We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here - very relaxing and offered a unique experience (log cabin accommodation is not common in Australia).

The lodge is some 8km from the main road, but the road is well sign-posted and there are counter signs every km advising distance remaining. Ample car parking is available upon arrival.

The reception, located in the main lodge, was well-staffed with the lady assisting us efficient and very helpful.

We stayed in one of the lodge rooms, with shared facilities. The room was cosy, but very clean and perfect for our requirements.

After a busy day at Cradle Mountain, our goal was for some relaxation, and LL certainly offers this. The main lodge has a large dining room area and one half of this contains a large open fire place and couches/chairs - perfect for chilling with a book or dozing off. My only mild criticism was the large assortment of gossip/celebrity magazines littered liberally around this area. I'm not sure if they were left behind by other guests or provided by the lodge, but with absoloutely zero interest in the latest Hollywood saga of diets and dating, perhaps a broader range of reading material could be considered??

With the remoteness of the lodge and limited eating facilities in the region, LL have a restaurant that caters for its guests. Its a set-price menu arrangement - $45 for two cources and $60 for three. If this is greater than you are willing to pay, its probably a good idea to have an easy meal alternative as 'popping out' to go somewhere else, whilst possible, is not an easy alternative. The menu is a good one with a variety of options. Our meals were good, but not exceptional- my vegetables were soggy and had been in the bain marie for a while. The service was fast, friendly and efficient.

Breakfast is included in the tariff and is very good - there is a wide variety of continental choices and you can also ask for a hot course (bacon, eggs, sausage etc...). A great way to start the day if you're planning on doing a hike or exploring the local environment.

Check-out was simple and efficient and they provided us with a travel bag of apples and bottled water - a lovely gesture.

My only comment for the management of LL is to look at your website - it needs a revamp. I booked online and found it to be of poor quality compared with other sites. You have a wonderful property that is well managed, but with online becoming the main channel for people to research and book accommodation, I think a review and update of your website is needed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Euan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2009

After experiencing what seemed a lengthy driveway, we finally came across our treetop cabin.

Checkin was fast and efficient and the staff were very obliging.

At 9pm we met Squidgy their pet Pademelon for his nightly feed along with the other resident Pademelons.

Accommodation was secluded, comfortable and it was nice to be away from contact - no tv unless in the main lodge area.

We had to sign a register, when leaving on one of the many bushwalks surrounding the cabins, and for our own safety sign back in on our return. When they found out we were treking out, handed each of us a carrybag with water and fruit to take with us.

Breakfast was enjoyable and filling for our trek out into the bush surrounding the cabins. We went on the 1.45hr bush walk to the Champagne and Bridal Veil falls. We took our time and arrived back 4 hours later. The view, scents and treats we encountered on the way were well worth taking time out to just take it all in without rushing through it all.

As for the fitness centre, You cant beat a great bushwalk in very fresh air. No need for machines to help out here...

Have already recommended this property to friends travelling in July.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

First we were surprised by a 8-km unsealed road leads to this lodge. It was mentioned on their website but make sure you read the "About Lemonthyme Lodge" word by word. It should also be mentioned on "Finding Us" website which would be more frequently accessed by travellers. The room was clean and cosy. The shared shower room was clean too. However, the Men toilet was less hygenic as my partner complained about a weird smell in the toilet. Breakfast was normal. I would not suggest this place to travellers that would want to explore Cradle Mountain NP. If you would like to relax and enjoy a secluded holiday, this is definitely a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuna_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We decided we wanted 3 days to chill out in the Tassie wilderness. Picked Lemonthyme after 2 other resorts were all booked, glad we did. Beautiful place, very peaceful. Lots of good walking trails, and plenty of chances to bump into local wildlife.

We were a group of four females, who they accommodated in a luxury king suite with two roll out beds. Room was lovely, spa bath with view of forest, huge bathroom, tv & dvd. Had massages in room, very reasonable and great masseuse.

Everyone working there from the boss lady to the cleaners are absolutely lovely, we were so welcomed. Great recommendation for horseriding with Highlander Trails.

Food was pretty good, extensive set menu every night. Nice wines, and we spent a great afternoon drinking beer and playing board games by the fire in the bar lounge!

As mentioned previously, the dirt track on the way in was unexpected and quite scary to drive. But adds to the feeling you really are cut off from the outside world!

Would really recommend Lemonthyme.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irisholympian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Stayed here for New Year 2007/2008 for a few nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is right in the middle of a large forested area with fantastic hiking. If you want comfortable seclusion it will definitely not disappoint.

It was on the pricey side but all of Tasmania is, so we just sucked it up.

New Year dinner was great and the hotel managers/owners were very friendly. This place had the friendliest staff we encountered in Tasmania by far.

The main building is the largest wooden lodge in the Southern hemisphere.

We had one of the furthest lodge rooms and the view was great over the forested valley. Quality of accommodation was good and very nice bathrooms.

The feeding time for the local wildlife in the evening is fun- mainly paddymelons (padimelons??) which are small wallabies. Interesting some Aussies who were staying there mentioned that several years ago you'd get far more species coming for the evening feeding but now its mainly this one bossy little species. This change didn't surprise us as even though its beautiful you can't help but notice that there is something very wrong with the sensitive ecosystem in Tassie (we circumnavigated the whole island over 10 days). For example, lots of bleached, dying trees across many of the landscapes (not seemingly being replaced half as quickly as there are dying). Also diminished diversity such as the recent Padimelon dominance, and things such as the Tasmanian Devil facial cancer (we did see a few of them as road-kill). If you don't read between the lines you probably wouldn't notice this and outwardly there are lots of wallabies everywhere, possums and we saw a bunch of echidnas throughout our stay too.

One word of warning- the hotel driveway from the main road is a mud track, and tho perfectly adequate, your hire car insurance will not cover you for these five miles or so. The main risk is the delivery truck (which we almost hit when leaving) but bad weather and wildlife is also a risk. Be careful! There were some American visitors who totalled their car on the track and had to pay up for the car!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britinnyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed in one of the newer luxury suites.

The website (at time of writing) didn't do the lodge justice.

Where do i start.

The bathroom is large with a nice spa overlooking tree canopies.
Warm, cosy, spacious, clean with a close connect to nature.

Food for both, the restaurant and breakfast was excellent, bordering outstanding. Service spot on.

The walks around the lodge were fantastic. If you have the chance walk to the top of "no name" falls. It isn't too hard and the views are great.

Serves as a great romantic interlude and very close to cradle mountain for visit!

Would stay again without reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Stayed one night in a beautiful cabin in the treetops. Very luxurious rooms. Fantastic bush location.
Bushwalks on the property lead to a couple of fantastic waterfalls.
Had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the meals and the service.
Wildlife feeding outside the restaurant each evening.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AndPancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moina
9.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,060 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
10.3 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cradle Forest Inn
Cradle Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Moina
107 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
832 reviews
15 mi away
Sheffield Motor Inn
Sheffield Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat

Address: 770 Dolcoath Rd | off Cradle Mountain Road, Moina, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Moina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Moina
Price Range: $234 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched majestically within a spectacular rainforest environment near Cradle Mountain, you will be more than mildly amazed. The atmosphere at Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat is peaceful and serene, with a welcoming aura that soothes the soul and inspires the spirit. Choose from a range of accommodation options including luxury spa suites, 2 bedroom self-contained family cabins, or romantic tree-top hideaways for couples. Walk under the man fern canopy, gaze at the waterfalls or relax on the verandah. Savour our delicious food in the Whispering Woods a-la-carte restaurant or quench your thirst in our fully licensed lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemonthyme Hotel Moina
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Tasmania/Moina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing