We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peking Duck -yum”

Plume Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 72 Restaurants in Doncaster
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peking Duck -yum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Monday lunch is always very quiet and it was here too. The service was professional yet not over powering, a change from the flower drum. Three for lunch and the Peking duck for $70 was more than enough for all of us. The service was a treat with the waiter carving the duck in front of us wearing white gloves.

Added a few vegetables and rice, perfect meal.

Overall high end Chinese and worthwhile, will be back again thank you

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarryZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    45
    24
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice food...when it arrived”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Waiter obviously forgot to put our order into the kitchen. After waiting 45 mins for the first course of our banquet, we called over a server. It wasn't long before we were bombarded with too much food all at once. The food was of a good standard. Service average. Also a little pricey

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Turned right off and cant recommend now”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We foolishly went on Mothers Day when they have 3 sittings for lunch. They were not ready at the appointed time and we had to stand toe to toe inside or freeze outside for half an hour! People were pushing to get out - it was a real bunfight! Thank goodness we did not take our elderly mother. My daughter aged 32 almost had a panic attack. When we were finally seated the service was slow and the food was cold. We have been at least 10 times before with good food but this was a disgrace. The waiter forgot to get my kids their lemonades...could go on and on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, great service”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We attended with a group of 5 adults and 2 children for a Friday lunch. Service was great, we were never out of food, food quality was great. They took our birthday cake and bought it out for us. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place used to be an an absolute favourite, for many years, BUT ....now you always feel like you are getting ignored and being offered a different menu because we are not Asian. Average yum-cha choices and cold offerings

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Its_Just_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Templestowe Lower, Manningham
 

Been to Plume Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing