should really be a motel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasblkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2015

Thank you for your review of our property. We understand that you had an unpleasant stay on your last visit with us. We can now confirm that we have been refurbished throughout. New lighting has been installed which is both brighter and more energy friendly with a focus on the external car park and walk ways. We also have a manager on site overnight who looks after the property and will gladly come to meet you at the door to escort you should you have the need. Our extensive refurbishment in 2014 has thankfully allowed us to meet the standards that you have come to expect from a Quest property. Please feel free to drop by should you ever be in the area.
Regards,
Erin McKay - Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 180 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a 1 night stay. It is actually 2 rooms with a connecting door - which suited our needs. The rooms were large & clean. One bathroom had a spa bath. Very quiet during the night as it is off the main road.
A continental breakfast was included.
Efficient check in and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezza4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Quest on Doncaster our mission is to provide a pleasurable and prefessional stay to everyone that stays or attends a conference at our property. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review our property and look forward to welcoming you the next time you need to be in the Doncaster area.

Kind Regards
Erin McKay
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed mid week on business. The room was not quite available upon checkin however staff were happy to take my bags and they were placed in the room prior to my arrival later in day. The bed was excellent, and the room itself fairly spacious with a desk and couch/coffee table. The small fridge has no mini bar items (just juice and soft drinl) so be sure to use the bottle shop in the car park before settling in! I have to agree with a couple of other reviewers regarding the shower temperature fluctuating. It varied from scalding to freezing, with the challenge being to locate that sweet spot in the middle to quickly jump in and rinse. Breakfast was a very simple affair with toast, crumpets, muffins and cereal. The only gripe I had was that the curtains seemed to be about 3 inches too narrow to cover the window adequately, meaning anyone keen for a look at the big fella sleeping could have easily peeped in. Other than that this place does what it says it will.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, it is our mission to provide a pleasurable and professional stay whenever you need to stay in the Doncaster area. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and suited your requirements.
We are continuing to investigate reports of water fluctuation, so your feedback in this regard is most valuable. Stay tuned to our newsletter for updates on our upcoming refurbishment, as we are replacing all curtains and blinds in a different style to prevent gaps.
Thank you again and we look forward to looking after you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had freinds to catch up with on the east of the city and as it was Grand Prix weekend we decided to keep away from the CBD and this seemed a good, convenient location. The property is a bit dated and needs an external touch up but inside the rooms were claen and spacious, The staff were very freindly and helpful and the rooms were set well back from the road meaning they were quiet. Easy to come and go once you find it as it doesn't have main road frontage and is behind the local hotel.

Room Tip: Adjacent chinese restaurant was very good quality and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We needed a reasonably priced hotel in Doncaster for a few days and this one was just fine. The exterior is tired but the room was in very good condition, nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, nice big wardrobe. We had TV, good shower, kitchen facilities. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and it was nice to pop downstairs for breakfast every day. The best part for us was that the huge Doncaster mall was a 10 minute walk or quick bus trip. Buses to the city are frequent from Doncaster road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2015

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to confirm that all renovations are now complete. Including a decent paint to the outside of the building. Busses are also more and more frequent to get into the CBD and nearby Westfield or Box Hill. Thank you again for your review of Quest Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I think I am fairly resilient, but this hotel is not of standard to the Quest name. It needs major upgrades, even though the rooms have been redone, probably in the last 5 years. It is ok to stay if you want budget, then it gets the job done. A major concern for me was the fact that the curtains did not cover the windows. I have attached pictures. Any person walking down the corridor could see right into your room. I put a chair leaning across the stretched curtain to the door to cover the gap, just so I can have some privacy. There were cobwebs in the bathroom, that were not cleaned for days, and obviously months. The hotel is very dated and needs major renovations. If they are not maintaining their exterior, then I wonder about their cleanliness standards inside their rooms. There is no gym. There is no pool. The wonderful breakfast is cereal and toast setup in their lobby/hotel. I guess I am disappointed. It is as budget as it comes, which is not what I expected from the Quest name. They have room service, which is sent over from the RSL Club behind the carpark.(or maybe you have to get it yourself, am not sure) The only great thing around was the Greek Restaurant Alatsi, which had great greek food. The location is great if you have to go to Westfield Doncaster, but that is the only positive. When you shower in the morning, be prepared to go from scalding hot water to freezing cold water, depending on what your neighbours are doing. The bed and pillows were so incredibly uncomfortable. I cannot place why, but when we moved to another hotel, the difference was immeasurable. The room was big, with a kitchenette and had a wardrobe and a TV and a small sofa. If you are here for business, it is worth the commute to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellerz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. At Quest on Doncaster our mission is to provide a pleasurable and professional experience to all our guests. In regards to the curtains in the room, I can see from the photograph provided that there should have been a sheer curtain between the window and the heavier light blocking curtain. We have now replaced that sheer curtain to avoid the possibility of passers-by being able to see in as you have described. Our cyclical apartment maintenance schedule has been updated to include removal of cobwebs around the skylights on a more regular basis.
We are aware that the outside of the complex is looking 'tired' and hope to have this issue fixed in the near future.
With respect to the issue of temperature fluctuations in the showers, we have since had a boiler technician assess this issue and make the necessary adjustments so we believe this issue to be resolved. However we would appreciate any feedback should this not be the case.
In most cases our continental buffet breakfast is complimentary to guests. We do not provide room service meals, however you are correct that there are several excellent restaurants on our boundaries that provide a charge back facility. Recently Cafe Mania at Jackson Court also agreed to provide charge back facilities. They provide a cooked breakfast and specialize in gluten free meal options.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

For a start we had trouble finding the Quest at the rear of a large suburban hotel , we found the parking was in a large general carpark used by the hotel and other nearby businesses not on the property . The rooms are a fairly long walk depending on which room you are given from the carpark , ours backed onto a the rear of the hotel drive through and we asked to be moved . The exterior was unkept and shabby , the rooms ok and clean but after staying at other quest locations not up to the same standard . .

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gertsbigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmckay, Manager at Quest Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. At Quest on Doncaster our mission is to provide a pleasurable and professional experience to all our guests. Quest on Doncaster is located away from the main road, and whilst it is not immediately recognized from the busy Doncaster Road our position provides the unique opportunity of a quiet stay away from road noise that other accommodation providers contend with.
The car park is large and there is plenty of dedicated parking that accommodates all our conferencing and accommodation guests each day. As well as having ample parking to support our neighbors. We would be happy to assist in the transfer of luggage for any guest, to and from their apartment or to provide a room as close to the car park as possible upon request when making a booking.
With regard to the external appearance of the building we are aware of the attention this requires and hope to be able to resolve this issue in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
2.8 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 3 in Box Hill
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beau Monde International
Beau Monde International
#1 of 1 in Doncaster
146 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sage Hotel Melbourne, Ringwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shoppingtown Hotel
Shoppingtown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Doncaster
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Melbourne Mini Mansion
The Melbourne Mini Mansion
#2 of 3 in Doncaster
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Doncaster

Address: 855 Doncaster Rd | Doncaster, Doncaster, Manningham, Victoria 3108, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Manningham > Doncaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Doncaster
Price Range: $139 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Doncaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst peaceful and established gardens, Quest Doncaster is located within easy access to Melbourne's eastern suburbs and CBD. The tranquil greenery allows for both our leisure and corporate guests to experience peace and quiet whilst relaxing in comfort and privacy. Our newly refurbished 35 room property provides studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments each featuring kitchenettes. These modern fully serviced apartments have all the comforts of home, and are the perfect accommodation choice for guests travelling for a day, a week or months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing