We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penneshaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed one night at Thomas Cottage at Cape Willioughby and found it to be very comfortable with lots of character. The cottages were super clean and well equipped. The kitchen was so well set up that we were able to make homemade pizzas and enjoy them over a ruthless family game of scrabble that was among the board games that were supplied. (No complaints about no TV from us.) The weather gods chipped in and gave us the perfect thundery night for added atmosphere.
If we went there again, I would aim to stay in the end cottage, which I think would give better views. As the middle cottage, Thomas was a bit hemmed in and there wasn't really any vantage point to sit and enjoy the view on a rainy afternoon. Otherwise we loved it and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Seymour cottage may have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thornbird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week and made day trips to the scenic spots in the rest of Kangaroo Island. The cottage was spacious, scrupulously clean and comfortable but be prepared to bring your own electronic entertainment as there is not even a tv set. It was such a delight to wake up to the chattering of the small birds that flit around the lighthouse and we fre auently saw kangaroos and wallabies in the yard. The only improvement I could suggest would be a washing machine and of course the dirt road was a challenge to negotiate every day. Still well worth the effort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrabbler I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Accomodation very clean and comfortable and the location is amazing. Could have stayed longer. Would be great for a couple of families to stay together...no TV, but plenty of board games..taught kids to play Monopoly and Rummy. Best aspect of this holiday was the old world charm and history of the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at Seymour Lodge. As per my other reviews with other KI lighthouse stay, perfect - cannot fault the amenities etc. The weather (wind storm/low temp) cleared up on the day we left KI! :( We stayed only 1 night and regretted it, as we did not get to explore much of this part of the region. We did explore a beach on the way in and our 4 children would have enjoyed more time there after 5 days for bushwalking and cliff walks. The road is unseal and friendlier (unlike Cape Borda), but the seal road has plenty of pot-holes at certain section - which Council workers were repairing. Good mobile/data network receptions so good for those getting ready to get back to work. A very short drive back to ferry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Cape Willoughby Lighthouse took our breath away: from the sunset on our arrival to the sunrise just before we left, and the immaculate cottage & fantastic wildlife in between, every bit of our stay was magical - just a shame we only stayed one night!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas with my family of 9. My husband and I who had loved Cape Borda in 2011 wanted our family to share the experience. We had 7 adults and a 7 and 5 year old who loved it all. Christmas was amazing with gorgeous views of the ocean as the children blew bubbles and we loved watching them head to the lighthouse. Visits from kangaroos, a hungry possum and a snake in the grounds added to the excitement. We loved the accommodation which has a large fridge which was definitely required as all food needed to be brought in, a great dining table and room for games as to the amazement of our grandchildren, there was no tv but so much laughter with all the games we all played. We had gorgeous sunsets and even washing dishes was a pleasure looking at the ocean and nature.

Room Tip: Seymour Cottage was great as it was on the end and had lovely views over the ocean from the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently had my parents coming from the UK and wanted to do a trip. We chose Kangaroo Island and then went looking for somewhere to stay. We needed something to please everyone - from Grannie and Grandad, to us, to our 6 and 8 yr old girls. The Lighthouse Keeper's Cottage was perfect. My youngest woke up early every morning and we went on kangaroo walks until the rest of the family was ready for noise! We went exploring to Seal Bay, Kelly Caves, Emu Bay...wonderful memories...but loved coming back to sit on the verandah each evening with the best view!

Only things to know/be aware of for booking are...it's 20-30 mins from nearest town (Penneshaw) so get your groceries in, it's a long drive to Seal Bay and western side (but a lovely drive so didn't put us off), plus most roads on the island are unsealed.

We can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
13.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
75.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
30.5 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
30.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Property: Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Address: 2708 Cape Willoughby Road | Kangaroo Island, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Penneshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular sunrises, listen to the waves crashing onto the nearby cliffs and catch a glimpse of a Sea Eagle whilst staying in one of two beautifully restored five bedroom Heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Willoughby on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing