We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed 2 nights to celebrate a wedding anniversary, a young, competent team of staff members who run the Lodge with ease. The food was exemplory, the room was so warm and inviting, don't let negative reviews put you off, these must be very rare exceptions because our experience of Lemonthyme was wonderful. Thank you everyone including the delightful wild life.

Room Tip: luxury suites are well appointed and so warm, good shower, plunger coffee provided, furniture a bit...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphie012StHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Booked a special advertised with a jazz band. A great night, band fantastic, food unbelievable. Accommodation as described in brochure, Thought we would have some snow but unfortunately not cold enough! Big fire in lodge great, staff amazing.
Although there is an 8 klm gravel road to lodge, it is in very good condition, so easy driving.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy (2 couples booked 2 bedroom cabin) - try rooms with own ensuite.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great Location, the room was nicely appointed but the operation of the place was terrible. The food in the restaurant was obviously all pre cooked and tasted terrible, you have to ask questions when you finish your entree and 30sec's later your main arrives esspecially when it's a steak (not good when the restaraunt is advertised as fine dinning!!!). The staff seemed unsure and untrained. We were advised when we booked there would be a wedding on one of the nights we were staying and that the only inconvienience would be some noise. We acctually discovered the main restaurant was closed, we couldn't enjoy a drink by the fire (eventhough there was an adjoining room with an open fire not occupied by the wedding!!!). We had a spa suite which as mentioned was very nice and roomy, except on our last night we decided to have a spa only to discover you could only fill the spa up just over half way before you run out of hot water!! There was little to no TV reception so no point even advertising TV as a feature, there was also no radio reception (either make sure things work or don't have them in the first place). On depature we mentioned to reception that we had not recived our complimentary ports with our dinner the night before, but we did have two other standard drinks, so we asked if those drinks could be complimentary instead of the port's they forgot to give us, the girl said she could not do that as the port is free and the drinks we had cost money (we didn't understand her theory!!!), we persisted for a while trying to point out they had made an error by not giving us something that was supposed to be part of our accommodation package, but the girl just kept perssisting that it was our fault for not asking for the port, when even she pointed out there were supposed to be drink vouchers in our room for the ports, anyway it all got a bit petty for us esspecially when she said we could have our ports there at reception if we wanted (mind you it was 9am!!!!). We ended up paying for our drinks but vowed we would never visit there again.
It is a real shame when you find an accommodation location as special as that but the place just doesn't live up to expectaitions.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoulManMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLemonthyme, Guest Relations Manager at Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

We are extremely sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us.
However there are a few thinks we would like to respond to:
1: We assure you that all our meals served in the restaurant are cooked to order. The chef would have only sent you main course so quickly after the entree to avoid and delay that could have potentially occurred with the wedding group we had in the restaurant at the same time.
2: We believe all our staff are very capable and appropriately trained so we are very suprised you gained a contrary impression.
3: The only time the main restaurant was booked out was for the wedding ceremony between 4PM and 5PM in the evening. The reason the doors were closed was because of the noise level. We didn't want to disturb the other guests that were not involved with the wedding.
4: The adjoining room does not have an open log fire but does have an ordinary wood heater; the main dining room that was hired for the wedding ceremony has the open log fire. If you wanted to have a drink in there you were welcome to do so after the ceremony had finished.
5: We find it very hard to understand why your suite ran out of hot water as all our hot water is gas heated. When one room does not have hot water then no rooms have hot water as they all are supplied from the same bulk gas tank. On the dates of your stay there were no reports of any hot water issues.
6: The television in the Luxury Suites are primarily for watching DVD'S. We cannot get reliable television reception in our remote location. Radio reception is unpredictable. Due to the lack of reliable services we do not advertise that we have television reception in any of our rooms. There is ALSO a CD player in the room and we provide some complimentary CD's as well.
7: Normally we keep track of the guests on this particular special package that includes complimentary ports and we ask guests if they would like their port, usually with a dessert; however we clearly overlooked to do so in your case and we are unreservedly apologise for this error. If guests do not want the port we cannot replace it with any other drinks as this port is complimentary and its cost is not added onto the package price. The drinks you ordered and consumed do not substitute for the complimentary port.

We hope our response clarifies some of the issues raised by you. Thank you for your openness. We would welcome you back to Lemonthyme Lodge at any time and assure you that we strive to provide exceptional experience to all of our guests at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Wonderful place. A 8km dirt winding road to get to the lodge but well worth the drive. No television in our tree top cabin but we enjoyed our views and the peace and quiet. The cabin was roomy and warm. The gas log heater was noisy at night but we still slept well. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff lovely. We did not venture on any walking trails as the weather was not the best the day we stayed.We only stayed one night (which was enough for my husband because we did not have tv) but we would stay there again. Loved the look of the place the minute we saw it.Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christene_burnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I would not recommend this accommodation in any way. it is very outdated and inadequately furnished, the room was an outdated 70's pine decor, it had one small table and only one chair, the decor was very dowdy. The mattress was so bad my husband and I both had a sore back the next day. the heater was gas and it made a terrible loud noise all night long. It was very expensive, my husband and I have travelled extensively and this was the WORST accommodation we have ever stayed at for the price. Also I am a coeliac and they knowingly served my breakfast on bread that was not gluten free even though I had clearly informed them ( I had also informed them the night before when we had dinner there), the can deny this all they like, but the truth is they had a blatant disregard for my health and I was sick all the way back from gluten poisoning. I would NEVER reccommend them.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BnRSody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My friend and I were looking at mid range accommodation and stayed in the lodge itself rather than one of the cabins. The room was quite cosy but we had a separate share bathroom (was not a problem as the lodge was not busy). The rooms are noisy and you can hear the people in the rooms next door. They could also be cleaner as the bedside tables were dusty, etc. The building itself has a bit of history behind it.

Room Tip: Try one of the cabins
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in a chalet, which was very comfortable and clean, and the main building and chalets were in a rustic style. Approx. 6kms from the main road which means one has to leave a bit earlier in the morning to get to Cradle Mt. Knew there was no television when we booked and used the lobby phone to book a trip further on our journey around Tasmania. The breakfasts were really good and the staff were very helpful, evening meals were ok. Did not have time to go on the walks but understand they are good.

Room Tip: Prefer the chalets to staying in the lodge.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillroaming59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moina
9.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,009 reviews
10.2 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,375 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cradle Forest Inn
Cradle Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Moina
94 reviews
10.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat

Address: 770 Dolcoath Rd | off Cradle Mountain Road, Moina, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Moina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Moina
Price Range: $142 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched majestically within a spectacular rainforest environment near Cradle Mountain, you will be more than mildly amazed. The atmosphere at Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat is peaceful and serene, with a welcoming aura that soothes the soul and inspires the spirit. Choose from a range of accommodation options including luxury spa suites, 2 bedroom self-contained family cabins, or romantic tree-top hideaways for couples. Walk under the man fern canopy, gaze at the waterfalls or relax on the verandah. Savour our delicious food in the Whispering Woods a-la-carte restaurant or quench your thirst in our fully licensed lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemonthyme Hotel Moina
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Tasmania/Moina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing