We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Millpond

Stunning view from deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning view from deck
Living Room Bespoke Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Stunning view from deck
Living Room
Bespoke Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Decor
Living Room
Living Room
Decor
Dining Room
Bespoke Kitchen
Decor
Deck
Deck
Decor
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Fully Equipped Laundry
Decor
Millpond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pathfinde...
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Having spent Seven days at millpond this time around found the house Perfect as usual, great view,great walks and wildlife only one problem could not stay longer, we will be back in 2018 Thank you Eddie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Dear Peter and Anne,
Thank you for your great review and for once again choosing Millpond as your preferred holiday home for your annual visits to Kangaroo Island, we will look forward to seeing you again in 2018.
Kind regards,
Eddie and Rhonda Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwiknigh...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic location, with a stunning view of the sea and a short walk to the beach. Extremely well appointed and clean house, with quality mod cons and very comfortable decor. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Dear Deb,
Thank you for your great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our holiday home and that you found that it met your needs, we hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith I
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely home-like place”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Family of 8 checked into Millpond for our vacation last week. Must say that the place is simply awesome. The décor and furnishing are done in such a way that give a home-like feel. Modern look with hard wood floor (not laminate ones)!Essentials such as cutlery, towels (including beach towels), deck chairs are sufficient. The place is very neat and clean when we checked in. Full marks for these attributes.

Millpond is only 2 minutes or less drive away from the Sealink harbour where visitors first diesmbarked. A supermarket, cafes and restaurants, a bottle mart (selling alcoholic drinks) and the Penneshaw Hotel are also located 2 minutes away. The proximity of the harbour and these amenities make Millpond an excellent choice for visitors. We appreciate that we do not have to drive a very far distance to check in and settle down. We can check in very quickly, grab a bite and load up some essentials before plotting the next move. Again, full marks for these attributes.

Millpond is located on the top of a ridge (so to speak) and therefore, it accords a very good view of the sea and the beach. The sunset is simply gorgeous. Full marks here again.

And as for the host, Eddie. He's a most reasonable and pleasant man. Although we did not meet in person, the conversation that I have with him over the phone reveals a man who is thoughtful and pleasant. Before embarking on the holiday, he responded to my email queries most promptly and politely. We appreciate his gesture in wishing us a good trip before we depart. When we checked in, there was a night when the plumbing did not work well. There was no hemming or hawing and he assured us that he would send the plumber down to check it out the following day; which he promptly did.

If you want a place that feels like home when you're away from home, a place with scenic view and where the host is most attentive, Millpond is the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2016
Hi Keith,
Thank you for your great review of Millpond we were very pleased that our holiday home met your family and friends needs and that you enjoyed the sights of KI. We were glad that the hot water issue did not cause too much concern and it was rectified quickly. We hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Five star excellence”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful beach house with stunning views. Millpond is modern, clean, spacious and very comfortable. The amenities are plentiful and of high standard. We are a family of 4 with 2 boys aged 12 and 9 and everyone loved Millpond. Location is terrific, easy to move around the Island and get back to a wonderful home at the end of the day. We would highly recommend Millpond to everyone planning a trip to K.I.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and modern
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2016
Dear Lucy,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Millpond and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our holiday home met your family's needs. We hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M
1 review
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Truly a great place to live while on KI. Eddie's attention to detail is amazing and the house has all you need. Was great for the three of us (including my 10 year old daughter) but would be comfortable with more people. Recommended without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Dear Eric,
Thank you for your great review and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Millpond. We also hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amardeep2...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Serene place...”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was the first time in Kangaroo Island and after looking at multiple places online, we finalized on Millpond as were 4 adults with 3 kids and wanted to ensure that the holiday rental place was child friendly.

I must say, the place was really impressive. My wife & kid and my friends and their kids just loved the place. Beautiful view of the ocean and the sound of waves was the icing on the cake. Their kitchen was fully equipped and kids room had bunk beds, which they just loved!!!

Thank you to Eddie who is the owner and was there a phone call away. He called and ensured that we had everything that was needed for our comfortable stay.

Overall a great experience and beautiful memories to take away...

Will surely like to stay here if visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view of the sea.
Liked least: Nothing specific... it was a pleasant stay.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Dear Amar,
Thank you for your great review and we are very pleased that you and your family and friends enjoyed your stay in Millpond and that you enjoyed your Kangaroo Island experience. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina...
1 review
“Gorgeous ”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

. We have recently just come back and it's a totally renovated home. Fantastic kitchen with everything you could ask for. Laundry was fully equipped ..2 beautifully decorated bathrooms. Very clean and airy. .loved the view. Only a few minutes drive from sealink. Score it 10/10....Eddie was very helpful. .....we will definitely be back sgain

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
Dear Christina,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Millpond and that you found that it met your needs. We hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing