We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, clean and beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property
External view of SeaShells Penneshaw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of SeaShells Penneshaw
Deck & Bedroom 1 window Friends on the Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
External view of SeaShells Penneshaw
Deck & Bedroom 1 window
Friends on the Deck
Looking from Living to Deck to sea beyond
From Deck to sea with approaching ferry
Open planned Living, Dining & Kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen
Passage to Bedrooms
Bedroom 1 (Queen bed)
Bedroom 2 (Double bed)
Bedroom 3 (Bunk beds)
Bathroom 1
Laundry
Bedroom 4 (Queen bed)
Bathroom 2
Sitting room
Utility alcove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
HelaBella
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, clean and beautiful”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just stayed here with my family of five, the youngest is one year old. Lovely architectural house, felt so clean, peaceful and homely. The owners have considered and provided everything, even a toy rubber duck for the bath, and current magazines!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H
Waiouru, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“BETTER THAN HOME”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Only a very short drive off the ferry, the Seashells is located on a very quiet street with a great view over the bay. The house offered everything a traveller needs. Great kitchen, full laundry , excellent bathroom and super comfortable beds. The living is spacious with large comfortable couch and chairs from which to watch the large flatscreen or enjoy the music. The deck is a great place to enjoy breakfast or sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a complete package
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John v
1 review
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

When we arrived we were greeted by two smiling faces which happened to be the owners who also lived on the property. They showed us through the accommodation which was five stars plus: The view was tremendous.
We were very comfortable and the hosts went out of their way to inform us of where to go and what to do.
We had a most enjoyable stay and could not recommend it highly enough.
Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Could not find anything to complain aboout.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaboni...
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way!”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Penneshaw is a sleepy little town, near the only ferry to Kangaroo Island. Convenience is one reason to stay there. But the best reason is this marvelous vacation home with clear ocean views out the front and wallabies in the back. It's spotlessly clean and well kept, and fully equipped with everything you need including a laundry room with laundry powder. It's only about a 10 minute walk to the ferry or the beach. The owners were super helpful and even picked us up from the ferry so we wouldn't have to deal with luggage on the walk. If I could give a place a higher rating than 5, this place would deserve it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The town itself is a little sleepy, so be sure to bring food or pick some up at the local IGA.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluna K
Sunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like Your Own Holiday House”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Seashells Penneshaw was quite a surprise. My girlfriend and I stayed there for the last 3 nights of our 9 night stay on Kangaroo Island in June. We expected a standard holiday unit, but found that the place had just about everything from candles and an impressive collection of herbs & spices in the kitchen to laundry detergent. It was like walking into your family's holiday home! The hosts, Raelene and Ian, were friendly and very helpful. Seashells is conveniently located in town and close to the ferry terminal. Being on the third tier of houses in Penneshaw gives you a panoramic view of Hog Bay and across the strait to the mainland. You can watch the ferries come and go from the street front if that interests you, which it did me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinamitej...
Fair Oaks
1 review
“Great place near ferry.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Owner very attentive. Very attractive property. As advertised, very close to ferry terminal. We enjoyed our short stay. Kangaroo Island is a vey unique experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
Thank you we are very pleased you enjoyed our facilities and our wonderful island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T P
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing