We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge Country House
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

It's fantastic.We will highly recommend some days here at the country lodge when you go around in Barossa Vally . You get a home-feeling and a feeling that you live in this beautiful country House and not just stay in a hotel.
Small with just four rooms and warm hospitality this is a place you want to come back to.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bitte08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked at The Lodge Country House for a last minute long weekend getaway and were very happy with our choice.

The hosts have thought of everything and go out of their way to accommodate you. We mentioned that we wanted to do some cycling in the Barossa, and were greeted with a cycling map of the area, and were lent a backpack when we realised we forgot ours.

The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is a great way to start a busy day of sight seeing. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge Country House in late August 2013 and were warm
Y welcomed by Colin. What a genuinely nice and accommodating host. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast in the morning was good old fashioned home cooking and nothing short of delicious. Neat, fastidiously clean and right in the heart of the Barossa close to the vineyards and cellar doors. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stop in Australia and was also one of our best. After a long flight to Adelaide and the drive to Barossa we were tiring out. We got a warm reception from Colin and the dogs. After a brief tour of the house and grounds we headed across the road for a tour of the winery. Be sure to eat at the Lodge. Dinner was great--shrimp, lamb and crepes suzette. Jet lag caught up with us but the comfortable bed was the perfect cure. Our only complaint is that we only stayed two nights at the Lodge before heading continuing on our trip. The is the perfect base for a visit to the Barossa Valley.
t

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hosts were caring and sensitive. The accommodation was luxurious and the food exquisite and freshly prepared with local produce and produce from their own garden. The residence has historical significance and the hosts are knowledgeable about it and the history of the region. We will definitely go for another stay. The Lodge is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book your meal with Colin and Phil before you go. You will not regret it. Excellent produce and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Dont bother looking anywhere else. This is by far the nicest place to stay in the barossa. If you are in a group make sure you have dinner in house. With free flowing wines it will cost you around $100 a head and worth every cent of it

Well done Colin and Phil

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Brilliant location right across the road from a winery! We were greated by Colin with great enthuasiasm on our arrival, given the guided tour of the rooms (lounge, TV room, dining room and bedroom), all are superb - plenty of books / dvd's etc to use. There is a huge drinks selection which is done on an honesty system. Complementary sweets and chips which is a nice touch. Rooms are large with lovely view. Phil is a superb cook, cooking up a feast of a breakfast in the mornings. We enjoyed one dinner in which was a three course stunner and well worth the $80 per head. Served in the dining room, it was a true experience. The swimming pool was clean and welcoming after a day out touring!
Both Phil and Colin are trememdous hosts and would highly recommend staying with them.
The only hesitation for me giving them stars would be that the bedrooms needed a tiny bit more cleaning (common rooms are spotless), there was a fair amount of dust in the corners and a couple of bugs in the shower when we arrived. The shower lacked pressure, which we did mention. As we were only staying a few nights these things are not a major concern by any means,overall the trip was throughly enjoyed and would absolutely return in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthgirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seppeltsfield
5.1 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
1.8 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
309 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#8 of 14 in Tanunda
182 reviews
6.4 mi away
Abbotsford Country House
1.8 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Country House

Address: 743 Seppeltsfield Rd, Seppeltsfield, South Australia 5355, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Seppeltsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seppeltsfield
Price Range: $229 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lodge Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Country House Hotel Seppeltsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing