We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Bay of Fires Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount William National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay of Fires Lodge
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's hard to pick a highlight of this four day walk, as it was all so fabulous. What a beautiful place, and we were lucky enough to see it in perfect weather with a great group of people and outstanding guides in Ed and Erin, who shared their knowledge in a very easy, accessible way and then managed to rustle up amazing meals whenever we stopped. The camp on the first night was comfortable but arriving at the lodge was something else - like stepping into the pages of a glossy magazine. Incredibly stylish but super relaxed, we started off with a beer and a foot bath each, and things just kept getting better!

I hadn't intended to have a spa treatment, but succumbed to a 'what-the-hell' moment and I'm so glad I did. I had a foot massage, which doesn't sound much, but I arrived red-faced and fraught, having puffed up the hill, afraid that I was late, but floated back to the lodge afterwards, completely restored. The spa is worth visiting even if you don't have a treatment: you walk through the bush and suddenly there it is, beautifully situated, a haven of tranquillity.

The kayaking was great too, and the laughter round the table, and the scented bush, and the sea which just kept on rolling in, but possibly my favourite moment of all was when I made my way down to South Abbotsbury and had the beach all to myself for an hour. Perfect.

The colours are extraordinary in the Bay of Fires: turquoise sea, white sand, blue sky, green bush, red lichen. It was an expensive trip, yes, but worth every penny for an incredible experience in such a remote and beautiful spot. Unmissable and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clearhorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Clearhorizons,

So pleased you had a fabulous walk along the Bay of Fires coastline with us. It is quite spectacular in fine weather when the blues and oranges are so vivid.

Both Ed and Erin are fantastic guides and we are very lucky to have them working as part of our team. They have such detailed knowledge of the area and as you said they have the ability to share their knowledge in such an easy manner.

It’s lovely to hear you had a great spa treatment as well. When I read that you “floated” back to the Lodge afterward – I was there remembering how I felt after a treatment at the Lodge not that long ago.

Finally thanks for sharing your photos and we hope to see you back down this way at some point.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a 4-day walking experience along some of Tasmania's pristine coastline towards the Bay of Fires and Freycinet region. It is glamping at its best in terms of the lodge accommodation days 2 & 3, the spa facilities and the food and wine experience.

We had a good tour group (maximum of 10 guests) plus 2 very able & fit guides. Seems the guides fill a number of roles from masterchef, hiking leaders, first aid officers, kayak tour guides, avid photographers, musicians plus jack of all trades on the Bay of Fires Lodge walk. You feel as if you are in very capable hands following their lead as we meander through the bush and along the waters edge.
Walking for the first 2 days is south along the Tassie coastline quite easy pace, low to medium experience required when compared to other tour hikes/walks such as Cradle Mountain. There are several optional side walks and small bay areas our tour guides helped us to explore along our adventure. We saw an abundance of birdlife, nature and small beaches down rocky & exploring through the bush pathways.

The Bay of Fires lodge walk feels like you are a world away from civilisation yet we were constantly offered food, snacks, homemade fresh cakes, fresh salmon for dinners, salads and fresh fruits and of course a selection of Tasmanian wines to accompany cheese platters and dinner. This is the style of camping/glamping I and our tour group enjoy!

Day 1 we found to be a good pace, about 4-5 hrs of walking to camp 1. It is a permanent campsite set in the sand dunes. Waking up to the beach, incredible sunrise and a crisp morning swim (if you are up for it). Most of our tour group guest took the swim challenge with gusto and braved the 18 degree temperatures to swim in the ocean each day.
Day 2 be prepared for a full day hiking and carrying your 8.5kg pack. We left at 9am and arrived at the lodge on Day 2 in the early evening. Groups generally arrive between 5.30 to 7pm from walking all day. Whilst it is a long day walking they say 14km along the stretch of sand, over the dunes and through the bush, feels like we walked 20km as we took a number of detours to explore the wildlife and views. This added to our experience and the guides really know the location. We were never felt rushed to hurry along. Was a easy walking pace to explore and take several photos and stops along the way.
Day 3 offers an optional kayaking day trip. Some of our group chose to explore the beach and bush, another spent the day at the spa enjoying the pampering experience. I decided to kayak down the river with most of our group and have lunch by the bay.
I'd recommned booking in for a spa treatment.Day 3 late afternoon (after the kayak) of for the morning of Day 4 before 12noon).
After all your hiking and kayaking for 3 days, relaxing and soaking in a private bath overlooking the 180 degree views is a great reward. Or I booked the Ocean Breeze 2hr massage, exfoliation and hair treatment. The massage was one of the best I've had in years. Masseur had 17 years experience in massage technique and is very passionate about her work. Skin and body felt and smelt so nice after the treatment.
Day 4 is a relaxing morning. More gourmet breakfasts, cakes and tea before a leisurely walk for 1hr out to the bus.
To complete day 4 we were driven to Apogee's winery, a small vineyard outside of Launceston to do some wine and sparkling taste testing. The owner Andrew Pirie and his wife greeted us and explained the methods of making sparkling. Given Andrew's 40 yrs in the industry this was an incredible way to finish off our tour.
A brilliant way to spend 4 days holidaying. Great opportunity for some exercise, feel pampered while camping and hang out with either family or friends. Good value.

Room Tip: When you arrive at the lodge I would chose a room closest to the library and main deck with view if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Karen S,

Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review. I am really pleased you had a great experience out at the Bay of Fires with us. The food is definitely a highlight whilst on the walk along with the Tassie wine, walking and company!

It’s great to read that you managed to get in a number of swims – the water is certainly cool but after a long walk there is nothing better than a quick dip.

The spa which is a new addition this season is another highlight of the four days. Both Cecilia & Monica have extensive experience in massage therapy and both offer outstanding services. I would recommend a treatment to anyone heading out on one of our walks.

We hope to see you back down this way at some point in the future.

Cheers, Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have just returned from the 4 day Bay of Fires Lodge Walk in NE Tasmania and confirm we had a superb time. Having run a travel company in Africa for several years, we have experienced excellent lodges and guides but Carlie and Ed were top class, not only very informative, but full of fun. The lodge was stunning and the food was inventive and imaginative. It was a great trip and everything went efficiently. I would not hesitate to recommend it to one and all. Maggie @ Piltdown

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Maggie K
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor – it is greatly appreciated. I am really glad you had a great walk with Carly and Ed – both of whom are fabulous guides with loads of energy. It’s great to read that you rank us up with the best lodges and guiding experiences you have had.
I hope you can return at some point in the future and join us for a Cradle Mountain Huts Walk.
Cheers,
Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just back from the 4 day Bay of Fires Walk in north eastern Tasmania. What an experience! We (me, husband and parents from the UK), had the most fabulous trip and rated this holiday as one of the best we could remember. Highlights included: first class guiding (thanks Ed and Carly) pristine environment, fabulous food, fun group and a rare opportunity to completely switch off and get away from it all. Couldn't recommend it more highly!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Timara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Timara K,
I am really pleased you had a great time on our Bay of Fires Lodge Walk with your family. Both Ed and Carly are exceptional guides and I am not surprised you had a fabulous walk with them. To be able to switch off in such a short amount of time is something which is pretty special and to do it in such a remarkable location is amazing.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor – we really appreciate it.
Cheers, Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Picture yourself walking along pristine beaches, enjoying meals of Tasmanian gourmet food, matched with Tasmanian beer and wine, with knowledgeable guides and joined by other adventurous souls! This is the Bay of Fires Lodge Walk - beyond all my expectations.

The guides (Claire and Lou) shared their passion for the area, with nothing ever being too much trouble. The first night, staying at the permanent camp behind the dunes and waking up to birdsong and the sound of the waves - bliss! Arriving at the Lodge after a day of walking was an amazing experience, hidden on a hill, overlooking its own beach with spectacular views. We enjoyed foot spas on the deck, and cakes appearing for afternoon tea and after all the adventuring were able to avail ourselves of the library (with views!) and watch the full moon rise above the waves.

The variety continued by kayaking down Anson's River, lunch on the beach and a short walk along the sand, before a fabulous massage in the new Spa - I've been dreaming about the bath treatments with a view ever since!

To reacclimatise us to the "real world" we stopped at Apogee on the way home. The level of care in their product and the demonstrations of the process of producing sparkling wine is beyond compare.

Thank you to all involved for this amazing experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassielassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hi Tassielassie,
Thanks so much for your lovely review – I couldn’t have said it better! Both Claire & Lou are amazing guides and are certainly very passionate and knowledgeable about the local Bay of Fires area.
It’s great to read that you think we have the balance right with the walking, kayaking, spa treatments and of course some great food and wine thrown in.
We hope to see you on another walk at some point in the future.
Cheers, Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently completed the Bay of Fires walk with Tasmanian Walking Company. Just an awesome experience - beautiful scenery (great photographic shots round every corner ), guides couldnt be more enthusiastic and helpful, 7 star lodge in the wilderness, 1st rate chef in residence with great food. Really great value for money . Recommend highly as a must do experience .Icing on the cake for my wife was a really good pamper experience with the "massage queen" , Cecelia. I had one too , and she was good - with a deep tissue massage . Just the trick for aching legs!!!.
All in all an experience to remember!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobA3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Hi Bob,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review – we really appreciate it. I am pleased you and your wife had a great walk. As you mentioned, our guides are so important to the overall experience and we are very privileged to have the guides we do working with us. Tom at the Lodge is great in the kitchen and the standard of food is something as a company we continually strive to improve. As you may be aware the Lodge Spa has only recently opened so it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your treatments with Cecilia – she is a gem! Hope to see you back down this way in the future.
Cheers, Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

An oasis of warmth and wonderful food, hot showers and comfortable beds awaits those who walk along the spectacular coastal scenery of the Bay of Fires Walk. After crossing 8 creeks -ankle deep, knee deep, thigh deep, undies wet deep! and battling horizontal rain and 120kmh winds, the lodge was a welcome respite. This is a wonderful part of the world!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank MARMELB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Bay of Fires Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi MARMELB,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - and what a lovely review to receive as the first one of our 13/14 walking season.
It sounds like you had a great walk even with some tough weather. The Lodge at the end of the second day is most welcome!. The crossing at Deep Creek can be lot's of fun for sure.
Again thanks for your review.
Cheers, Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount William National Park
20.5 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
401 reviews
20.1 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#4 of 10 in St Helens
66 reviews
21.3 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#9 of 10 in St Helens
52 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gladstone Central Apartments
17.2 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Fires Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Fires Lodge

Address: Nr Ansons Bay, Mount William National Park, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mount William National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount William National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay of Fires Lodge 2*
Also Known As:
Bay Of Fires Hotel Mount William National Park
Bay Of Fires Lodge Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing